We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wombats!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wombats!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in the contemporary spa suite, that has a gas heater and spa. The bathroom appears a little dated but the room itself was as expected.

Fantastic location with some Breathtaking walks. Enjoyed the Dove Canyon walk immensely, but would not recommend unless you have waterproof hiking boots. It involves dodging muddy 10cm deep sections of the track and a fun short scramble up a cliff face. Otherwise a small section is boarded and I got to see a wombat.

Dove lake is an easy walk and I was lucky to see snow on the mountains at Cradle mountain. The park pass is $16.50 and you Can drive all the way 2WD to the lake. There is also a free park shuttle bus for tourists.

Agree that the pub meals are overpriced, but the fire is lovely and the serving sizes are generous. I didn't try the restaurant. The schnitzel is better than the steak. And the wedges are great! Menu is also a bit boring.

Had a facial which was very lovely with elemis products. The lodge has a shop where you can get some snacks if needed. I was hoping for some crackers or cookies in the minibar. They only had small packets of nuts.

Everything has a 2% credit card surcharge. If you can afford it, stay here it's lovely. But it is not as luxurious as I had hoped.

Room Tip: I was desperate for a room with a fireplace, but had the gas imitation as it was just me. However th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    805
    356
    127
    68
See reviews for
405
1,490
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night recently, the drive from Hobart is long approx 5hrs and not much enroute but once we were visiting Tassie we wanted to experience Cradle Mtn. Overall have no complaints, very nice ski-lodge type feel, beautiful trails and water falls nearby and lots of local australian wildlife virtually on your doorstep. We were disappointed that there was no available entry into the spa, one has to book this in advance. Breakfast was rather chaotic on Sunday morning, clearly understaffed, but, having said this I believe the lodge had 100% occupancy. The buffet was ok. All in all, pleased we went but not compelled to return .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The pencil pine room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the bush from the picture window. Bathroom adequate but chilly. Could hear neighbours talking in the room next door. Expensive pub style meals but restaurant was high quality food for evening meal. Great buffet breakfast. The location is everything here. Lovely surrounds with abundant wildlife in the grounds. The staff were great. Very busy at night and not easy to get a table in the tavern area to sit down and eat. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay but would investigate other options next time.

Room Tip: Take some of your own drinks with you and use the room fridge as they are only available at "pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place to visit so I'll dot point the good and bad.

GOOD
Cradle mountain and Dove lake walks, excellent.
Dinner in the restaurant was good quality and very yummy
The pencil pine room was warm and the bed comfortable
Buffet breakfast was a great was a great way the start the day
The weather, we were very lucky for this time of year.


BAD
Local signage and maps, very scarce.
The price of food and drinks, extremely over priced. $20 for a burger with no more flare than a Big Mac.
The noise from adjoining cabins, if its peace an quiet you are after, good luck. I swear the kids wee running on the ceiling.
Overall cleanliness of room. Soap scum on everything. Bed had been laid on.

To sum up. If we had pad the usual rack rate of $350 for Saturday night rather than the $180, local deal, I would have only given a 1star rating for our stay. Basically peppers cradle resort is a 3.5 - 4 star resort charging 5 star rates and meal prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james196777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked into the Peppers Lodge, Cradle Mountain for 3 nights and ended up extending to 5 nights, it was THAT incredible ( I would have stayed longer if the fly fishing and horse riding were operating) .
I wasn't expecting great accommodation, so I was pleasantly surprised when I found my cabin to be tastefully decorated and quiet comfortable. I stayed in a Spa cabin, and was traveling solo, so it suited me perfectly. It still shows some evidence of the original resort from 30+ years ago, but mostly it's modern, clean and very comfortable.
The resort manager, Leigh is a wonderful lady who is very friendly yet still professional, and is forever helpful. The rest of the crew, although young are also very professional and they seem to have the place operating in a good system...no one messes up your orders or misplaced your meal etc, they all seem to be 'on the ball'.
After a full days hiking I spent most evenings in the main Lodge in front of the enormous fire place reading the newspaper and enjoying a good drop of local red and a cheese board, curled up in the large brown leather sofas. I felt perfectly at ease doing this alone, and enjoyed dinner at the tavern each night as well, which offered simple and satisfying dinners that had several healthy options. I did indulge in the best xmas pudding ive ever had (sorry mum) as they were having a little xmas in July theme going on.
I took a night tour with John, a lovely gent form nearby Sheffield, who spotlights the adorable animals at night when they are most active, we saw many cute and fury critters, and I was glad I did go...the Tassie wilderness is a whole different place by night.
The day walks were utterly spectacular and 5 days of the combination of the breathtaking walks into the wilderness and relaxing by the fire of a night have breathed new life into my once city stressed body!
I highly recommend this accommodation to facilitate the day hikes to anyone who loves to challenge their fitness and has a true passion for the wilderness and big log fires.
My only disappointment is because I was travelling solo I did not try the Highlands restaurant as I've heard great things...but next time when I return with my partner we will be there every night.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic....I stocked up at brekkie and didn't need to eat until that evening!
The only negative comment I can say is the walls between cabins don't seem to be insulated as I could hear the guests next door, the floor boards are very noisy so I could hear every time they walked around their cabin (needless to say I was not thankful of them playing their stereo at 1am!) But that was just my bad luck getting some inconsiderate clown next door for one night, the rest of the time was utterly peaceful.

Room Tip: Opt for the modern furnished cabins, as I think the 'Traditional style cabins' are with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here a week or so ago, we were extremely disappointed in the room, however intended to just suck up our loss and have a great time anyway, as the area is beautiful. We went to the lodge pub for dinner, thinking we would get a hearty pub meal. As a vegetarian I had the $17 pumpkin cannelloni and my partner had one of the $20 pizzas. When the food came out I was shocked, the pizza was TINY and was a frozen base (disgusting and indelible- unfilling) and my cannelloni was terrible lasagne with no sauce (even though there was Napoli on the menu)- this was the final straw. I complained at the pub and managed to get some sauce for my meal. We then decided after spending over $400 at this 4.5 star lodge that we would write a formal complaint. When we checked out the next morning the complaint was left unresolved. We were told we would receive a phone call as the manager was away. It never came. We ended up calling them 5 days later and were told the manager was busy and would call back later. No one ever called. Terrible service for a 4.5 star lodge. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the delay in phoning you, I have been travelling a lot this month with work and our Front Office Manager has since spoken with you.

In regards to your disappointment with the room, as was discussed with you none of our rooms have televisions and we are very proud of this as we believe it encourages our guests to experience and enjoy nature more than they normally would should the distraction of a television be around.

Also please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our Tavern. I have addressed this with our Executive Chef and his team.

Also thank you for your kind comments on the phone in which you advised that you did think all the staff handled your complaint well.

I am glad we were able to address some of the issues you raised during your stay and can only apologize for any disappointment you experienced.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

two friends and I stayed for two nights , seen a bit of snow which was great lots of wildlife wandering around , perfect location we dined in the restaurant one night and oh my god best steak I've ever had I'd fly from qld just for that :) but the highlight was a lovely staff member named Jayne , best attitude , extremely happy an full of life she was able to give us all the advice an recommendations we needed , looking forward to coming back in a couple months keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveinthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
986 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
714 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing