We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing setting”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Our fire was already lit for us when we arrived late in the afternoon an Wombat, a studio cabin in this lovely part of the world. We preferred to cook our own meals and stay by the fire, the kitchen was fully equipped.
Very comfortable bed and good shower... And shower caps, thank you!!
Perfect for a relaxing getaway with lots of small animals quietly grazing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hawthorne4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    113
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
172
415
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Telopea, that's an excellent cottage indeed. After greeting by two friendly staffs at reception, (the lovely lady recommended a nice wine to us too), we reached that wonderful cottage. One night before, we have been informed there was a good weather in Cradle mountain at FB, i.e. such a great customer service.
The Telopea is a romantic, well equipped and nice cottage.
if you're going with your another half, highly recommended to stay at Telopea.
Will stay at there in our next visit to Tas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We loved our time here. Staff and owners were knowledgable, helpful and could not do enough for us. Wifi is available from some properties.

Cross the road at dusk and stroll amongst the wombats grazing on the grass.

Our cabin - Teleopia - was warm and cosy, lots of wood for the fire supplied daily, immaculately clean, and with a large bathroom and jacuzzi. It was a delight to return to it each evening.

The kitchen is small but seemed to have every item we needed to cook.

Stock up on food before coming into Cradle Mountain because while you can eat out there ate no stores selling basic food items like eggs or vegetables.

Great walking for all levels - even for those pushing children in prams.

A good selection of DVDs, maps, books, games are supplied.

We appreciated being able to buy a car pass and walking map at reception. So convenient. We recommend both.

Room Tip: We stayed in Teleopia which has wifi reception and is amazingly quiet. A studio which is good for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

- No Wi-Fi
- The staff is helpful. I arrived at 5pm and he helped to book a night animal tour which start at 5:30pm, which is also a must-join activity.
- Full cooking facilities, anyway, my oven did not working.
- The area is cold (0 degree in May). The heater, e-blanket and hot bath water worked well.
- Different kinds of small animals can be easily found around the cottage. Some even left me some souvenir outside the door in mid-night.
- There is a barbecue facility, but it is not outside the flat and needs to bring your own light.
- No restaurants and stores nearby, restaurants in reception closed early. Need to buy food from Shieldfield (nearest town and 1hr drive). Or have dinner in nearby hotels.
- The Cradle Mt. visitors center is just opposite to the hotel.

Room Tip: Reception is closed at 6pm. Better contact the staffs if late check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early May and it was a fantastic experience. The cabin is great for the two of us and extremely comfortable. The owners were enthusiastic and knowledgable and went well out of their way to help us with any question or request we had. Much to the delight of my wife, wildlife (a paddymelon and a brush tailed possum) came right to our front door. We'll be going back just to experience the quiet serenity again. Well done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MauricePoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Beautiful cottages in natural bush setting. Fully self contained, cosy, conveniently situated near visitors centre. Helpful staff. Good value. We were in pademelon and indeed several came to graze whilst we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had two queen beds separate rooms in Tallow Wood cottage. The bathroom was modern with a large spa, good for coming in after cold days. There was another one also. The kitchen had views out the window so one can watch the wild life. All mod cons and microwave and utensils, crockery and cutlery.

We arrived late afternoon with rain started, in no time the fire was going and the cottage was snug and warm, next day was freezing and wet so we were glad to stay in comfort. TV and wireless was available, so we could use our IPads etc.

Beds were very comfortable and electric blankets and small heater as well if needed in rooms.

The manager was a great advertisement for a good manager, he brought our wood over in a wheel barrow and put it in our box. Really helpful and knew all tours and about Cradle Mountains times etc.

We drove up ourselves and took many pictures on a crisp autumn morning with clear skies and sunshine, we were close to all areas and restaurants and shops.

We looked at other places while here and were well pleased with our choice. Come to Highlanders, it's the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
38.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Property: Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing