We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic self-contained cabins 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic self-contained cabins 5 star”
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We loved our stay in the wilderness village. It is very close to the famous Dove Lake circuit (which we recommend) and the cabins are beautiful. We stayed in a luxury spa cabin and thought it was wonderful value for money. The spa itself has views out over the wilderness, the bed was comfortable, the fireplace fantastic and the kitchen and bathroom well kitted out. I would highly recommend the village to anyone. They also have a "self service" bar for those wanting a bottle of wine to take back to their cabin! Also appreciated the ipod docking station and the electric bbq on the balcony. What a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katharinea2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    324
    63
    15
    7
See reviews for
184
413
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We loved this place. We booked because of Tripadvisor recommendations. We had a cottage/cabin with a queen sized bed in a nook in the living area and a separate bunk room with two bunks and a separate bathroom. The facilites were clean and more than adequate. The staff were incredibly helpful - it was their first week. Our daughter did the Tassie Devil Night tour along with the spotlight tour - she had a personally guided tour and saw tassie devils, wombats, paddymelons etc. We did the enchanted walk at dusk - it was raining, but we still had the most amazing time. We saw wombats and paddymelons. The room had been heated prior to arrival, which was a blessing at it was freezing! There was still snow on the ground. We walked halfway around Dove Lake - it is God's own country - it hailed when we got halfway around, but we still had a fabulous time. The clouds came and went and we got to see Cradle Mountain covered with fresh snow. I wish we'd had more than one night. The guest lounge was well equipped and very comfortable. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 3 children in a 2 bed villa. Accomodation had everything we need, functional kitchen and lounge area, comfy beds and plenty of heating. The resort has a communal guest lounge area and bar which we found very useful.

Good location not far from major attractions in the area. Would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullseye72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

loved it not luxurious but certainly big enough for all of us views were amazing great walks nearby! good value for money great walks nearby heaps of wildlife snow scenes amazing will be back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat13bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We only stayed one night at Cradle Mountain but really should have stayed at least another night. There are too many things to do! The cabins were very comfortable, and it was an easy and quick drive to the National park. The staff were friendly and warm. In terms of location and price, you can't get much better than this, the other accommodation options situated here close to the National Park charges a lot more and I don't believe you get much more value out of them.

Be prepared and bring your own food as well because there are not too many choices for eating out and prices tend to lean on the high side. The cabins all had fantastic views of the forest and if you were lucky, might even be able to catch a glimpse of some wildlife. The cabin also had a little outdoor porch/ verandah area with chairs and table for you to sit and enjoy the views. The bathroom was clean and showers were hot, nothing special but did the job. Because you are so far from all the city lights, it was amazing just sitting outside and watching the stars for a little bit (until it became too cold!).

Did have one complaint, our cabin was the middle one of a group of 3, so parking in front of our cabin was made difficult when the other cabin's occupants had parked their car in their spot so getting out was rather tricky as there was a tree in the way as well.

We ate at Cradle Mountain Lodge bistro, expensive for not very good food... but the Enchanted Walk around the place was lovely, definitely very enchanting!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed in a spa cabin for two nights and wished we'd been able to stay longer! The cabin was clean, very comfortable and had everything you need for a short stay. It was in a great spot overlooking the forest and within a couple of minutes walk of the shuttle bus to Cradle Mountain. It was great to come back from wildlife spotting and walks to a warm and cosy cabin with a great spa and every chance of seeing a wallaby or wombat when you stepped outside. It is perhaps over-priced (we paid $260 a night and I'd say it should be around $200 at the most) but this seems to be the case with most accommodation in the area. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here as a stopover between Strahan and Burnie and all I can say is that it was perfectly OK. The key to our chalet was in an envelope taped to the door of the reception and that was that. We had a large huntsman spider in the bathroom which freaked us poms out a bit and made it a no go area but I guess it's the wilderness and the wilderness is where the wild things live. Our chalet slept 6 although there were only 2 of us and a baby - luckily it was affordable enough to make sense. The restaurant at the wilderness lodge served fantastic dinner (we were in the pub/tavern part) tho it was a bit slow. All I can say is the the place lacked character. We stayed in some ramshackle ex hydro workers chalets in Bronte park last year and they were great - a 70s timewarp. One last thing, I chose the Wilderness Village as it had the best write ups on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing