We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We only stayed one night at Cradle Mountain but really should have stayed at least another night. There are too many things to do! The cabins were very comfortable, and it was an easy and quick drive to the National park. The staff were friendly and warm. In terms of location and price, you can't get much better than this, the other accommodation options situated here close to the National Park charges a lot more and I don't believe you get much more value out of them.

Be prepared and bring your own food as well because there are not too many choices for eating out and prices tend to lean on the high side. The cabins all had fantastic views of the forest and if you were lucky, might even be able to catch a glimpse of some wildlife. The cabin also had a little outdoor porch/ verandah area with chairs and table for you to sit and enjoy the views. The bathroom was clean and showers were hot, nothing special but did the job. Because you are so far from all the city lights, it was amazing just sitting outside and watching the stars for a little bit (until it became too cold!).

Did have one complaint, our cabin was the middle one of a group of 3, so parking in front of our cabin was made difficult when the other cabin's occupants had parked their car in their spot so getting out was rather tricky as there was a tree in the way as well.

We ate at Cradle Mountain Lodge bistro, expensive for not very good food... but the Enchanted Walk around the place was lovely, definitely very enchanting!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 827 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed in a spa cabin for two nights and wished we'd been able to stay longer! The cabin was clean, very comfortable and had everything you need for a short stay. It was in a great spot overlooking the forest and within a couple of minutes walk of the shuttle bus to Cradle Mountain. It was great to come back from wildlife spotting and walks to a warm and cosy cabin with a great spa and every chance of seeing a wallaby or wombat when you stepped outside. It is perhaps over-priced (we paid $260 a night and I'd say it should be around $200 at the most) but this seems to be the case with most accommodation in the area. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here as a stopover between Strahan and Burnie and all I can say is that it was perfectly OK. The key to our chalet was in an envelope taped to the door of the reception and that was that. We had a large huntsman spider in the bathroom which freaked us poms out a bit and made it a no go area but I guess it's the wilderness and the wilderness is where the wild things live. Our chalet slept 6 although there were only 2 of us and a baby - luckily it was affordable enough to make sense. The restaurant at the wilderness lodge served fantastic dinner (we were in the pub/tavern part) tho it was a bit slow. All I can say is the the place lacked character. We stayed in some ramshackle ex hydro workers chalets in Bronte park last year and they were great - a 70s timewarp. One last thing, I chose the Wilderness Village as it had the best write ups on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We were a last minute booking and only planned to stay one night, but enjoyed it enough to ask to stay on. The staff were very helpful about re-jigging the bookings so we could keep our cabin. The heater in the bedroom was not working which could have been an issue but we made do with electric blankets.

When we arrived it was howling with rain and freezing. We turned up early and they were very helpful about letting us use the guest lounge and getting us in slightly earlier than normal check in. The guest lounge in the main building is comfortable, well equipped and spacious with a bar (self serve) and wood fire.

We also stayed at "Highlander" (down the road) for the first night and although this is not of equivalent standard it is commensurately cheaper so we had a positive experience.

The unit was twin bedroom with a kitchen / sitting room, bathroom and two separate bedrooms. More room than we really needed and would be very well sized for a family. The kitchen had limited facilities (cook top & microwave only) but fine for what we had (bread, cheese, soup). You could see adjoining units but this was not intrusive, and our balcony looked straight on to the bush.

If you want to self cater (and having this option would be a good idea - see below) you have to bring your own food as there are very limited local shopping options. [essentially the Discovery Center (national park campsite) and the Cradle Mountain Lodge shop with mainly packaged and canned goods, milk, some expensive frozen meat]. The transit center cafe was awful, which is the cheapest option for light meals. There is no shortage of what looked to be good restaurants (well, three) but these are quite expensive if you are having every meal there, and after a long day walking we generally just wanted to relax rather than make a night of it. We had one dinner at the Cradle Mountain Lodge tavern which was quite nice - $20 for a steak sandwich - informal atmosphere and friendly staff. Looks like it could get kind of rowdy though.

Cradle mountain was one of the high points of our trip and the Wilderness village was a big part of making it so. If I had a do-over I would have brought a big bag of fruit & some sandwich supplies to make us less dependent on the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJB3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Comfortable, clean and warm. Good location and quiet. OK value, you'll pay a lot more down the road. And yes, it did snow on new years day.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canberrakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Our group of 8 people had two cabins, one normal one and one superior one. I stayed in the superior one and agree with other posts re space and facilities, perfectly adequate. We found the water hot and plentiful, and the heating effective. The views were great and the location relative to the park, transit centre etc excellent. The BBQ area was OK and some of our group used the shared washing machines/dryers (Take your own supply of coins and be prepared to use washing powder sold by management - low phosphorus and works with the waste system).
We took our own food so had no problems, but I agree with other posts that food is pricey and choices limited if not prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

This was a last minute booking in a busy time of the year. But it was perfect - the cabin had all the necessities, clean bathroom/spa, warm, and the rooms clean and modern. Went with another couple and there were 2 rooms with double beds at either side of the living/kitchen area. Loved going to sleep and waking up in the morning with the view and the birds just outside the window.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ksar1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,056 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
470 reviews
39.3 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $149 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing