We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile


A great cosy log cabin, close too walks and wildlife, we arrived late pm but the log fire was already a blaze, what a welcome sight. Hosts were helpful and friendly, cabins were rustic, but needed a spring clean, it was well equipped and had most comforts including elec blankets. Within an hour of arriving at "wombat cottage " we saw our first wombat! Then another and another! We also saw possum and pademelon. We had picked up a selection of cheeses and great Tassie wines on our way through Bernie, A cheese platter, movie and wine by the log fire was a great alpine experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    113
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
170
412
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We chose this Lodge after checking a few reviews and we were not wrong!
The cottages are nice, cozy and warm (the heater worked perfectly!), wallabies and opossums just in front of your room and Tasmanian Devil's just around the corner. The park is just 3 minutes by car if that.
Very friendly staff and the best priced wines between all accommodations and restaurants we have been, which is hard to believe given the fact that the place is quite isolated; very honest management!
The owner is a very nice and friendly man... and the location is just magic. If you visit Cradle Mountain, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Bushman's hut as the other rooms were full... it turns out that it's been p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sveva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent 3 days in Snowgum cottage for our honeymoon and could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. We arrived late in the evening and the fire was lit, lights were on and champagne and chocolates were waiting. Comfy bed and lovely spa with picture window. The owners were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast provisions were more than ample ( enough for lunch too!) I would like to visit again in winter so as to take further advantage of the cosy-ness, however on this trip we had great weather so were out bushwalking as often as possible. It was only a short walk to the lodge ( peppers) in the evening for dinner. Our only gripe is that we would have stayed longer if we had known how lovely it would be. Understandably they are very popular and were fully booked so we couldn't extend our stay this time ( although they were very helpful in recommending us somewhere else to stay). Luckily we live in Tasmania so can come back for longer on our next visit. We have stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge in the past and I would say this was better value and much cosier.Unrelated to the accommodation but as a general point to note when visiting Cradle Mountain, or any other national park...PLEASE DRIVE SLOWLY! we saw lots of people driving too fast and were very sad to find a young female tasmanian devil dead on the road as we left. We don't have enough of them to spare as road kill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fireball78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I know other reviewers have said a lot of wonderful things regarding these cottages and I can't think of any better reason to want to stay here, as they are all true. This place is heaven on earth. The cottage we stayed in, Buttongrass, was so cosy we found it hard to leave. It was very private, very quiet and in a great location. Easy walk to the visitor centre, to get the shuttle buses into the National Park (they are quite an efficient way to get to the lake). Don't drive in as it is a long way in to Dove Lake on a narrow road & there is a quota system. You may not get let in anyway.
The cabins have all you could want for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainerkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Cottages are great with lots of atmosphere, we arrived just after a lot of heavy snow and it was a real winter wonderland. When we arrived the fire was already lit in our cabin for us so it was warm and welcoming. The cabins are private from each other and there is lots of wildlife around the area. The cabins are nicely appointed and right at the entrance of the park area, it is a perfect location. The location suits everyone from a romantic getaway to a family holiday as there are different cabins. Don't stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camrichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upon check in, the receptionist was expecting our arrival and we were immediately felt very welcomed. She explained that we need to pay for the park fee which include the bus transport and advise us to visit on the same day as it will be raining the next day. She was right!! Because of her advise, we were able to visit the beautiful dove lake with clear blue sky. Prefect picture.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances24sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place must have been sent from Heaven. If you want a truly romatic getaway, this is where you need to stay. We stayed in Pademelon, our 4th time visiting this amazing little cabin. It has everything you could possibly need, should you wish to hide away for a couple of days. Due to the isolation of your cabin, you start to believe you are the only couple on the planet. The experience is made so much more special and personal, with such a warm welcome from the Managers Ian and Sharon. Nothing is too much trouble, and they know all there is to know about Cradle Mountain. The breakfast hamper, is great value, a definite must have. The wildlife that visit your cabin are so friendly, I could not get enought of them, they are truly beautiful. If you want to stay at Cradle Mountain, I would strongly recommend that you only stay at Cradle Mountain Higlanders, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyF806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
38.8 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
41.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Property: Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing