We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a pencil pine cabin for three nights. The room was comfortable and had the typical ammenaties. Note: no TV. Although the web site says that there are short to medium walks available outside of the national park, you really want to go into the park for the spectacular views. The lodge can organise guided walks inside the park for you, or go off on your own. Either way, you need a park pass to gain entry to the park. Pepper's is located just outside the park entrance, so perfectly located. The lodge is quite quiet, so it is easy to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyScale70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you found the properties location to your liking, we certainly believe it is the best around seeing as though our property borders the National Park.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in a contemporary spa cabin. The spa bath was great but the shower was covered in limescale and the bathroom vanity unit had seen better days. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The carpet however was worn and stained in places. The walls between each unit were quite thin and we could hear our neighbour strumming on his guitar and singing along badly. However the hotel is ideally located for the park and the grounds were great areas to find wallabies , wombats and watch the daily antics of the platypus in the lake who never ceased to fascinate. We are in the restaurant every night and the food was generally good but expensive. Breakfast was very good with a wide buffet choice available.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your room. If possible could you please email me on leigh.reid@peppers.com.au to let me know what cabin number you were staying in.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wildlife, the food in Highland Restaurant and breakfast.

Once again, thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to see you return to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We got there n felt very welcomed at the reception. Staffs are very knowledgeable, gave us a lot of informations on arrival.
Restaurant looked really nice, but it was too expensive for our budget.
We ended up with a Tavern for having our dinner and it was very satisfying.
Room was very nice, my husband was bit disappointed with the heater though. (He was quite keen for wood fire one but it was operated by gas)
Breakfast was beautiful, we ate A LOT! Staff service was quite attentive I found.
You should definitely go for walk on the Enchanted Walk track, we saw a lot of pedamelons and platypus swimming in Pencil Pine Creek.

We would love to come back sometime with our daughter.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank maminum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Our staff certainly do try and give a lot of information to our guests upon check in to enable our guests to get the most of their time with us as there is so much to do. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the Tavern and breakfast also.

When you return with your daughter if you are seeking a cabin with a wood fire ensure you book either a Spa Suite or a King Billy Suite as all these cabins have wood fires.

We look forward to your return.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I could only squeeze in one night and this fabulous lodge and we cant wait to go back for at least a few nights next time. Whilst the weather was not condusive to doing much outdoors, we still had a fabulous stay. Our cabin was quiet and peaceful, nicely appointed and very comfortable. This is going to sound bizarre however what surprised me the most was how pleasant the cabin smelt. Usually these types of places tend to have a stale / old smell to them however this was not the case at Peppers. We dined at the Highland restaurant and it was nothing short of amazing. Service was wonderful, selection of wine was great, food was delicious and desert is a must! We literally rolled out of there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Splurge a little and go for the Spa Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and thank you for your positive comments regarding the room. I have passed on to both our Kitchen and Food and Beverage teams your feedback concerning Highland Restaurant and how you thought it was amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Above says it all. For $322 pn (incl devils feeding tour) we were expecting a pretty nice room and amenities. The room was average and nothing special - definitely not living up to the price tag.
Staff were attentive and helpful, but no better than what you'd hope for.
Spa is ok but again over priced and they will try and sell you products/ask you if you'd like add-ons to an already inflated menu.
Tavern is probably the best element to the resort - good prices, food and atmosphere but it is accessible to all visitors to the mountain, so no reason to stay here.
Major peeve with this place was that you paid for anything you said "boo" at. Internet ($5.50 per HOUR), washing powder costs you, credit card surcharges, real coffee at bfast.
Our advice: stay somewhere else, visit the tavern and try and avoid being ripped off during your stay on the mountain.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank andrew_amber_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some of our pricing.

We appreciate your positive comments concerning our staff and Tavern.

I apologize that we were not able to meet your pricing expectations.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Cradle Mountain Lodge, having visited briefly before but never stayed. We loved Cradle Mountain and wished to return. Our accommodation was in a Pencil Pine cabin. The bed was very comfortable, with chairs and a small table at the foot in front of a gas fire, which was necessary at night, as our visit was in September. Bathroom facilities were most acceptable, and the only thing we might have wished for was a larger refrigerator, however, when visiting, the idea is that you eat at the Lodge. Our package included breakfast, and each morning we loved heading down to the Lodge for a full breakfast. Activities during the day can be as energetic or lazy as you like. We did small walks to begin with and gradually increased to longer. At night, it was wonderful to sit in front of the log fires with a glass of wine in either of the communal rooms at the lodge before going to dinner. We ate mostly in the bistro, which serves pretty typical pub meals, however one night we went to the a la carte restaurant - a bit too expensive and not what we enjoy anyway. We met and chatted to people from all over the world on our trip and the highlight was snow! It snowed on a number of occasions whilst we were there. A word of warning - conditions can get slippery in snow. Use the front stairs instead of the ramp at the front door if it's snowing. It's also good to remember that this is a location which is a distance away from doctors and hospitals. Staff are trained in first aide only. All in all, this is a very special location and Peppers catered very well to our needs whilst we were there. The staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawrycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and thought our staff were great. We are also glad to hear that you were able to experience snow during your stay. It can snow anytime of the year here but Winter is the highest chance to experience it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

3 night anniversary getaway in a spa suite was great. The character and atmosphere of the lodge is just right for the location and the tavern and restaurant compliment each other perfectly. In the short time we were there it was hard to choose between relaxing in the cabin and lodge and getting out into the beautiful scenery and many and varied walks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are certainly glad you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in the neat future.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,017 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
734 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $178 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing