We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A well located self contained cabin style accommodation that perfectly suits either a couple or a family. The facilities are well looked after and very clean. Very close to the entrance to Cradle mountain. A must is to eat at their restaurant Hellyers the food and staff is exceptional. On site laundry is a plus. Certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own alcohol n chips etc and enjoy the veranda attached to your cabin. A very quiet and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    329
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
188
418
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had very low expectations of this place. The room is quite expensive but it is located in a popular tourist spot so we didnt think it'll be that great (other than its location). However, when we arrived we were very pleased with what we get.
We stayed in cabin no.6 for 2 nights. There were 2 bedrooms. One with queen size bed and another with 3 beds (2 of which bunk bed). There were only 2 of us though, so we didnt use the 2nd room. There was a big living room/kitchenette/dining room and a balcony. The kitchen was quite equipped. Had we known it, we would have bought stuff to cook..unfortunately we didnt.
TV was flat screen and they have in-house movie channel which was great. From the balcony we had some visitors from the forest. First day was pademelon and its baby..plus few black currawongs. Second day, we had wallaby..again with its young. These visitors made us really happy. At night, a possum with its young came visiting..and a 3rd adult possum came. Perfect for those who love animals...like we do.
No wifi in the place..in fact we didnt get any mobile network either...but its probably good to getaway from the modern life.
Downside: no breakfast was provided.

Room Tip: The smaller the number, the closer it is to receptionist and to the main road..it probably dont make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v_liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in one of the new spa cabins (for a couple) for 3 nights in early January. We were really impressed with the standard of the accommodation. It was lovely.

The cabin looked brand new. It was modern, decorated very tastefully and spotlessly clean. It was freezing (and wet) while we there but the gas fire warmed up the cabin very quickly. There was a large spa bath positioned in the middle of the cabin next to the king size bed. You could look out on the bush while having a spa bath. There was also a separate shower and a good kitchen with stove top, microwave and dishwasher. The TV was a decent size but some of the movie channels were slightly fuzzy. The cabin had a deck which looked out on bushland. A gas BBQ was located on the deck.

The cabin had lots of large windows that looked out onto the bushland. It felt pretty private as we could only see one other cottage near us. The birds and wallabies come up to your deck so it's a lovely experience even if you are sitting inside.

We felt really lucky that we had such a nice place to retreat to after being out in the cold and rain. It was super cozy. We brought all our own food so self catered but I understand that a restaurant has recently opened that you can go to at night. There is a small store in the vicinity so best to do your supermarket shopping in a larger town - we stocked up in Launceston.

There was a DVD library at the reception desk that we took advantage of given the weather (it was free to borrow DVDs). We also found Jo on the reception desk to be very friendly and helpful.

Cradle Mountain is fantastic. Make sure you take different clothing options as even in summer, it can be freezing (and apparently also stinking hot).

Based on our experience, if you are looking for a self-catering option, I don't think you can go past Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The slightly rustic cottages and main facility suit the area nicely. Clean and comfortable, and close to the Park entrance. Wifi is an expensive, unreliable disaster but that's not what this place is about.

Cradle Mountain National Park is a natural treasure. Get out and explore. This is as good a place as any to do it from.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed here for couple of nights. Our cottage had a queen bed in the living/dining area so it was sort of a studio thing. There was another bedroom with bunk bed but we preferred to sleep in the queen bed. Cottage was clean and had that "homy" feeling. It had a comfortable 2-seater in the front of TV but there were only very few channels to watch. Kitchen was nice and handy, well stocked with dishes, plates, cutlery, etc. Bed was comfortable and also had electric blanket. Bathroom was on the small side but clean with nice soft towels and all the small necessities. Receptionist was friendly and helpful and have given us a good advice on where to go and what to see in the area. Check-in/check-out was nice and easy and all was done in no time.

And now I have to mention some other things:

* position of our cottage wasn't as private as I would expect - from kitchen and living room window we could see into the bedroom of the neighbouring cottage and vice versa. It was a bit awkward so we kept our blinds down which blocked out beautiful bush views as well

* it was very cold, wet and windy, we even had some snow ( in the middle of summer! ) and we found that electric heater in the living/dining room area wasn't big enough to warm up the place. It took all afternoon to warm the area so we sat most of the afternoon with jackets on.

* there was another small oil heater in the other bedroom so we used both to warm up the place and it took few hours (with both of them turned on) before it was warm enough to take jackets off. It was only 5 degrees outside when we arrived in the early afternoon! We wondered how would this heaters warm the place in the middle of winter when the temperatures are well below zero?!

* the cottage was freezing cold when we arrived! We found windows opened in the kitchen, bathroom and spare bedroom. You would think that in such cold and wet weather you'll get a cosy warm cottage waiting for you - it would be nice if somebody would go that extra "mile" and turn the heaters on knowing that the guests will arrive any minute...

* we found ants crawling on window frames and also on kitchen benches. We didn't think you would see them in such cold weather but there they were so we have to remove all the food from the benches and put it somewhere safe. I wonder how it would be in the middle of summer when the weather is nice and warm which attract ants, as we know?? Some pest control would probably be helpful!

* Internet had a very poor reception and it was completely gone the second day. You can use hotels internet but it's expensive, it's $3 for 15 min or $10 per hour. I think it should be complimentary as the accommodation is not cheap either ($220 per night).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice place. Stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. There is a BBQ pit in the patio. You can also cook inside with the electric stove. TV is good size. Cutleries plenty. Beds are clean. Bathroom felt clean. Rather modern looking. Very pleased with this place. Bad point: no wifi at our unit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom cottage (#18, one of the older style) for two nights over New Year's. Queen in one bedroom, then a cosy, but well-laid out living/lounge/kitchen area, then two single beds for the kids in the second bedroom. Bathroom (basin/shower/toilet) is off the main entry. Very impressed with the cottage, well-equipped kitchen, clean rooms & linen, good electric induction heating (needed as it was cold, and for drying out wet gear after bushwalking). Lots of wildlife around. Copious amounts of hot water which was also necessary to get the mud off!

There's a new (open 2 weeks) restaurant next to reception which serves nice, though a bit expensive ($30 mains, $17 kids meals) good-pub style food. We had two very good steaks, kids had a spaghetti and chicken/chips. Great service and a very nice meal after a day of walking. Spectacular views to Cradle Mountain from reception.

The complex is opposite the national park visitors centre so very well located. We're very glad we stayed here rather than the more expensive Pepper's resort - we'll certainly be back for more exploration. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing