We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$177
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cradle Mountain Hotel(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$169
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$173
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake St Clair Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$132
$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake St. Clair Tourist Park(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$178
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pumphouse Point(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,704)
Filter reviews
2,704 results
Traveler rating
1,134
937
402
151
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,134
937
402
151
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspencil pine cabinking billy suitehighland restaurantcradle mountain lodgespa suitewine and cheese tastingnational parkcomplimentary portdove lakewaldheim spatavern foodturn down servicegas fireenchanted walkmain restaurantbuffet breakfastfine dining
Filter
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 2,704 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2016

We stayed here recently and had an extremely disappointing stay. The rooms were ok, nothing to write home about, and cleanliness not what you would expect for a property that rates itself so highly. Food was disappointing to say the least. Service was simply ordinary - not sure who hires and trains the service staff but they should take a good hard look at themselves as they aren't doing well. The property promotes how they are at one with the wilderness but seeing a dog living at the property was simply not acceptable to us. If they priced themselves and promoted themselves as a 3 star property we would have rated this as possibly passable.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank AdelDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear AdelDK,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your valuable feedback.

It is surprising to us that you have had an unpleasant experience here at the lodge after no mention of this during your stay. Whilst we have received your feedback outlining the many ways in which we can improve our services here at the lodge. We can’t help but think you have been misled and actually seen a Thylacine, commonly known as the “Tasmanian tiger" .
There are no dogs or pets allowed anywhere near the national park as this is protected land governed by the Parks and wildlife, part of the Tasmanian and Australian governments.

Regards,

Jason Cooley (GM) & Daniel Badewitz (Guest Services Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

I have stayed at this place twice now. Both times it was raining and considering it was rather chilly outside, not much was done on the mountain besides hang out in the cabin and the restaurant. I did pay extra for the spa suite, which includes a wood burning fireplace which is really AWESOME. The management even left us a bottle of wine welcoming us back, that and the port in the room is refilled daily and is part of the tariff. I find the cabin extremely relaxing as there is no television. Why bother watching Sunrise in the morning when the wallabies and wombats hang out on your deck.

The restaurant is what you would expect to find at the resort. Tassie produce is used when they have it but nothing that was eaten was mind-blowing. It is what you expect at a hotel, that and the service being quite transient really don't have the concept that some diners may actually go in and want to talk and drink and have a relaxing evening instead of hounding you to take an order and push the food out and recycle the table quickly. That is my only gripe with the place. I didn't bother with the free breakfast as it is just a buffet and instead opted to just drive to Strahan (which is an awesome drive especially in the rain from Cradle Mountain)

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get a cabin with a wood burning fireplace
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2016

Dear crake82,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences here at Cradle Mountain. It is great to hear that your getaway the second time around has been just as pleasurable as the first time you visited us.

We are delighted to hear that this time you chose the spa cabin and you were pleasantly surprised with the extra guest amenities as well as the real wood fireplace. There is something fantastic about relaxing and unwinding by the fireplace without any distractions apart from the wildlife channel outside!

It is pleasing to read that you found the food was of good quality as it was all locally made Tasmanian produce. We are actually about the get a lot of new equipment and a whole new kitchen pass installed in the kitchen which will transform the menu into something special. This is something Karl and the kitchen brigade have been working on for some time now and cant wait to get on with it. We hope to welcome you back when this is completed so you can see first hand the increases in food quality and presentation.

Please accept our apologies that you felt rushed during your dinner in the restaurant. By no means did we want to hurry you and get the next guests in, that's not how we operate. I will follow up with the manager and ensure we are allowing guests to go at their own pace.

Appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,

Jason Cooley (GM) & Daniel Badewitz (Guest Services Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Booked in for a 3 day long weekend break and must say best place I have stayed in a long time
We rang in saying we are running late and the lady on the other end was so helpful advised us what to do when arriving after reception was closed and warned us of the wife life that could be on the road and the road conditions.
Staff at this lodge must have taken a course that actually works as they are all friendly helpful and smiling could not do enough for you. A special thanks to Rodney who look after us when our cabin power failed and came over in the pouring rain and windy conditions. Before he had even found out what the problem was he arrived with a plan.
Our heater was throwing out the safety switch could not fix
So gave a solution there and then
Upgraded us to a family cabin with a free bottle of wine and some nice port for the inconvenience of moving.
I cannot fault our stay here at all
1. Great staff
2. Great location
3. 1st class eating
To owners of peppers you must congratulate your staff and hold onto them as they are world class and keep up what you aware doing as you have got it right don't change it
Thanks for the great stay and we will back in the further
Tony and Kay Poor

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Tony and Kay,

All of us here at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge are extremely appreciative of your fantastic comments following your recent stay with us. We are so glad that after the issue with the power to your cabin that this did not impact at all on your overall experience.

The most pleasing aspect of this review from our perspective is that after a few matters of concern you still had an enjoyable stay. Having said this, please let me apologise for the inconvenience of having power issues with your cabin. We realise that this was not ideal and we are very happy that we were able to move you to somewhere you were comfortable with the guidance of our great porter Rodney. It is wonderful that our staff were able to help and go above and beyond where necessary. We would like to thank you for being so patient and understanding while a solution was being made.
Rodney and the team have a lot of passion for customer service and providing guests with special and memorable stay in which I believe you received in the end. We surely have a great team that do a fantastic job day in, day out and are very lucky to have them.
Your great feedback has been shown to all of our staff and they are very appreciative of your comments.

Thanks again Tony and Kay and we look forward to you visiting again in the future!

Stay Well.

Jason Cooley (GM) & Daniel Badewitz (Guest Services Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful resort. The cabins were cost- no tv in our which was great as it forced us to be outdoors. The restaurant fur breakie was great . We had dinner at the bistro in front of a log fire- it was amazing ! We had an awesome pasta that was delicious & huge servings! The wine selection is huge . This is a great place to stay that's right in the national park with lots to do and easily accessible .

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Claudia O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our resort facilities and found this experience allowed you to further connect with nature and the "sublime" outdoor conditions you experienced here at Cradle Mountain.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the open fires in the lounge area and were able to enjoy a nice glass of premium Tasmanian wine with some good company.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best.

Jason Cooley (GM) & Daniel Badewitz (Guest Services Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

The cabins are really lovely, the photos online don't do them justice. A bottle of red is available in the room at a 120% mark up. Not great given the isolation of the resort. Log fire is beautiful in the room, the room is so cosy, it's really special that they make the fire up for you the first time.
Ok, so the really bad part is the food. Even when the Highland Restaurant is only at 15% capacity you will be declined a table if you haven't booked. Your only other alternative is really dodgy pub style food at the tavern, like half done chips, overdone chicken burgers and sad salads. Look for the minute specials board hidden under the bar for something different, but don't worry - if like us you miss it, everything left over will be served at the breakfast buffet the next day... In our case the driest pork sausages you've ever had, despite sitting in a wet steaming bain marie.
You see the thing is a night at the resort is north of $300 there's really no excuse for soggy bacon, soggy French toast, baked beans with other food that's fallen in them and slop that used to be mushrooms or water filled scrambled eggs. Also you shouldn't have to ask or pay for a good coffee. I think this is so cheap.
If you want poached eggs, look for the little hidden sign I'm not going to spoil your fun trying to find it. In our case we found it as we were leaving, if only we entered the breakfast room backwards!!
Tasmania is so beautiful, but this whole penny pinching thing is just ridiculous, really need to lift your game Peppers.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Rhys W,

Firstly thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and will take everything you have mentioned on board. While we are glad that you found our cabins beautifully located and well appointed, it is disappointing that you found the food to be less than enjoyable.

The Highlands restaurant on average per night we aim to seat around 80-90 guests which is around half of our guests in house. This service period is spread from 6pm until 9pm depending on when guests that have booked/walk-ins want to dine for dinner. Early on in the evening while the restaurant may look empty, those tables have already been booked and allocated in which unfortunately we cannot give away. In the event that some guests may not turn up or cancel a booking, by all means we will take walk-ins and happily take extra guests for dinner. The reason the numbers are capped for dinner is to ensure we are maintaining a certain level of standard to our food and service which here at Peppers should be significantly higher given our reputation and branding for providing memorable experiences to all guests.
While we do apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to dine in the restaurant these measures are in place to ensure our quality is maintained and even escalated where possible. In saying this, we do at times turnover tables if the demand is there with precaution that the levels of food quality and consistency as well as the standard of service is retained.

Your descriptions of the Tavern food is very uncommon and we will certainly evaluate this area moving forward. Please accept our sincere apologies for the food that you did receive, all of which is not up to the standards Peppers is renowned for. I do hope that these issues were clarified with the tavern supervisor or a manager at some point during your stay as we would have been happy to re-cook or provide compensation.
We have plans to refurbish the tavern which will see the kitchen extended and a full pizza oven be implemented there which will bring a whole new dynamic to the menu.
Again, our apologies extend to your Breakfast experiences regarding the quality of food and coffee options. Unfortunately, at most hotels percolated coffee and tea are included in the buffet price however barista made coffees do usually incur an extra charge.

With all your comments taken into consideration we are adapting, changing and implementing new ways to add value for all of our guests and using guest feedback to ensure we are improving our guest services.

Kind regards,

Jason Cooley (GM) & Daniel Badewitz (Guest Services Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews