We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Cradle Mountain Highlanders”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Cradle Mountain Highlanders was one of the highlights of our trip to Australia and will definitely be included in our next visit. The cabins are thoughtfully designed and very comfortable. We arrived on a chilly evening in early spring and were thrilled to discover the electric mattress warmer. The next morning, we found that the kitchen had everything we needed. The cabin's guest guide includes helpful information on recommended hikes, local animals, and even how to build a fire in the woodstove. Rob is a gem! He loves the area and is a wonderful source of information and advice. To top it off, there were two pademelons who liked the plants in front of our cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 743 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2008

This was our second visit to Cradle during our 6 month sojourn in Tasmania. The Highlander Cottages stand out from the alternative accommodation options at Cradle Mountain, in that they offer a private, intimate and cosy retreat to explore the natural attractions - as opposed to the impersonal Cradle Mt Wilderness Chalet or Cradle Mt Lodge.

We spent four nights in the Woodsmoke cabin this time; well-heated with wood combustion heater (daily delivery of heaps of firewood, kindling and firelighters), plus extra boosting of electric blankets for the cold nights. There is a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and electric hotplate. Bathroom has lovely bath to soak in, shower and basic vanity. Bed is a large queen, very comfy!

We enjoyed snowfalls and rain; less visitors than the crowded summer months and a great base to bushwalk and see rivers in spate and wet forests. Wombats in the snow at Ronnie's Creek most evenings.

If this is your first visit to Cradle, don't forget to bring own food supplies and be prepared to hunker down for a few days to make the best of the experience.

PLEASE DON'T FEED THE WILDLIFE - despite signs advising visitors, there were many entries in the Visitors Book commenting on 'handfeeding wallabies' - not a good idea as it'll give them lumpy jaw, encourage dependence on feeds and possibly increase aggression. Tassie wildlife is cute, but best left wild!

Definitely recommend the Highlander if you are after an intimate, self-contained experience - especially in winter for that real 'edge of the wilderness' highland experience.

Stayed: June 2008
4  Thank RoadkillGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We had Woodsmoke Cottage, which has a porch, lounge diner kitchen with log fire ( free logs), a bedroom with to us a very comfortable bed and a large bathroom with shower(excellent) over the bath. It was clean and tidy in a very good location for the National Park. Park Bus terminal about 5 minutes walk away. We would suggest that you bring your own provisions, some are available locally but seem pricey. Dining out is possible in the nearby lodge or Chateau but these would require use of the car and running the gauntlet of the local wildlife. We were lucky around the cabin/ small site we saw pademelon (small wallaby), wallabies, wombats and brush tailed possums. Nice accommodation and great location. No internet connection, nearest is in the park reception but is dial up by coin operation, so slow it’s not worth the trouble. Best option from the cabins is to get a Park pass and walk down to the bus, it’s quicker, safer and easier than driving.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed in the Telopea cabin, and it was perfect for our needs. The fireplace added great ambiance to our home for 2 nights, the kitchen was adequately stocked, and the bed very comfortable! Our host set the BBQ grill up on our deck, so that we could grill our steaks..and our eggs in the morning! One of the many nocturnal critters even helped clean the grill over night, by helping himself to the grease trap...pretty funny, as we caught him in the act the following night! If & when we ever get back to Cradle Mountain, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DuoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We can't imagine our time in Cradle Mountain without our sweet Wombat Cottage home! It was wonderful.

Each cabin is nestled among trees with a great deal of privacy. The wonderful woodsy details throughout the cabin added a lovely touch in keeping with the setting. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen was very well equiped and we loved the heat lamp in the bathroom.

Returning "home" every evening and enjoying a nice wood fire was great!

We ordered the breakfast basket for each morning - a great selection of high quality and healthy breakfast items.

We spent 33 days in Australia and considered this our best accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanhessidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

My family stayed at the Stringybark for a night. It is a wonderful cottage with a nice size kitchen. The boys had fun starting the wood fire to warm up the place.

The beds are pretty high though but comfortable. Only spotted a wallaby outside the cottage in the morning but we saw a young tasmania devil at the Cradle Lodge after dinner. Very good experience over all.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed in the Woodsmoke cabin for one night but we wished it was for longer. Although rustic looking on the outside, the cabins are warm, clean and comfortable and perfect for a bush retreat. The cabin, for two people only, consisted of a bedroom with a very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with shower over bath, and a living area with kitchen and two lounge chairs in front of a log fire. Snow fell while we were there but inside the cabin was cosy and warm. We enjoyed the generous continental breakfast we'd ordered when booking via their excellent website. Soon after our arrival we were visited by three pademelons which soon devoured the pieces of apple we offered them. The cabins are spaced well throughout the trees which means they are very private. Location is perfect. The Cradle Information Centre is nearby as is the Visitor Centre. Next time we visit Cradle Mt. we'll certainly be wanting to stay at the Highlanders, but for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
459 reviews
39 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: Cradle Mountain, Tasmania 7306 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $145 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing