We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottages! Much better than Peppers Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! Very spacious cottages with full kitchen, spa bathroom, TV, fireplace and comfy beds. The owner was an absolute delight to talk to and offered great advice on travelling in Tassie. She was also quite a fun character. The cottages are set in beautiful bush land and very close to Cradle Mtn. Much better than our stay a Peppers - and it's so much cheaper here! Great value, great accommodation, very happy!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank tbate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 755 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in the Snow Gum Cabin for one night in June, and it was fantastic. Felt like you were in the wilderness by yourselves yet other cabins were close by. Wood fire was roaring when we arrived and was great to have a little view of Cradle Mountain from the bedroom and the balcony. Saw plenty of wildlife during our one night stay which was a bonus! The heated tiles and large spa bath in the bathroom were lovely and the bed was good. Take advantage of the "hearty Breakfast" which is great value for money with enough food for breakfast and lunch!

The only minor thing that was annoying was that the shower was very temperamental, going cold for a few seconds, every 25 seconds or so.

Wish we could of stayed longer!

Room Tip: Snow Gum cabin is the most expensive, but well worth it just for the heated bathroom tiles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajones06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family our four we absolutely delighted with our huge cabin. We were so happy to stay in a place where we felt as if we were alone in the wilderness yet only a few metres away from reception with access to reasonable wine and free DVDs for the kids. It was freezing outside but we were very toasty with our gas heater (which looks like a log fire). The bathroom was freezing, so cold that my shampoo froze. But that in itself was hilarious as we all braved running in for our evening shower. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds warm and comfy. The highlight for our children were the pademelons which regularly came up to us. So cute! We also had a very cheeky possum who bites, so watch out. Lovely, wonderful place. We will always treasure our stay at Highlanders Cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were two couples and stayed in Wombat and Buttongrass cabins. We booked based on previous reviews and posted photos. We were delighted to find the cabins exactly as described - really cute; much more spacious and private than an hotel room; big, comfy bed; fully equipped kitchen and lovely wood fires to keep them cosy. For the wildlife lovers Wombat verandah was visited by a large possum on our first evening.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in cabin 1 - Pademelon and Wombat for one night in June. The cabin exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay here again. The cabin was roomy, cosy, very clean, and homely. The bed was firm with beautiful linen and we crashed after walking the Dove Lake circuit and spending one hour at the nearby Waldheim Day Spa. The small kitchen has everything you will need to create meals but make sure you bring groceries with you as nearby facilities are minimal and expensive (fuel was $1.99litre at the visitor centre!). The wood heater is divine and kept the cabin lovely and warm (plenty of wood supplied). The visiting wildlife (especially Murray the possum) are adorable but make sure you keep the door closed because they're very inquisitive and bold. All in all it was a wonderful stay at Highlanders and we felt so relaxed and content when we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages in the Woodsmoke cottage for one night in June - but I wish we could have stayed longer! The Highlanders Cottages are located close to the Visitor Information Centre and each cottage has its own private little setting in the bush. We stayed in the Woodsmoke cottage, which had a small living and kitchen area, a queen bedroom and bathroom. I loved the feel of the cottage and especially the wood fire, which was already warming our cottage when we arrived. The Highlanders Cottages are set in a peaceful location and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definately recommend staying at the Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to add a personal touch, warmth and serenity to your time at Cradle Mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We checked in and I'm writing this from Tallow Wood cottage. It is so adorable! There are 2 bedrooms and it is beautifully decked out. The back bedroom doesn't have the heat from the fire, but if you like the other couple open the door and they can share the heat. if not, there are electric blankets and it's pretty cozy anyway. you can buy wine from reception and they have a good selection, and we got the hearty breakfast - I'm not sure we'll get through all the food!! Honestly, this is well worth it. My husband keeps telling me how great it is. We had a plunger of coffee and sat at the window watching it go dusk, with the occasional hoppy critter going past. Tomorrow we're going to Dove Lake. I could just stay here! The spa bath is huge too, big enough for both of us and he's 6'2" tall!. It is lovely - just lovely.

Room Tip: Tallow Wood has 2 Queen beds, one in the main room, one in a back bedroom, 2 toilets and a spa. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,057 reviews
24.3 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
827 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
471 reviews
39 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: Cradle Mountain, Tasmania 7306 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $156 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing