We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlights of Tassie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
china
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlights of Tassie”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

As with the other reviewers i recommend paying a bit extra for these lovely rustic cabins. The staff were so helpful they let us use their personal net to find some accomodation as we were leaving.... will definately go back ! Oh and the spa and fireplace were divine !!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sideshowcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    113
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
176
422
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LISMORE,NSW
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We absolutely loved staying in Telopea Cabin at Cradle Mountain. Very romantic spot. Great location. Friendly staff. Lovely combustion wood heater. Absolute gem!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed for one night at the 'Lanceolata' cottage which was a 1 brm with fold-out sofa in the living area. It served our purpose very nicely basically somewhere to eat and sleep. We really appreciated the pure mountain water from an underground aquifer - makes a great cup of tea!
What really makes this area special of course is the landscape and wildlife. There are many magnificently maintained boardwalks which take visitors through a variety of areas and walks of various duration and difficulty (well done Tas National Parks). The pretty Pencil Pine and Enchanted Walks are very short and easily done by all ages.
You WILL see the very cute pademelons (Thylogale billardierii) - these small marsupials are just about everywhere.
Wombats are prolific in this area and you might be lucky to see one during the day, but better to go out at night on a spotlighting tour.
Don't miss the 6km walk around Dove Lake, it's sensational especially on a clear day.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

If you're going to Cradle Mountain and want to self cater, this place is fantastic.

The cottage we stayed in was cosy and well equipped. A wombat, Pademelons and Wallabies roamed in the early evening, and we even saw a Quoll at our window sill. The place is virtually opposite the main information centre (and yet far enough away not to be visible or intrusive) so getting too and from walks is easy. And Cradle Mountain itself is beautiful. We'll go back....

  • Liked — The location and cosiness of the cabin
  • Disliked — the fact that mobile phones don't work here!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Amazing little gem in the Tassie wilderness. I took my mother here for a few days of hiking and relaxing. I didn't have many expectations but surly didn't expect such a cute little cabin. It isn't rustic, it is beautiful. It was so quiet, you really felt the isolation, so peaceful. We had Pademelon (wallabys), echidna, Tasmanian devils, and a bushy tailed possum all eat in the woods in front of our cottage with us watching on the porch. AMAZING place.

  • Liked — The wildlife that came to the porch and the beautiful little cabin
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Cradle Mountain Highlangers offers self contained accommodation surrounded by bush. There are 12 cabins in total but we did not even notice that there were others around. Staying in the Pademelon cabin, the lay out was all open with a double and two bunks. There was a fire with wood supplied to keep us warm but gas as an alternative if you aren't keen on lighting a fire. The best part was the nature at the door. Cute Pademelons nosing around in the bush and a big fat possum on the railing outside at night. Cradle Mountain is one place you have to visit in Tassie but recommend that you are prepared to provide your own food as there is limited options to eat out. Highlanders provides a breakfast basket for $9 which was ample to get us started for the day.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank outdoormum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Cradle Mountain Highlanders was one of the highlights of our trip to Australia and will definitely be included in our next visit. The cabins are thoughtfully designed and very comfortable. We arrived on a chilly evening in early spring and were thrilled to discover the electric mattress warmer. The next morning, we found that the kitchen had everything we needed. The cabin's guest guide includes helpful information on recommended hikes, local animals, and even how to build a fire in the woodstove. Rob is a gem! He loves the area and is a wonderful source of information and advice. To top it off, there were two pademelons who liked the plants in front of our cabin.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
38.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
41.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Property: Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing