We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Cradle Mountain Lodge, having visited briefly before but never stayed. We loved Cradle Mountain and wished to return. Our accommodation was in a Pencil Pine cabin. The bed was very comfortable, with chairs and a small table at the foot in front of a gas fire, which was necessary at night, as our visit was in September. Bathroom facilities were most acceptable, and the only thing we might have wished for was a larger refrigerator, however, when visiting, the idea is that you eat at the Lodge. Our package included breakfast, and each morning we loved heading down to the Lodge for a full breakfast. Activities during the day can be as energetic or lazy as you like. We did small walks to begin with and gradually increased to longer. At night, it was wonderful to sit in front of the log fires with a glass of wine in either of the communal rooms at the lodge before going to dinner. We ate mostly in the bistro, which serves pretty typical pub meals, however one night we went to the a la carte restaurant - a bit too expensive and not what we enjoy anyway. We met and chatted to people from all over the world on our trip and the highlight was snow! It snowed on a number of occasions whilst we were there. A word of warning - conditions can get slippery in snow. Use the front stairs instead of the ramp at the front door if it's snowing. It's also good to remember that this is a location which is a distance away from doctors and hospitals. Staff are trained in first aide only. All in all, this is a very special location and Peppers catered very well to our needs whilst we were there. The staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawrycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and thought our staff were great. We are also glad to hear that you were able to experience snow during your stay. It can snow anytime of the year here but Winter is the highest chance to experience it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

3 night anniversary getaway in a spa suite was great. The character and atmosphere of the lodge is just right for the location and the tavern and restaurant compliment each other perfectly. In the short time we were there it was hard to choose between relaxing in the cabin and lodge and getting out into the beautiful scenery and many and varied walks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are certainly glad you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in the neat future.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife surprised me for my birthday we got in on the Saturday long drive from davenport but well worth it(suggest you take a hire car)we found the facilities pretty good and basic but really down to earth and it's exactly what we were after,staff always friendly and helpful I found the massage was good but you could hear the conversation taking place t reception so it's wasn't as relaxing as it should of been but the therapist was good(firm is what I wanted and that's what I got)we love Tasmania for all it's beauty and fawna and we were pretty happy we stayed at this place

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 5 nights in a King Billy Suite to kick off our honeymoon around Tasmania. These rooms are magnificent, we loved the dual fireplace, the hot tub on the deck, and coming home each evening to canapes, great music (I even bought a copy of the CD) and bottomless port. We also had a complimentary bottle of sparkling on arrival. I've never felt more relaxed.

If you're not looking to splurge on the King Billy cabins, the rest of the lodge also looks lovely; the staff are helpful, the location is ideal - it is the closest accommodation to the national park (literally at the entrance) and you can walk to the ranger station a couple of hundred metres to catch the bus into Dove Lake. Driving your own car is discouraged and disallowed if it is too busy.

The only downside is there are no cheap meal options - the main restaurant is a set $60 for two courses and the tavern meals are still $20-$30. For this, you get a generous and delicious meal, but a lot of the time we just didn't want so much and ended up sharing. If you just want to grab a pie for lunch for example, the park visitor centre up the road is the only place to go.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vaughan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

What a way to start your honeymoon, 5 nights in a King Billy Suite! We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the room, our staffing and our location - we border the National Park so I think it can't be beaten.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly efficient staff. Great rooms and yes they might benefit from an upgrade but still spotless and have everything you need.
Felt very relaxed from the moment we stepped into the grounds.

We booked a couple of trips with Hannah Montanna who was a wealth of knowledge. Great canoe trip along with the sporlighting tour. Must say at no stage did we feel unsafe just very relaxed, fun and informative. ( hard to feel unsafe at 10km an hour)
Great way to enjoy the bush without losing out on your creature comforts. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allblacks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and very pleased to hear that you were able to relax, enjoyed our friendly staff and the spotlight tour with Hannah. I will pass on your feedback to her.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What an amazing property, surrounded by the raw beauty of the Australian wilderness. The cabins are secluded and so luxurious I was tempted to even stay in by the log fire. The CD of calming music and the essential oils burning were an amazing touch. Keep your eyes open when walking around the grounds, I spotted a few wallabies and a wombat. The staff were so amazing and happy to help.

Room Tip: Book a spa room, your muscles will thank you after a day hiking around the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWriterKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed yourself. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed relaxing in the room, the wilderness, the wildlife and the Spa.

You will have to stay for longer next time.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The service at the reception was impeccable, the girls were very knowledgable and explain absolutely everything so well, they were cheerful and welcoming also.
We stayed one night in a contemporary spa cabin, the room was great and was really well suited for the area it was in. The bathroom was also lovely although when using the shower it leaked all through the bathroom, and as the room was advertised as a spa room I was expecting a bigger and more comfortable spa.
We decided to have a casual dinner in the Tavern, it was a great night. We had a very large pub meal (reasonably well priced too) and a few ciders. They had a guy playing the guitar and singing until late, it was so relaxing.
The next day we just went on a short but very peaceful walk, plenty of wildlife and lovely fresh air!
I recommended the lodge to all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed the room and dinner in the Tavern. I will pass on your feedback to our Front Office team regarding their service, they will be very happy so thank you for your comments.

Every 2nd Wednesday in the Tavern we have Jeff Woodward playing in the Tavern with the times depending on the time of year. Jeff is also a Ranger in the National Park and at times you will find some of the local community also in the Tavern, it is certainly the local hangout.

As you aren't from far away you will have to return to see Jeff another night.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,040 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
743 reviews
38.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $175 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing