We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just by the entrance to Cradle mountain park ,but also with several of its own walking trails. A fair amt of wildlife ergo. Wombats , wallabys, and echidnas. Very comfortable main lodge with a real ski lodge atmosphere- roaring fire etc. food is fair and as is expensive compared to the US. Australia is definitely expensive so bring money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steverA8718SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear SteveR, We always enjoy hosting international guests, thank you for including Cradle Mountain and the Lodge into your Tasmanian itinerary. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the opportunity to meet some of the 'locals' (our unique wildlife).

Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Firstly we had two pencil pine cottages one for two and one sleeping four. Our first impressions of the cabins were a bit of a let down, after paying what we did, we expected them to be more luxurious. They were comfortable and clean, but not luxurious. I found the toilet facing the door of the bedroom a bit ugly and some of the doors didn't shut properly. I was cold in the night and there was only a thin doona on the bed and no extra blankets. There is a gas heater (fake log fire) which was too noisy to leave on all night. We made one land line call within Australia for 5 minutes and they charged us $12.

There is no internet, mobile phone reception and no television in the rooms, which is OK, however I didn't realise that. We ate at the Bistro because the restaurant was so expensive and the food was good. However the decor is very dated and lacking in any form of comfort. Just basic wooden tables with wooden bench seats, very 80's. Breakfast was good.

However the walks are fantastic and there is wonderful wildlife all around. Be warned the walks have a lot of steps. Staff are all friendly and very helpful. So I think they could do a lot better for the money or bring their prices down.

Room Tip: Ask if you have a water view and how far from the main lodge they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CateSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear CateSyd, Thank you, we do encourage all feedback. It is excellent that you enjoyed the walks, wildlife and surrounding wilderness, we are sorry to hear that you felt disappointed in some aspects of the Lodge. We will investige the heater fan as while these do make a noise it should not be to the level that would disrupt sleep and should ensure a warm and cosy environment. We do hope that the beauty and experience of the destination ensured the overall visit was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

What a wonderful three nights we had at Cradle Mountain. The Lodge is excellently located at the heart of the entry into the National Park and approximately 100 metres from the Rangers station. Also about 2 kms from the Visitors Centre where all tours and day passes to the National Park can be arranged. But, don't be concerned about this distance as the daily buses into the park can also be caught at the rangers Station. The Lodge itself is excellent. We had a Deluxe Spa Cabin and it was terrific. Big, comfortable and with a good view over the hills nearby. The fireplace in our room was great and provided all the warmth you could need on a cold day or night. Firewood was plentiful just outside your cabin. The Lodge had 2 eating options with a Tavern or an A LA Carte restaurant. There is also a Gift Shop, which includes snacks, ice creams etc. Overall a great place for a holiday.

Room Tip: Bottled wine is very expensive at the Lodge. Other options to purchase wine are too far away. Sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear JohnA, We do appreciate you sharing your experience. Three nights is a perfect duration to stay as it allows you to fully enjoy the Cradle Mountain experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the charm of the Lodge, your Spa Cabin and our facilities and hospitality. We are seeing more visitors from Queensland enjoying Tasmania, it is great to welcome guests from the warmer climates to the Lodge. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as part of your itinerary.

Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Positives: location wonderful for anyone with any appreciation of wilderness;
the walks starting in the grounds are just stunning for the flora and there is plenty of cute and cuddly wildlife and a lot of spotted quolls;
dinner very comfortably one tocque Sydney standard at more than a reasonable price; especially given the location;
extremely good wine list; again at very reasonable prices; especially given the context;
the bedding and shower in the Pencil Pine cabin were very good. The cabin itself was quite basic but, given the location etc., we didn't care;
the dining room had the ambience of an early twentieth century hunting lodge and was rather fun. The chairs were very comfortable.
Service was friendly and eficient.
Breakfast was included in the price and was all that could be reasonably expected. Remarkably, there was a good array of fresh fruits including tropical fruits- the hotel was going to some trouble with this;
we paid just over $200 b'and'b on the hotel's website and considered it a real bargain.
Be aware
the only mobile network available in the location is Telstra 3G. Land lines are available in the cabin and calls are very cheap compared to other 4 and 5 star hotels.
Wireless internet is only available in the lobby, dining room and bar and at a charge. Normally, this is my pet hate but I suspect that here, it was partially to ease demands on the system so I didn't mind. In any case, $5.50 for an hour wasn't much.
We will certainly be returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Olderfolks, thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and particularly the spectacular location that surrounds us and underpins the experience. We do have many unique challenges operating in a remote and environmentally sensitive area, one of these is the limited access to communication networks which does require management of load through our network. As you suspect these are reasons why internet is available around the central Lodge building at a minimal cost. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay!

Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed two nights in spa suite.

Nice room, large bathroom & log fire. Nice views from balcony.

Plenty of walks from the lodge. Surrounding area was beautiful. Great wildlife.

Ate in Tavern both nights, food was good & reasonably priced. First night was really busy so we ate a bit earlier the second night which was much quieter. Same experience at breakfast. First day was like a scrum at buffet, second morning we went earlier & more peaceful.

All staff very helpful, but staff in Tavern at breakfast were really busy & on first morning used plates weren't cleared from tables.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Havenexile, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing the Lodge as your accommodation at Cradle Mountain. We are delighted you enjoyed the room, the walks and the wildlife and that you enjoyed your visit. We continually work with our staff to ensure that we deliver friendly but also efficient service particularly over busier periods such as breakfast. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner & I recently spent one night at Peppers. We had a spa cabin booked & we were upgraded to a spa suite with complimentary port & cookies. The cabin was great, we loved the log fire, the spa was great after a few hours trekking around Dove Lake & the port certainly warmed us up. The best part was the breathtaking view of the snow in the morning. The staff were very polite & helpful & we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear MichelleE, Great to hear you enjoyed the upgrade. You were fortunate to have had some snow during your stay, it certainly adds to the magic of the landscape and seems to make the log fires even warmer once back in the room. Please share your experience with your NSW friends, we'd love to welcome you back for a longer stay!

Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great cabin, appreciated the log fire and complimentary port!
Had friendly wildlife, lots of firewood and we were glad we had a warm spot to escape the cold wet weather!
Restaurant was pretty average for dinner, although breakfast was fantastic. Bistro food was great.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KatHnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear KatHnut,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide a haven of warmth for you to enjoy. I would welcome further feedback on where you feel the Restaurant fell short of your expectation, please feel free to email me on Leigh.reid@peppers.com.au


Regards,
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,030 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
453 reviews
38.2 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $186 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing