We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cradle Mountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Burnie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Cradle Mountain Chateau on the long weekend of the 4th - 5th November and found all the staff ever so friendly and helpful......nothing was a bother to them in being able to assist us. Our room was clean and comfortable, the lounge very relaxing and the dining room was likewise all with a beautiful ambience. It was a perfect get away. We will highly recommend the Chateau to our family and friends and we oursleves will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    387
    194
    57
    37
See reviews for
168
526
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights in September. The Chateau is located just a few hundred metres before the Cradle Mountain Visitors Center.

The decor is nice, if a little date. The are guest lounges with log fires which were nice to sit around after taking a walk.

The rooms are a little on the small side but they are comfortable and include a little balcony.

Onsite there is a restaurant and bar, plus an Art Gallery, Gift Shop and Tasmanian Tiger Exhibit.

Our room had a Continental Breakfast included. The breakfast is excellent, definitely the best we found on our tour of Tasmania.

One night we went down the road to the Cradle Mountain Lodge for dinner at the Tavern. Nice to have an additional eating option, but in my view the accommodation at the Chateau is nicer.

There is a nice walk track starting from the Chateau, it is not very long but you get to see plenty of wildlife.

If I was to go back to Cradle Mountain I would definitely stay at the Chateau again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woteva65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just had our fourth stay at the chateau whilst visiting Cradle Mountain in Tasmania.
The accommodation is great (say in a spa suite) and so are most of the staff.
Bit of a shame about the food - it's okay but a bit exy and not good value.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a spa suite - it's so worth it, particularly after a days trekking around the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the chateau because the lodge was booked out. Happy to acknowledge that the chateau is significantly cheaper, so it's unfair to expect it to be the same quality as the lodge. The rooms are functional, the bedding comfortable enough, the bathrooms practical. Nice spa. We didn't eat at the a la carte restaurant - they seemed to pride themselves on making out like it was "always booked out" and it just seemed too hard to get into. Maybe it's great. The buffet was pretty average, nice enough roast meat and a few Bain Marie meals. A bit steep for $37.50. Similarly the breakfasts were basic hotel buffet fair, nothing terrible, nothing great - probably right on the money given its included in the tariff.
All in all, appropriate value for money, you eat what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GedRachC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Two nights at the Chateau, and had a great time. We paid $25 more to upgrade to the wilderness side of the hotel and it was well worth it. A beautiful spot. Don't waste time paying for internet, it does not work, even the front desk staff were complaining about it. Food at the buffet was OK but would be very crowded in high season. Make sure you are being charged in AU dollars, not your own currency. Unfortunately it speaks to the honesty of the organization that they charged us in our home currency without telling us and so we paid 2.5 % more than expected. Only a few dollars, but a reflection on the establishment.

Room Tip: Pick a wilderness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieTup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights during our tour of Tasmania - good service - good location for Cradle mountain and the National park. Rooms well fitted and presented, friendly staff. Beds even fitted with electric blankets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent service. Great views. Great food. Friendly staff. What else can one ask for? Value for money! In two words, Just perfect! Kudos to the service: we were treated like royals! I'd love to come back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
39.4 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Property: Cradle Mountain Hotel
Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing