We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Cradle Mountain Hotel(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$180
$109
Cradle Mountain
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$119
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$118
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$118
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$95
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$192
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Waterfront(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$366
$228
The Henry Jones
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$113
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,600)
Filter reviews
2,600 results
Traveler rating
1,086
899
390
148
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,086
899
390
148
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspencil pine cabinking billy suitehighland restaurantcradle mountain lodgespa suitewine and cheese tastingnational parkcomplimentary portdove lakewaldheim spatavern foodturn down servicemain restaurantgas fireenchanted walkbuffet breakfastfine dining
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,652 - 1,657 of 2,600 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife surprised me for my birthday we got in on the Saturday long drive from davenport but well worth it(suggest you take a hire car)we found the facilities pretty good and basic but really down to earth and it's exactly what we were after,staff always friendly and helpful I found the massage was good but you could hear the conversation taking place t reception so it's wasn't as relaxing as it should of been but the therapist was good(firm is what I wanted and that's what I got)we love Tasmania for all it's beauty and fawna and we were pretty happy we stayed at this place

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 5 nights in a King Billy Suite to kick off our honeymoon around Tasmania. These rooms are magnificent, we loved the dual fireplace, the hot tub on the deck, and coming home each evening to canapes, great music (I even bought a copy of the CD) and bottomless port. We also had a complimentary bottle of sparkling on arrival. I've never felt more relaxed.

If you're not looking to splurge on the King Billy cabins, the rest of the lodge also looks lovely; the staff are helpful, the location is ideal - it is the closest accommodation to the national park (literally at the entrance) and you can walk to the ranger station a couple of hundred metres to catch the bus into Dove Lake. Driving your own car is discouraged and disallowed if it is too busy.

The only downside is there are no cheap meal options - the main restaurant is a set $60 for two courses and the tavern meals are still $20-$30. For this, you get a generous and delicious meal, but a lot of the time we just didn't want so much and ended up sharing. If you just want to grab a pie for lunch for example, the park visitor centre up the road is the only place to go.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vaughan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

What a way to start your honeymoon, 5 nights in a King Billy Suite! We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the room, our staffing and our location - we border the National Park so I think it can't be beaten.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly efficient staff. Great rooms and yes they might benefit from an upgrade but still spotless and have everything you need.
Felt very relaxed from the moment we stepped into the grounds.

We booked a couple of trips with Hannah Montanna who was a wealth of knowledge. Great canoe trip along with the sporlighting tour. Must say at no stage did we feel unsafe just very relaxed, fun and informative. ( hard to feel unsafe at 10km an hour)
Great way to enjoy the bush without losing out on your creature comforts. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allblacks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and very pleased to hear that you were able to relax, enjoyed our friendly staff and the spotlight tour with Hannah. I will pass on your feedback to her.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What an amazing property, surrounded by the raw beauty of the Australian wilderness. The cabins are secluded and so luxurious I was tempted to even stay in by the log fire. The CD of calming music and the essential oils burning were an amazing touch. Keep your eyes open when walking around the grounds, I spotted a few wallabies and a wombat. The staff were so amazing and happy to help.

Room Tip: Book a spa room, your muscles will thank you after a day hiking around the mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed yourself. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed relaxing in the room, the wilderness, the wildlife and the Spa.

You will have to stay for longer next time.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The service at the reception was impeccable, the girls were very knowledgable and explain absolutely everything so well, they were cheerful and welcoming also.
We stayed one night in a contemporary spa cabin, the room was great and was really well suited for the area it was in. The bathroom was also lovely although when using the shower it leaked all through the bathroom, and as the room was advertised as a spa room I was expecting a bigger and more comfortable spa.
We decided to have a casual dinner in the Tavern, it was a great night. We had a very large pub meal (reasonably well priced too) and a few ciders. They had a guy playing the guitar and singing until late, it was so relaxing.
The next day we just went on a short but very peaceful walk, plenty of wildlife and lovely fresh air!
I recommended the lodge to all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and that you enjoyed the room and dinner in the Tavern. I will pass on your feedback to our Front Office team regarding their service, they will be very happy so thank you for your comments.

Every 2nd Wednesday in the Tavern we have Jeff Woodward playing in the Tavern with the times depending on the time of year. Jeff is also a Ranger in the National Park and at times you will find some of the local community also in the Tavern, it is certainly the local hangout.

As you aren't from far away you will have to return to see Jeff another night.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews