We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add a personal touch, warmth and serenity to your time at Cradle Mountain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages in the Woodsmoke cottage for one night in June - but I wish we could have stayed longer! The Highlanders Cottages are located close to the Visitor Information Centre and each cottage has its own private little setting in the bush. We stayed in the Woodsmoke cottage, which had a small living and kitchen area, a queen bedroom and bathroom. I loved the feel of the cottage and especially the wood fire, which was already warming our cottage when we arrived. The Highlanders Cottages are set in a peaceful location and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definately recommend staying at the Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to add a personal touch, warmth and serenity to your time at Cradle Mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We checked in and I'm writing this from Tallow Wood cottage. It is so adorable! There are 2 bedrooms and it is beautifully decked out. The back bedroom doesn't have the heat from the fire, but if you like the other couple open the door and they can share the heat. if not, there are electric blankets and it's pretty cozy anyway. you can buy wine from reception and they have a good selection, and we got the hearty breakfast - I'm not sure we'll get through all the food!! Honestly, this is well worth it. My husband keeps telling me how great it is. We had a plunger of coffee and sat at the window watching it go dusk, with the occasional hoppy critter going past. Tomorrow we're going to Dove Lake. I could just stay here! The spa bath is huge too, big enough for both of us and he's 6'2" tall!. It is lovely - just lovely.

Room Tip: Tallow Wood has 2 Queen beds, one in the main room, one in a back bedroom, 2 toilets and a spa. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Snowgum cottage on our Honeymoon in May 2013. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect place to base yourself from when visiting Cradle Mountain. The cottage was warmed by a fire place and electric heater, spacious, and very well maintained. The owners were especially nice and couldn't do more for us. Cradle Mountain is a special place and if you are visiting this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We are a Malaysian couple who stayed in Woodsmoke Cabin in early May. The cabin had everything one would need and more. Romantic, quaint, cosy, clean and tastefully furnished, all the settings for a perfect holiday. The log fire was a first for us but there were step to step instructions on how to light it. In fact, staying in a log cabin was a highlight for us. The cabin had an electric heater as well and electric blankets which kept us warm. We ordered the breakfast basket which was very good. The only downslide was that the bathroom was chilly. However, it was a spacious and great bathroom. It's a short drive to the visitor's centre. Do the circuit walk around the beautiful Dove Lake. Unfortunately, no wildlife visited us at the cabin. Kim, the owner was warm, friendly and very accommodating. We highly recommend this place for the perfect ambience and an unforgettable stay in Cradle Mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Premafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a few hours getting soaked through in the rain on the Dove Lake circuit it was an amazing treat to arrive to our cabin, log fire burning. Nicely thought out for a night in, with wine, dvds and board games available at reception. Really comfy beds. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtin675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

How I wish we could have stayed longer in the Cradle Mountain area, it was definitely the highlight of our Tasmania trip. We stayed 1 night at the Highlanders cabins in the 'Woodsmoke' hut and had no complaints. It is a beautiful looking little hut inside and out with everything you need for a comfortable nights stay. Yes, it is a bit expensive for the budget traveller (we treated ourselves this night) but it seems you aren't going to get much cheaper in Cradle Mountain. We had our own car and had a parking space right outside the door. For those without, it is within walking distance to everything the area has to offer (we recommend to visit devils@cradle and the pub down the road) including the information center where you can get the shuttle bus into the park itself. At dusk the area really comes alive, it seemed everywhere we looked we saw some kind of animal skipping passed us or bumbling around in the bush! We would not hesitate to return to the Highlanders again next time we are lucky enough to find ourselves in Cradle Mountain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we were not disappointed. We loved the wooden interior and the furniture, it felt very authentic, like a real 'bushmans hut'.

The hut wasn't huge, but there was enough room for 2 people to move around. There was a double bed and a single bed (bunk) over it, a small sofa, table and a couple of chairs. Also, a small kitchen area with all the necessary cooking equipment.

There was a gas heater in the middle of the hut, which we were instructed to keep on at all times - it did a great job - but unfortunately we could smell the gas and it wasn't very pleasant.

Bathroom was spacious but the shower was tiny and it was a little dark in there - in fact, the lights in the whole hut were not particularly powerful - basic toiletteries were provided.

Overall, everything was clean and well maintained and the location of the cottages is great - just few kilometers from Cradle Mountain, and 500m from the visitors centre.

One negative - there was no free WiFi.

Also, be ready for a visitor - when you open the door at night there is a possum waiting to get in :))

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
459 reviews
39 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: Cradle Mountain, Tasmania 7306 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $144 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing