We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
329
475
220
67
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
475
220
67
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit leveldeluxe spa roomtwo double bedsking splitnational parkcradle mountainsmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcomfortable chairscommon areasbit datedbush landdove lakelounge area
Filter
Updating list...
902 - 907 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a lovely night at the Cradle Mountain Chateau and enjoyed the warmth and hospitality. Ina well appointed room, we looked,out over bush land and were visited at dusk by a dear little,wallaby. Dinner was a tasty affair and the service was pleasant. Perfectly located near Dove Lake and other Tourist attractions, we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzdoll43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Comfortable clean large room. Real log fires burning day and night. Cosy place. A la carte dining room excellent food. Staff very helpful. Bed very comfortable. Short drive to National Park. Good beers in the bar. We were here for 2 nights. Ate at Peppers tavern 2nd night bit canteen like with benches, food was good but not as good as Chateau.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Loved this location, and lodge. Provided everything that one requires... Such a beautiful setting. The Quoll restaurant was sensational. Would not recommend the buffet for breakfast or dinner. The rooms were cosy and tidy. We did see Peppers and I believe this is the better of the two; not much choice at the mountain. Be careful of the birds on the balcony they have a tendency the come into rooms. But all part of the wilderness experience. DVDs for hire, cute fire places for reading and relaxing and a bar pool room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tboandspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 19th/20th March, this being my 2nd time here which was last October. Really enjoyed my time here on both occasions, and would definitely come back. The rooms I found to be clean & comfortable, with all that one needs whilst travelling. Everything in the room worked. The staff were all very helpful & friendly, nothing seemed a bother. Beautiful log fires throughout the entire building...very comfortable.
I thought the meals in the a la carte restaurant were a little expensive, so therefore didn't eat there, instead opting for the buffet, which I thought reasonably priced, and the food was of a good quality, breakfast was included in the tariff, and was certainly value for money. In fact, Cradle Mt. Chateau was the cheapest accommodation in our 7nights/8 days trip around Tasmania.
There are many beautiful walks around the area to suit all levels of fittness, and an abundant wild life, including a playtpus (last October) and many wombats, birds, wallabies, pademalons, to mention a few.
The Chateau also hosts The Wilderness Gallery and Tasmanian Tiger Exhibition, both well worth a visit, and tragic to see what man has done with the tiger now being extinct.
One more well worth visit is to the Tasmanian Devil sanctuary, where the young man there (I've forgotten his name) was so knowledgable and interesting, so much information.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Whilst the building from the outside wasnt particularly attractive, we found the accommodation to be very comfortable, staff very friendly and a lovely restaurant. Although the menu in the restaurant was not cheap the food was lovely the atmosphere lovely. We would definitely return to do the wonderful Crade Mountain Dove Lake and other walks once again. Magic country.

Room Tip: King spa rooms delightful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietraveller080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews