We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the King Billy Suite for our 20th Wedding Anniversary in July. The cabin was very comfortable and luxurious. We loved the outdoor spa in the light snow. The restaurant and bar cellar was fantastic- although we would have liked a broader menu. The tavern also provided wonderful meals. The environment was outstanding- animals ,wildernesss and the colour s were amazing. You can walk to the National parks but a car is advisable as it is 7kms before starting some walks. The walks were spectacular .A must is the Marion's Lookout- start in the morning on a clear day. The service at the lodge was excellent. Whilst we did not have time to do any tours organised from voyagers- there is plenty to keep you occupied.Wet weather gear is essential in case you have snow- get out and enjoy the environment. Even temperatures of 2 degress did not feel like this in our wet weather gear. I will return.Simply magical.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank AlynNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,382 - 2,388 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge for five nights. We flew into Devonport airport and was met by Steve who drove us through the mountains to the lodge (about an hour and a half). The road is very twisty and hilly so if you suffer from travel sickness be prepared! Steve pointed out all the sights along the way and stopped at a lookout area to show us some spectacular views.

We arrived at the lodge just on dark, checking in was very easy and Steve drove us right to our door step. We stayed in a Spa Suite room (54). The room was private and very comfortable and although we were a fair walk from the main Lodge we enjoyed being a little more isolated. The fireplace was already stacked up and ready to be lit, and there were canapes in the fridge for us to snack on while we got ourselves comfortable. Each day a new set of treats were bought to our room which was fantastic. Cheese plates, chocolates and strawberries etc.. a lovely touch. My favourite part of the room service though is the turn down service. We came back from dinner at the Highland each night to find our fire burning, the lights dimmed, music playing and scented oil burning and our bed turned down.. so welcoming and romantic!

The lodge itself is lovely as well, warm fires in every room and big leather lounge chairs to lounge around in. Dinner at the HIghland was just fantastic! We ate there every night and enjoyed every meal, very impressive. Be sure to check out the desserts! Delicious! We did not visit the wine cellar in the restaurant but we heard great things about it from other travellers. The service at the restaurant was really great and meals arrived very quickly each night which was a nice surprise.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and the buffet is very good. Healthy options as well as the usual eggs and bacon etc. Lots of fruit and a delicious warm porridge which is just delicious on a cold morning!

Food at the Tavern isn't fantastic but is quite good for a pub style meal. They have a pool table and a roaring fire, and - as with every where in the lodge - fantastic views!

We only did one spa treatment, which was wonderfully relaxing. We did the Mountain Mystique package with is a one hour massage (for two) and a soak in one of the private baths overlooking the wilderness. It was well worth the money spent and I would recommend it highly. Especially the bath which is infused with lovely scents, I suggest a late afternoon booking so you can watch the sun set over the trees.

The lodge itself has some lovely walks on the grounds so you can really see the area without having to go far at all. Walks on the grounds range from 20mins to 1.5 hours and are relatively easy and relaxing. Some fantastic views and well worth it. For the more adventurous the National Park is only a few minutes walk down the road (the lodge is the closest of accommodations to the entrance of the park which was a nice surprise). Entrance on foot is $10 per person. We wanted to the the Overland Walk but unfortunately time got away from us! We can't wait to go back!

We saw plenty of wildlife on our stay. Wallabies, wombats, echidnas. At one stage a wallaby came right up onto our verandah and sat with us! Lovely!

The only negative thing was the rain! The staff especially were friendly and approachable and helpful.. Overall we had a really wonderful time.. so much so that we are planning on having a voyages wedding now!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Stayed here for an Anniversary as had heard from past travellers that it was a quiet romantic place. Booked directly through Voyages hotels as had stayed at another of their resorts and got a special offer. About $900 for a 3 night stay in a cabin with fire. A lovely stay. Rooms are nice and clean, parts feel a little dated but overall it is a good standard.

Our room had a little balcony which was nice although it looked a little over neighbouring unit, however from inside the cabin it was very private just overlooking bush. The fire was lovely. The main lodge with restaurant was quite a walk away in very cold weather but we liked this.

Their was a spa in our room but it didn't look very appealing so wasn't used. Slate tiles in bathroom were like ICE to walk on -I think heated bathroom floors would make a big difference! The canapes delivered to the room daily weren't really very impressive.

The cheapest lodge rooms overlooked the main lodge but looked newer than other rooms. Would have loved the king billy suite but to many $$$. We really liked the atmosphere and beautiful location.

No TV or Phone reception. A great get away from it all place. Lots of wildlife (wallabies, wombats). We would stay again, but not for full advertised price!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank higherexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
514
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed here for 2 night in a Pencil Pine suite, everything was wonderful, the room, the views, being so close to the park, wildlife and waking up to a frost cover 1cm think over everything. We would highly recommend this place to anybody who is thinking of visiting the area. A big bonus for us was being so close to Cradle Mountain Park entrance, having walks so close by and short drive to Dove Lake with Cradle Mt in the background......Absolutely Wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

ARRIVAL
After just under 400km in the car it took us about 4.5 hours to drive from Hobart. We used the Midlands Highway and made a stop at Campbell Town to break up the journey. On arriving at Cradle Mountain Lodge it was easy to find the reception building (which is also the main one) and park out the front. The website for Cradle Mountain Lodge had good details on how to arrive from other cities and also coach and their own transfer service.

RECEPTION
We arrived about 1 hour before the check in time of 1400. We checked with reception if it was possible to have access to the cabin and after checking it was. There was a surcharge for using a credit card to settle the account. Everything was itemised and in order on the checkout.

CABIN
We stayed in a King Billy Suite. Everything has been thought of & nothing forgotten. We could park the car outside the door and didn’t have to use it for our time at the lodge. On entering the King Billy Suite there was a double door air-lock where wet shoes and coats could be left. Umbrellas were provided and sitting in the stand. On entering the suite there was a kitchenette area, with a mini fridge, sink, glasses, kettle, selection of instant & plunger coffee, plunger, selection of teas and plates with cutlery. And not to forget the biscuits! Walking into the room was a big four seater couch and an arm chair, large over sized floor cushions and a coffee table. This open plan design added to the ambience of the suite. The double-sided fireplace is the feature of this room and the neatly chopped supply of wood is stacked in a storage area next to the fire. Outside the suite is an additional supply for firewood and the storage inside the suite is re-stocked when it is cleaned each day. There was a king sized bed, bedside tables & lamps, arm chair and foot stool positioned by the floor to ceiling glass window. There was an oversized bathroom with double basins, plenty of towels, bathrobes, walk in wardrobe area, ironing board, iron and ample supply of hanging space and storage. This area then leads in the other part of the bathroom with interior spa bath, wc and double shower. There is the outdoor large deck that has the hot tub that is kept covered when not in use to maintain the temperature & also to prevent the animals. There are two hooks outside for the bathrobes and a light. Two outside chairs also are on the deck which is private views of the wilderness. Inside the cabin Tasmania timber is featured throughout. There is a cd Bose stereo in the room and three cds were supplied for use during the stay that were lovely to listen to. Staying in this type of room also had a reservation in the Highland Restaurant each night for 1900. If a change of time or cancellation of this is required it was easy to just see the staff. This is the same restaurant where the complimentary buffet breakfast was served. During the evening when we were at the restaurant the staff did a turndown service and left canapés that changed each evening. There was also a complimentary bottle of port to enjoy a glass or two each night. You almost want bad weather during your stay so you don’t have to leave the cabin! From the cabin to the main lodge there were good direction signs and boardwalk paths.

FACILITIES
Two restaurants (Highland & Tavern Bistro), two bar/lounge areas (Weindorfer & Guest Lounge Bar). Under the Highland restaurant is a wine cellar where guests can select a bottle of wine to enjoy with the meal. There was the option to be involved in daily activities (some at a charge). The lovely spa facility (Waldheim Alpine Spa) located just behind the main reception building. There is a basic shop that sells snacks, souvenirs and some basic groceries. In the Tavern Bistro there was a pool table with a cost involved.

AREA
A list of short and long walks is available from Cradle Mountain Lodge, their website prior to arrival, and the National Parks Office just 100m from the hotel entrance. This is also where the parks pass can be purchased for cars to be taken down to the lower car park to Dove Lake. There is the option that is encouraged to park the car at the National Parks Office and take the shuttle down to the lake. There is a fuel station a few kilometres from the lodge that is passed on the way in. It is worth a visit to Waldheim Chalet, it is a great insight to the history of the area and a short walk in the King Billy Pines was enjoyed that took about 20 minutes.

BOOKING
We booked our stay direct with Cradle Mountain Lodge. Emails were sent to us as promised in an efficient time frame and our reservation was in order on arrival.

We would definitely stay here again if we have the fortune to return!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank WonderSuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Stayed for two nights 16/ 17 July. Basic Pencil Pine cabin but found it clean and classy. Wonderful view into the bush from big windows. Breakfast was first class with great choice and the quality was very good for a buffet. The guest lounges were very comfortable although a bit weird in that the "private" guest lounge was too small given the size of the resort. We didn't use the spa but it looked excellent and other guests raved. The bistro provides good but not outstanding meals at a reasonable price. The activities director, Steve, was a gem and helped us to do some walks even though it was snowing heavily for much of our visit. Would stay there again though there are cheaper options in the area. Location, feel and service would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colnagoct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in one of the King Billy Suites. There was a delay on check in and the staff were brilliant in sorting us out - we even got a glass of champagne in the bar while they did. We had a couple of treatments at the spa which has incredible views - I recommend the 'Bath for Two' very highly as one of the most relaxing things you can do. We spotted some great wildlife on the spotlight tour and the meals we had in the restaurant were exceptional. You can choose your own wine from the cellar and they serve it to you - great fun. Overall a stunning place to stay in an incredible part of the world. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParkBenchUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,057 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
755 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
470 reviews
38.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $199 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing