We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2010

During my 2 weeks trip though Australia, this was the best accommodation we`ve found. Room is cosy and with lots of warming facilities (which you`ll need!). The place is beautiful and if you`re lucky you can spot some wildlife just outside your cottage. We saw pademelons and possums. Staff is very kind!
The location is also perfect, next to the park. I recommend you going for a night drive inside the park to spot wildlife ;)
Hope to get back there some day!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricampelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 728 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed in the Woodsmoke cabin in April 2010. The Highlanders is conveniently situated only a couple of hundred metres along the road from the main transit terminal where you obtain your park passes, book helicopter trips and pick up the free shuttle buses to several stops on the way to Dove Lake.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the cabin itself was lovely. The kitchen/diner comprised of a small two ring electric hob and microwave, suitable crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils, a small table and chairs, a wood burning fire and a couple of comfy chairs to relax in after a day walking the trails. The separate bedroom was cosy and comfortable and there was a sizeable bathroom. Everything was immaculate and the whole place was very welcoming. There are places to shop and eat in the area at other camps but I don’t know if these provided a decent choice or represented value for money as we purchased supplies in advance and cooked our own dinner.

We laid out some chopped carrot and apple in the hope of attracting some wildlife and were rewarded with repeated visits from three brush-tailed possums in the evening which were happy to be fed by hand and made repeated attempts to enter the cabin to help themselves. We also had a passing visit from a wombat and in the morning five pademelons (small wallabies) stopped by to feed on the remaining goodies.

Considering the location this accommodation was excellent value and a superb base to explore this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Just back from 4 nights at Highlander, we took food for 3 nights, and wished we had taken food for 4 nights as we would put the wood fire on and have dinner by it, just lovely. At dusk we saw so much wild life as these cottages are individual and the bush around has been left as nature meant it to be, we saw kangaroos, pademelons, wallabys, endless wombats and the real prize siting was a spotted quoll. The cottages are comfortable but not luxurious with some querky bits like the door pulls. There are not many places around to eat and you cannot buy food to cook at Cradle Mountain, all has to be purchased before getting on the mountain. Parks like you to use the shuttle bus which is walking distance from the cottages, extra bonus as so many of the others are miles away and you have to use your car. We had a $60 National Parks Pass which lasts for a couple of months, really good value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pogglesgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in the snowgum cottage, very cozy, open log fire, easy access to the NP (do the walk to dove lake starting from the entrance in the morning), did remind us a lot of some of our trips to Canada. Possums also visiting this place, checking out our evening dish .. (didn't share although!) recommend it certainly as a convenient comfortable place to stay for a visit to the NP !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed in The Bushman's Hut which can be best described as cute & cosy. The cabin is surrounded by wild life & a very friendly wombat & pademelons.The DIY breakfast was excellant value & set you up for a day of walking in the area. It is extremely handy for the Cradle Mountain information centre & the shuttle bus. The owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed for one night with friends in the Stringybark cottage. On arrival the log fire was blazing away and you really felt that you were the only ones for miles around. In the evening the wallabies came to visit, even venturing up the steps to our verandah. The beds were comfy and it was very quiet so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

The location is perfect, only a couple of hundred metres from the shuttle bus terminal.

We purchased the $9 breakfast hampers and were pleasantly surprised at the amount included - very good value for money. We went to the pub for a meal, there was a good selection and it was well cooked and reasonably priced - and of course the outlook was
amazing.

We all felt that we could willingly have stayed for 3 or 4 nights, it would have been soooo relaxing,but unfortunately we were only there for 1 night. May have to come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Possie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Highlander Cabins is the perfect stop[ for your stay at Cradle Mountain. We stayed in Buttongrass which was very charming with a handcarved bed, fireplace and well equipped kitchen. Highlanders is very well situated for exploring the park, 500 metres from the visitors centre and shuttle bus and 1.2 km in either direction to the Chateau or Lodge.
We ordered the breakfast provisions andit was great vlaue @$9 each for cereal, juice, eggs, yoghurt and bread.
A reasonable option for dinner is the tavern/bistro at the Lodge.
We were pleased with our choice of accomodation and feel there is no need to go for the pricier options at the Lodge ot Chateau. Highlanders Cottages was the perfect place to stay in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckBrisbaneAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
38.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
420 reviews
41.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $140 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing