We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge, Cabins more than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been to Cradle many a time but this was the first time in a while and the first time since Peppers took over the lodge. The lodge itself offers great facilities for families by way of a games room, books, big comfy armchairs and coaches, open fires etc. All very lovely when watching the snow falling outside. The cabins have been refurbished relatively recently (or at least the Pencil Pine cabin we stayed in) and was warm and comfortable, nothing flash but more than adequate considering the amount of time you will be spending in them with so much to do, even if it is just relaxing in the Lodge during bad weather. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue on our arrival and I suspect that the beds had been changed and nothing else done as we had dirty windows, glasses bathroom and benchtops. This may have just been an unfortunate oversight as the cleaning the following day was faultless. The included buffet breakfast was excellent, one of the better we've enjoyed anywhere. Evening meals in the (cheaper option) tavern were not particularly good with the chef/cook deciding on his own variations on the menu without any explanation as to why - and they were not successful combinations, also particularly poor given the possibility of allergic reactions. Even the waitstaff (who were excellent) expressed their dissatisfaction as if it seemingly happens regularly. I'm sure the actual restaurant would have provided a far superior dining experience but with two kids, the tavern environment was far more suitable. This may seem like a harsh review but realistically the overall experience was great with just a couple of hiccups along the way, still gets four stars from me!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudTassieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

Please accept my apologies with regard to the housekeeping on arrival and the Tavern Chef. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper regarding your room and also the Executive Chef as we had a new chef on who has since be retrained.

Thank you for your pleasing comments regarding our facilities and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Once again we had a fantastic stay.....we come here just about every year and we find it the best place to get away from it all......if you like walking there are a multitude of walks close by, from easy to difficult. The lodge is great the rooms are all you need.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank appycampa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you find us the best place to get away from it all, this is an experience that we do try to provide so it is pleasing to receive the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Cradle mountain lodge this July holiday and were extremely lucky to experience snow on our last morning.
The place turned into a perfect winter wonderland and the memory will be with us forever.
The resort is made up of many wooden cabins. Ours was a spa suite family cabin. Made of one big room with king bed, small lounges, fireplace.No tv . Within this room is a very small bedroom with 2 single beds.The bathroom is huge and well fitted with a double shower, bath and so on.There is a small balcony looking onto a bushy area where pademelons gather..cute :)
We were very private as our cabin was freestanding and on its own.
Although the interior is far from luxurious and in need of good freshen up and some re-decorating, the place grew on us and felt homely quite quickly.
The bedding was very basic(hard mattress/ basic duna).This particular cabin would be perfect for a family with 2 young children. With teenagers, parents have a total lack of privacy.
The restaurant is lovely but tables need to be booked early ..like the day before !. But, there is also casual tavern serving lovely food.
Breakfast finishes at 10am and service is very prompt at having everything cleared out quickly. We personally think that for a Peppers resort this is a bit tough !! As there is no in room service, the breakfast hours could be extended a bit.
The staff was lovely and professionnal.
For us, the snow was what we had dreamt of and we got heaps of it, The whole place becomes what picture books are made of.

We took a tour to Cradle Mountain which was perfectly organised and informative(especially if you are interested in botanics !).
Couldn't try the spa as it was booked out.

Room Tip: Room 30 is freestanding. Good for a family of 3 or 4 with young children preferably. Not suitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pocahontasAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your tour, the Tavern, Highland Restaurant and that you managed to get snow on your last day. We have certainly had a lot of it lately!

You will have to return so you can try the Spa next time.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

i booked the King Billy suite with plans to propose to my partner while we were at the lodge. I thought that i would let staff know my plans before we got there and asked if they could replace the complimentary port with a bottle of champagne for the special occasion. instead of being excited for us and helping out all i got was an email with an amenities form attached so i could purchase something extra on top of the huge price i was already paying for 1 night! when i contacted the general manager Leigh Reid about this, he totally dismissed my proposal saying that they have around 50 proposals a year and 'IF' the proposal goes ahead and 'IF' its successful, then i should contact staff and they can oganise something. My now Fiancé and i went to the Grand Chancellor in Hobart for our 6 month anniversary, in a room that cost us $100 and even they gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling when we arrived. i really wish i had of cancelled the reservation and gone somewhere more hospitable for this sort of occasion! General Manager Leigh Reid should have a good hard look at himself and his customer service as you are way behind the times!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I would just like to clarify my response at that time which was, "Should the proposal go ahead and be successful please let either our Front Office Manager or Front Office Supervisor know and they will arrange".

To clarify this further we are happy to arrange additional amenities in a room prior to arrival at a charge, once we have been advised that a proposal has taken place and been accepted that is when we like to arrange something to celebrate the occassion to be sent to the room.

Congratulations on your engagement, our team were waiting on your advice during your stay however were not informed.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed recently as a family for 2 nights at the pencil pine room. Whilst it was confirmed that it was two rooms - it was in fact one separate room within one big room. As we have adults children - this did not provide any privacy and we wish we could have been told. It was also difficult to share one bathroom with 4 other people and we also wish we could have been told as we could booked two separate rooms.

As it was raining during our stay, we stayed in the room quite a bit and really did not find this lodge is accurately named as a luxury resort - location is great but rooms are very dated and we witnessed how they cleaned the room and was quite appalled by it. The bedhseets also had lots of stained which we found very disappointing if they charge as a luxury resort price.

Good thing was that the food was quite good. We were impressed with the the highland restaurant buffet breakfast and also the dinner.

Overall, it was highly overpriced and do not think we will return.

Room Tip: Although very expensive, I would recommend people to pay extra to room with private balcony as it se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tipsyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Please accept my apologies with regard to housekeeping and your room layout. I have passed your feedback on to our Executive Housekeeper. I am unable to tell how you have made your booking however for future reference all our room types have detailed listed on our property website.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding breakfast and dinner in Highland Restaurant.

I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is not so much a hotel as cabins next to each other. The cabins are spread, and the view from each cabin is nice into a wooded area (we did see some wildlife hoppin' around). Cabins are luxurious and very well heated.
Breakfast is good and the service of staff is very good. Free guided walks around the hotel

The locations is just perfect, just outside the entrance to the park.
Not cheap though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on your recent stay.

We are happy to hear you are impressed with the location, view, wildlife, breakfast and service from our fantastic team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The ideal location if you are planning to make the most of the stunning walks at Cradle Mountain and Cradle Valley. We stayed three nights, two in a one bedroom cabin that comfortably slept four and one in a two bedroom with a spa suite and wood fire. Breakfast is outstanding a can keep you going for a full day of walking. We had a well presented delicious meal in the restaurant, with excellent service from the wait staff, including some great wine advice, and enjoyed a tavern meal which was plentiful. OK value for money as we had a special, at full rates you might expect more recently renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast, meal in the Tavern and dinner in Highland Restaurant.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,017 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
734 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $178 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing