We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome area, shame about the atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Awesome area, shame about the atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stay at cradle mt every year and really enjoy the lodge feel and connection it has with the area. Until this year. We were shocked with the changes Peppers has made. All the beautiful intimate areas are gone with the local Tasmanian wood replaced with cold sterile stainless steel. It's seems overcrowded with random out of place knick knacks everywhere and no more connection with the stunning outdoor environment. Having said that the staff and services were still wonderful. May check out a real wilderness option on the mountain next time

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassietravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of the recent refresh in the Lodge.

Pleased to hear that the staffing and services were wonderful as stated and we do hope you return for your next visit as our return guests are very important to us.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    740
    327
    119
    58
See reviews for
375
1,336
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having a cabin all to yourself with little to no distractions, noise or tv was a welcome chance to just unwind. Taking the nearby walks up to Cradle Mountain, the waterfalls nearby the friendly wildlife just made it a truly memorable experience.
The cabin itself was beautifully decorated, modern and pleasant with a gas fireplace on and keeping the room toasty on a reasonably cold and wet day. It's simple and enjoyable!
Food and drinks are reasonably priced for somewhere so far from the nearest major town/city and the food and atmosphere was good all around the lodge.
Thoroughly recommend it, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marko2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

You have certainly summed up some of the products and services that we strive to provide in the walks, the wildlife (although we can't take credit for this) and the chance to unwind.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Peppers in Cradle Mountain for our 10th wedding anniversary. Being a special occasion we chose the King Billy Suite. We arrived at Cradle Mountain earlier than we expected and were very pleased that we could go to our room early and unpack at around midday. We were very impressed with the size of the room, beautiful fireplace, huge bathroom, comfy bed and deck with hot tub. There was a wallaby looking in the back door just after we arrived and then we saw several more out of the front window. The setting was very private and natural which we loved. We had a small lunch in the bistro which we were very happy with and then set off for a hike around Dove Lake. The walk and scenery was just breathtaking, and a reasonably easy approx 2 hour hike. Later, lovely canapés were delivered to our room and we went for a couple of short walks close to the resort. The main lodge was lovely, homely and warm and we would have spent more time there if our room wasn't as inviting as it was! Later, dinner at the lodge was right up there with the best we have ever had and we really enjoyed choosing our bottle of wine from the expansive cellar. Service was also excellent. After a romantic dip in the hot tub with a visit from a possum on the deck (complete with baby on her back) and a lovely sleep in our cosy room we woke for an early morning walk and even saw a platypus swimming around the lake next to the resort. Our whole stay was just wonderful and next time we are coming back for a few days to do some more exploring!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback on your recent stay.

We are very pleased that you chose us to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary and glad that we were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. The King Billy Suites are certainly amazing rooms and we hope to welcome you back next year for your 11th anniversary.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My son and recentlyI spent three very enjoyable nights at Peppers. We had a family spa cabin which gave us each our privacy, but in reality there was enough space for a family of four to spread out and relax. The close proximity to such a wide range of wildlife was the highlight for the both of us. We had a pademelon mother with her baby in her pouch virtually on our doorstep each day and found the Enchanted Walk which starts at Peppers, to be the source of lots of other animal encounters including a wombat ambling along right in front of us. The location of Peppers is perfect for a variety of walks and is only a few minutes walk away from the shuttle bus to Lake Dove. The extensive buffet breakfast included not only the usual hot foods but also a variety of other things such as smoked salmon, European style meats, pancakes and berry filled jams. Ask for a table near the window and you will have to tear yourself away to go out and walk.

Room Tip: We had the family spa room 72. It was a great location and meant we could easily walk to breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad you found the properties location, which borders the National Park to your benefit and were able to experience the many animals located on the property. Also please to here that you enjoyed your breakfasts which should have set you up for an energetic day.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Great base for walks with several easy ones on the property. We stayed just one night and we were really happy with the contemporary spa cabin, especially the gas fire place. Even though it was raining we liked having the private balcony looking out into the park. We saw the pencil pine cabin and found it to be a little dark and the bathroom very small. Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Dinner at the tavern was good -had the scotch fillet which was cooked rare as requested.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tez0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the walks and dinner in the Tavern, although one night is definitely not long enough to see everything.

The Pencil Pine cabins are located in various parts of the property and different areas have different aspects, however our Spa Cabins, Spa Suites and King Billy Suites all have balconies so you can enjoy the natural setting that little bit extra.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely wood fire, spa cabin in the Tasmanian 'wilderness'. Well appointed cabins with a great feel, but unfortunately the chimney did not draw enough to keep the fire going.
Had a couple of dinners at the 'Highland restaurant' which were excellent.
Saw wild wombats, platypus and echidnas during our stay plus a visit to the Devil's rehabilitation centre completed the wildlife experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinners and the wildlife at the property which are two key elements in providing the experience we aim to provide.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Pepeprs Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed overnight at Peppers, we were greated by a lovely wombat that was very happy for us to take photos of him eating. Wendy was very helpful with our check-in, she explained everything beautifully. Our room had a lovely view and the gas wood fire heater was lovely, there was no tv and the bar fridge was too small for us to put our snacks and drinks in. The room was average, I don't think it was cleaned too well because there was a used towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door when I went in. The food was very expensive, as it is all over Tasmania, we ate in the tavern, it was OK, not great. Breakfast in the morning was included and was laid on, lots to choose from.We did the spotlight tour with Nathan, not the best tour ever and a bit expensive for what it is. We also did a trail walk in the morning which was great to get started, the track are all boardwalks, so no hiking shoes needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the issue you have raised regarding housekeeping leaving a towel in the room, I will address this with our Executive Housekeeper.

Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walks and our breakfasts.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing