We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed one night and were really glad of the electric blanket, because it was cold. The cabin was very clean, well equipped and attractive. We saw a pademelon and wallaby from our verandah. Wifi is available from the central lounge area for a small fee, but only before 6pm when reception closes. We did find the accommodation to be the most expensive we had in Tasmania, but it is supply and demand and the season we were there no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chirosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    335
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
193
428
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in a cabin which was really warm because the heaters were very efficient. There were two bedrooms, a lounge/kitchen and a large shower room. There were electric blankets on the beds. We saw an echidna by the driveway. The cabin was amongst the trees and although it was next to another cabin, it seemed secluded.. The cabin was good value for money. There was a residents' lounge where there was internet access etc but we did not use it. The people on reception were very helpful re advice on walks etc. We ate out while we were there, so just used the kitchen for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice little quaint cottages which are perfect for a weekend for two. Close to Cradle Mountain so you have easy access to some amazing scenery. A wee bit noisy with kids next door but worth the adventure in a snowing environment.

Be prepared with your own food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The cabins were well located with individual privacy kept in mind with their design. Having nature on your doorstep is great. Saw a wombat at the end of the driveway and heard the Bobook owls at night. Rooms are adequate and clean. Nothing exceptinal but reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is exactly what we wanted -Self-contained, 2 bedroom apartment. And there was the added wow factor of native fauna at the door step.

We planned our meals ahead and bought appropriate food for such in Launceston. As far as we could see there is no proper food shop in Cradle Mt. Yes there is a shop but it sells touristy souvenirs.

The water is brown because of the natural tannins that flow down the mountain side. The water is definitely potable (drinkable).

The chalet had heating, electric blankets, TV, fridge, microwave oven, 2 stove rings, but no normal oven. Crockery based on 4 people in the chalet, but no extra crockery for food preparation or storage. 2 saucepans, steamer and 1 frypan.

The Chalet is located 150 metres from visitors' centre which had free shuttle buses into the park. Perfect location and facilities after a long walk in the park.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilc2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

From the time that we booked as a group (of 42), we were treated well.
When we tried to also book in a last-minute couple, the place was booked out, but, upon arrival, that pair were given an "emergency room" at no cost (instead of having to go 6-share, with friends, in a 4-bedded room). Much appreciated.!!

Excellent set-up --- the only negative being that a coach group had to wheel their luggage some distance, since the coach turning-bay was at the entrance to the chalets.

Well-appointed cosy rooms, and a community room with views of Cradle Mountain. Also an honour system for any drinks taken! No meals there, but well-appointed kitchens.

A reasonable walk to the Info Centre & shuttle bus to Lake Dove etc.

An excellent place for couples, families in cars, and groups, keeping in mind the parking restrictions mentioned above for coaches

Room Tip: Speak to them about the various options before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in a spa cottage for 2 nights in January. The cottages are fully self contained and are situated so that even when you sit out on the balcony, you can see other cottages but not the other balconies, very clever as this gives you so much more privacy!
The bed is very comfy (w electric blanket!), underneath a large window that looks out over bush land. We spotted a few wallabies around our cabin!
In the middle of the cabin is the spa bath, very large, looks out of a side window again over bush land, no other cottages in sight so no need to shut the drapes while bathing! At the other end of the cottage is a sitting area, little sofa and 1 comfy chair in front of a gas fire, a small 2-person dining table and a kitchen area. A separate bath room has a shower and toilet and lovely heat lamps! (A word on the water: it is a bit brown, like others have mentioned but it is safe to drink. And while bathing, just pretend you're sitting in tea-water!)
The cottage was incredibly clean (v important to us!) and super comfortable! This was most certainly not our last visit to the Wilderness Village! The staff was very friendly too!
It is only a 5 minute walk to the Park's visitor's centre, so very central.

Room Tip: We had a spa cottage, it was a bit more but from what I could see, very well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
39.2 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
412 reviews
41.4 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Property: Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Address: 3816 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing