We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore from!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great base to explore from!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had been tossing up between here and the chalets and so happy we chose the Wilderness Village. We loved the wet room entry to our cabin and used it for muddy boots and raincoats. We were grateful for an upgrade on arrival to the spa cabin. I don't normally enjoy a spa but after a day hiking on the mountain, my cold achy bones appreciated the soak!
The cabin was great, roomy, had a comfy bed and set in amongst the bush. It was surprisingly private and we had a lot of wildlife right at our doorstep. We ate in the restaurant both nights where servings were generous and quite tasty. Our waitress was young and it was her first week so while a little inexperienced, she was efficient and friendly.
We had a drive around looking at other accommodation and to us, the Wilderness lodge was a clear winner for location and rooms. This is definitely where we would stay o our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBarovskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    335
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
193
428
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were travelling with another couple and booked a 2 bedroom cottage, it was fantastic when we arrived the heaters had already been turned on the the cottage was nice and warm and cosy, we went outside to the balcony and were greeted by so much wildlife. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We walked to the restuarant for dinner Helleyers which was new and this was fantastic the service was top notch and the food was cooked beautifully. A very nice place to stay especially if you want to get away from it all (this was the only place in tasmania that I had no reception)

Room Tip: The cottages are scattered throughout the national park so the higher the number the further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed four days in a very comfortable, well equipped 2 bedroom cabin. It was quite rustic with a lovely deck on the front where you could relax in the late afternoon with a nice wine after a strenuous all day walk. We had a wonderful bushland view and with lots of curious native visitors, such as small kangaroos and a great variety of birds. It was very convenient being only a short walk from the Visitors Centre where the shuttle buses leave from. There is also a restaurant at the Visitors Centre. We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Cradle Mountain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelled_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Next time you visit Cradle Mountain, stay at the Wilderness Village. I've stayed here every time we go to Cradle Mountain. All accommodation is cabin style - we had the spa one. You have a wonderful view of the bush. Breakfast is continental (you pick it up at dinner at Hellyers restaurant at the hotel) and is delicious. The cabin is so charming. The kitchen is large and there is a gas fireplace, although it took a bit of working out how to get it working! The bedroom is large, as is the en suite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Second time I've stayed here and it was just as good as I remember. We had a spa cabin and it was excellent. Surrounded by bush in a quiet setting, with wildlife in abundance. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Very comfortable bed, the spa was great, and the small kitchenette and bathroom perfect. Fantastic location just opposite the park headquarters, and a few minutes from Cradle Mt and Dove Lake. Like a lot of things in Tasmania, it was pricey at $290 per night, but worth it for a treat on a significant anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipper666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey Channel Isles
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The cabin is amazing, its even got a spa bath. All you need for a comfortable stay. We had only 2 days here but could have stayed longer. There's wildlife in abundance. The national park is just down the road, get a membership and visit the Dove lake, Pencil pine falls and walks (varying lengths).There's a restaurant on site and also a couple within easy driving distance. We enjoyed our time together here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GaryBGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A more affordable option for families than a lot of the other accommodation at Cradle Mountain. The cabins were fairly basic but were well equipped and comfortable. Groceries can be purchased from the Discovery Holiday Park next door.

I was surprised to find that a restaurant had opened. It was FANTASTIC. Great quality food and the staff were friendly and attentive.

We didn't have any mobile phone reception but were able to purchase Internet vouchers to keep the kids happy.

Very close to the Cradle Mountain visitors centre.

Room Tip: Chalet number 1 is close to reception, restaurant and laundry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle66Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing