We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and wonderful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a premium cottage which had been recently built and it was well worth the extra cost. The aspect was gorgeous and very private, the in-room spa a special indulgence and the room itself beautiful and well appointed. The village is close to everything and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TegStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 793 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose the Wilderness Village as it was a self catering (we were on a budget) we decided as it was an anniversary trip to Tassie to upgrade (and on advice from reviews on trip advisor) we chose the Spa Cottege. We got #31 which was alittle way from the reception however it meant that we were not bothered by others/guests etc which was lovely.
The spa cottege was fantastic, it had everything you needed to self cater (cooking etc). It was in very good condition (very clean) The furnishings (sheets, furniture, towels etc) were the best we had seen in Tassie. Very good quality.

The spa (in the middle of your cottege) is hidden by a circular wall. I found it beautiful to be sharing a glass of wine in the spa looking over the tassie forest. Magical.
The gas fireplace and heater kept the room really warm.
We had 3 nights here and I wish we could have stayed longer.

They service your room every two days but you can ask for every day if you need new towels/sheets/soap etc. They state they do this so you are left in private. We didn't have a problem with this, and when we ran out of coffee/teabags we simply popped up to reception and they were quick to replace.
The girl on reception was so fantastic, a credit to the place. Very warm and welcoming.

This place is very close to the Cradle Moutain Visitor Centre and you can catch the shuttle to Cradle Mountain. We had a hire car so didn't use these services, but I recommend them to others.

Also the wildlife around the place is fantastic, we didn't see any wombats around our place however they can be seen in abundance just up the road at Peppers.
We did have a visit from a possum and her baby. Delightful

I would love to come back in Winter to see this delightful place

Room Tip: If possible choose a room that is furthe away from reception. It will mean that there are no cars dr...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dragonflycairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The accomadation was extremely comfortable. Very homely. Loved the honesty system with the bar. Staff wonderfull. Want to be back there again now. Possums visit for a feast of fruit only and are extremely friendly. Rates are reasonable. 2 mins from visitor centre. We would'nt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We hired a car in Devonport, after our flight from Melbourne and drove to Cradle Mountain the next day.
We spent 3 days at the Wilderness Village, in a 2 bedroom chalet, with good heating, large bathroom, small kitchen, lounge and balcony.
The place is very enjoyable, with views of the nearby mountains, tall eucalyptus trees, bushland and many wallabies and birds. The grounds are quite vast, so you can wonder around and observe the wildlife. It’s also a close drive to the walks, Devils Park and the few restaurants.
The weather was good most of the time, as Spring seems to be quite unpredictable and on our last day we had quite a bit of snow, with the temperature dropping to 1C.
There’s no restaurant here, so we visited the ones at the Lodge or the Chateau. They do have breakfast baskets available, if your order the night before, at $12 a person. Grocery shops are practically inexistent, and the one at the caravan park is exorbitant, as they have no competition.
There’s a coffee shop, with a very limited amount of choices on the main road, next to the Visitor’s Centre.
You can shop in Sheffield, on the way to the Mountains, which is pretty much the last stop to buy groceries at a reasonable price at the local IGA.
Internet is expensive at $10/hour and only available at the business centre.
Optus mobile network has no signal here, so be prepared to really have a holiday!
The rooms were comfortable, with wall heating in each room, plus electric blankets. The dust on bedside tables was a bit of a surprise.
Tea towels in the kitchen were clean, but looked dirty due to stains and the china was chipped.
Overall, we had a fantastic time, as we wanted to experience something different.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with my husband on our honeymoon and it was lovely. We had a cabin facing the bushes. It was quiet and romantic. The people working there were very helpful and even spoiled us because it was our honeymoon. Lovely get away for people looking for some solitude. There were also some nice restaurants around though, Cradle mountain is a quiet area so don't be expecting to do a lot other than walking around some beautiful mountains and seeing a lot of australian wild life.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at C M Wilderness Village in September with our family of 5. What a magical place. Our accomodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Heaters galore and cosy beds. We even had a little pademelon with baby in pouch take shelter from the rain under a tree outside our villa. Spectacular storm that night with amazing lightening and thunder rumbling though the mountains, made me feel sorry for the poor hikers that were on the Overlanders Track. Thankyou for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent a night in the very comfortable cabins on offer at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, with the family in September. The facilities were all well presented and clean, with space for all. Set in a lovely bushland setting amongst the very friendly wildlife. A great spot for the kids to run around and breathe in the fresh air. Highly reccomend this property, nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyAustralia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $147 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing