We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly & helpful. The cottage is spacious, nice and clean. Having breakfast at the balcony gave us the "the wilderness experience" with birds and wallabies visits. Highly recommended for family with children as the kitchen & living area were kind of separated from the bedrooms and adults were able to stay up late but yet not disturbing the kids asleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayswan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    319
    62
    15
    7
See reviews for
183
405
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christmas Island, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Surprise birthday weekend for partners birthday.
Couldn't be happier with the service and accommodation we received at Wilderness Village.

Our cabin was lovely and very private! Romantic Spa bath was super!
Snow and visiting critters added to the magical experience.

Staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Close to all the great walks and activities at Cradle Mountain.

Defiantly bring food supplies with you, as limited availability locally.

Highly recommend Wilderness Village!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Pink_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked 2 nights and had numerous furry visitors to our cabin every day & night. It was such a treat for all of us ranging from age 8 to 88!

The beds were clean & comfortable and the living area was spacious.

The staff were friendly, welcoming & helpful.

We had a wonderful stay and wished we could pack the cabin in our bags for the rest of our stay in Tasmania.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the reception have more viewings of animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franz_bbsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervey bay
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The only accommodation available when we booked was the studio cottage (booked a couple of months earlier so shows how popular the accommodation is). Very comfortable cottage, quite private. We thought the layout of the village was excellent as it preserved "the wilderness feel". Cooking facilities more than adequate, comfortable bed, good shower and a little balcony where we could feed our nocturnal visitors fruit. We had brought along our food with us but the Village have apparently established a restaurant now. We are not bush walkers but enjoyed the shorter walks and back to the cottage to relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked a spa cottage at the village. It was a fantastic experience having a spa tub in the middle of the room.

The only problem is food. If you are heading up to the mountains. prepare some food along your way up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Doobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is the ultimate place to get away from it all. We booked into one of the spa cottages and we were not disappointed, cottage had lovely living / dining / kitchen area seperated from bedroom by spa bath which overlooked the bush and was in a totally private setting. Very clean and had all facilities we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only advice I would give to people is make sure you buy groceries before you arrive as there is no shops (nearby shop at neighbouring camp site is very expensive and limited) also there is nowhere to buy anything within 50 km after 6pm. Also if you are travelling from Hobart travel via Lauceston not via queenstown as this route may be more scenic but it takes forever. We didn't use the restaurant but we used the bar which was nice and staff friendly, although it does shut early so if you are looking for nightlife it is probably not for you. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a studio cabin. It was very roomy, the cooking facilities were good and we were very cosy and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the little balcony and looking at the birds and other wildlife. The accommodation is quite close to the national park visitor centre from where you can get the shuttle bus. It was lovely to return to our cabin after a long day's hiking and enjoy further peace and quiet. The staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing