We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely overnight stay in a one bedroom cabin. Warm and inviting on entry. Comfy bed and peaceful surroundings. What a beautiful spot to rest for a night or two. Quick check in and smooth booking. Wished we'd booked for another night here. Kitchen had everything we needed and the visiting pademelons frequented our front door late at night and early morning. A definite treat to stay here if you're on a budget.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 836 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Arriving late afternoon after a long drive, we had a quick check in at the warm reception hall. It is total privacy after that, searching for your own cabin amidst the wild woods and gum trees. The 2 bedroom cabin was so warm and inviting, the cooking tools just right for our good dinner. The living area was comfortable and the rooms so conducive to good sleep. But of course we had to try the bath tub and soaked for a few hours, so soothing and nice. The rustling leaves and the patter of rain lulled me to splendid sleep. In the morning I opened the balcony but everything was so wet and there was no animal in sight. The smell of the earth and the trees was so intoxicating. Lovely stay, so remote and yes, worth going back to again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Accommoadation is made up of self contained cabins with very good facilities. We stayed in a Spa Chalet with full cooking facilities, wood (gas simulated) fire place, big comfortable bed and a great view of the bush around us. There was also an "honesty" bottle/snack facility located at the reception cabin ... after hours you could access a bottle of wine ( at a reasonable price), write down your name/cabin .... and have it added to the bill when you leave. Not sure of the other cabins but would recommend the Spa Chalet to anyone and will definetly be going back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such a great cottage amongst the gorgeous trees! Well laid out with a great kids playground & plenty of space for walks to find wildlife. Nice guest lounge too. Really comfortable cabin that was super clean and had all that we needed. Nice friendly service too. We'll be staying here again when we visit next!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeaky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent location, only 3 mins to the park entrance.
The rooms were beautiful, modern design in a natural bush setting. We even had a friendly possum that kept visiting our balcony.
Staff were very helpful.
Cradle mountain is a world heritage area and is one of the most beautiful national parks I have ever seen.
Tourism is supported yet they still protect the environment through clever design of walkways.
This accommodation is Great value for money. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked for about AUD180 for one night through a travel website and got upgraded to a spa cabin with a king bed and an in-room jacuzzi which faces the great outdoors (via a window). Full kitchenette with dishwasher and a gas log fire warmed lounge too, quoting the previous reviewer. Entire cabin is very well appointed. When they say their heating is very efficient, they really mean it, it was really quite toasty after a while, especially with bed heating as well. Instructions for late check-in were very precise too. Reception and guest lounge are excellent too. Really deserves a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kier02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Peaceful, modern and luxurious - we were lucky to stay in one of the newer cabins which contained a king bed, double spa with independent heating, full kitchenette with d/w and gas log-fire warmed lounge with large tv and surround sound system. Excellent bathroom with large shower, great hot-water and heated towel rack. Deck couldn't be used due to the weather, but looked nice, and you enter via a separate room to store all your muddy, wet clothing. Very well thought-out.

Private (although cabin 39 next door would have even been moreso!) and therefore romantic. We would highly recommend this accommodation for couples looking for a romantic getaway in the lovely Tasmanian wilderness.

Room Tip: Ask for "Premium" rooms - we stayed in 38.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatdBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
484 reviews
39.3 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
390 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $149 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing