We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Nature Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Nature Getaway”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Booked snowgum spa for partner's bday and she's thrilled with the cottage. Saw padamelon and curawong just around the cottage as we walked in , loved the fire place, immaculate spa and bathing , rustic bed was great, leather seating and complete kitchen . Just 2-3 minutes drive from the lodge and national mountain park makes this a perfect place to visit , will definitely come back .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikerzTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    112
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
170
411
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was a little apprehensive at first staying at a relatively unknown lodge, though all of this went out the window thesecond we opened the door to our cabin. We had a two bedroom lodge - it was extremely clean, with a kitchen, stove, numerious heaters and a fireplace that definatley was used! Rooms were very spacious and the management was very efficient and helpful. Unfortunately for us, it did not snow, though if you visit Cradle Mountain early in the morning, alot of the streams are frozen over, so its stunning to see and photograph.

TIP - ask staff for board games to play at night whilst drinking wine in front of a fire! also, the wildlife come out (possums, wallabies) so keep an eye out on them.

Location - 2min drive to the entry to Cradle Mountain National Park. Remember, BUY all of your food befor your visit the lodge - we thought it really wasn't necessary, though heed others advice and buy from Sheffield or prior.

Definately would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at Highlanders (Buttongrass) for only one night and we had stayed longer. What you cant tell on the website is just how modern the places are. Yes, they are timber cottages dotted in the woodlands, but they are all reasonably new and very well fitted out.

The place was roomy, spotless, and very comfortable.

Once you had the fire going it was very warm and toasty.

Whilst the highlanders do not have a food service the breakfast basket was fantastic, and dinner at the Chateau down the road was brilliant

Love to come back to buttongrass

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Highlanders on 25/03/2009 & 26/03/2009 in the Pandani cabin. I chose this cabin because it catered for 6 so I knew it would be nice and roomy and because it was one of two cabins that had a gas fireplace.

We loved it here and would like to go back again in the future. We read through the guest books that were in the cabin and the number of positive very happy customers is absolutely amazing.

Hopefully things will stay the same for many years to come and we can enjoy our stay as much as we did this time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had 2 nights and had booked the Winter Special....which was terrific value. As well as the wonderful breakfast basket(eggs, bread, fruit bread, milk, juices, yoghurts, cereals, jams, butter, ) we were also given a cheese platter (2 x cheese, salmon, salmon pate, salami, biscuits, kiwi fruit, grapes, figs, almonds, walnuts + a bottle of red) - both the basket and platter were sufficient for the 2 days. Fire was very warm and it really was a lovely cosy retreat, with a really good size bathroom and spa (We stayed in the Tallow Wood Cabin). Also had a cheeky visitor.....a lovely fat brush tail possum was on the railing of our deck then jumped up onto the window box to peer in. So cute!! Ian and Sharon, the Managers, are extremely helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkcsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We had the most incredible experience staying at the Highlander Cottages, i only wish we could've stayed for longer.

We stayed for one night in the Lanceolata cottage and it was just beautiful - everything you could wish for from a mountain cottage! And we were so grateful for the log fire - having come straight from Brisbane we were having some trouble in adjusting to the temperature!

The staff were so helpful and welcoming and also recommended some great activities. We would highly recommend visiting Devils@Cradle while you are there and some of the walks around Cradle Mountain are spectacular.

As other have said though, what really makes this location magical is the wildlife being right on your doorstep. We were so excited to see wombats in the wild, it is an experience we will never forget.

I really think this is the only place to stay on Cradle Mountain, especially when you compare it to some of the more commerical properties nearby. It's like being in another world here.

We would definately come back in the future, in fact i hope we can very soon!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

As with the other reviewers i recommend paying a bit extra for these lovely rustic cabins. The staff were so helpful they let us use their personal net to find some accomodation as we were leaving.... will definately go back ! Oh and the spa and fireplace were divine !!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sideshowcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
38.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
41.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Property: Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing