We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review - June 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Cradle Mountain
2 reviews
“Review - June 2013”
Reviewed July 4, 2013


Travelled throughout Tasmania previously and always wanted to visit Cradle Mountain. Spent four days and three nights in a Traditional Cabin which was fantastic. Wonderful location with plenty of opportunities to experience the wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    801
    356
    127
    67
See reviews for
404
1,485
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We came here with 2 kids, age 13 and 10. The cabins were cosy and fit in with the atmosphere. Rooms were comfortable with a gas log fire. Tours weren't as great because they could've been more informative. Meals were average, but still quite good, but overall, it's a really nice place to stay.
There is no TV - ( that's nice) but they do supply board games and there is open fires in the lounge areas.
Remember to bring some food supplies for the kids and wet weather gear.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the lodge. The good point was that the cabin we stayed in seemed to have been kept in pretty good order. However, we would not return. The negatives:

Inflexibility
Similar to other comments, peppers seem to have a policy of not allowing any changes to dates of booked accomodation. We needed to change the date of our arrival by one day and were told that this was not possible even though there were rooms available. We would have to pay for the extra night even if we didn't stay. I travel extensively for business and this is the first time I have encountered this. Lesson learnt.

Check in
We arrived about 90 minutes before the advertised check in time to see if our room was available. It wasn't yet ready and this fair enough. Rather than offer to let us know when the room did become available (as I have found anywhere else I have stayed) we were told the check in time was 2-00pm and that is when the room would be available. We were cold and wet and just wanted to get into our room so instead we decided to go to the bar and have a hot chocolate. After specifically asking for it to be extra hot, we got lukewarm.


Food
The food in the tavern is pretty ordinary. At least they are consistent as the breakfast was of the same quality. We ordered poached eggs (because the scrambled were watery) and got one cooked properly and the other was hard and cold. As a result we didn't want to risk paying the minimum $60 for a meal in the main restaurant.

Overall
I have read some of the other poor reviews and wish I had read them before we booked. It is expensive for what is offered and the inflexibility is probably the major disappointment.

First and last time at peppers for us.

Room Tip: Cabins are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our Tavern and breakfast. I have discussed your feedback with our Executive Chef who will discuss with his team members.

In regards to your cabin not being ready, upon your arrival our Receptionist checks with Housekeeping to find out a time that the room will be ready, in this instance the room was not ready until 2pm.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not a bad place. Like an old actress it's showing its age. The place is reminisce of a ski lodge huge fires and lots of exposed timber. Some spectacular walking tracks which really balance out the place.

Staff we found were hit and miss. Some great others average. Food pretty average like a trip back to the 80's very nouveau avoid the breakfast buffet it was pretty bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place isn't cheap and is considered the best accommodation at Cradle Mountain. The rooms are nice inside - we just had a basic room and it had the usual features, was clean and looked nice. The big downside - no TV! We went while it was raining so we were cramped up for 3 days in our room bored out of our brains. I know it's a wilderness escape, but the simple feature of having a tv in the room would have made the 3 days a lot less boring. Our friends had the best room - the King Billy and again, it was spacious and looked very nice. But there was no tv. When you can't see Cradle Mtn because of cloud cover, there's not much else to do. I feel it was a waste of money for what you got - look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tbate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was to be my highlight during my trip around Tasmania. The reception staff were helpful and my room was nice (Cabin 1) and warm when I entered but I found the room below the usual Peppers standards. The bathroom particularly was old and worn (see pictures). The towels were thread bare. There was water damage in the bathroom cabinets.
The breakfast that was included in the price was really good and after being warned on Tripadvisor how expensive the food was I took my own.
Overall - staff good but room tired and not up to Peppers standards

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursie933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings you have mentioned regarding the bathroom, however I am pleased to advise that the two rooms with bathrooms like this will be having a bathroom refurbishment in the near future.

Thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into the Lodge for 2 nights, but after our first night had to leave due to personal circumstances. Apart from a very helpful porter, we found the staff aloof and quite robotic and uncaring. Apart from the amazing location, there's not much else amazing about this place. The restaurant is way over priced _ and once again staff disinterest didn't help! We've enjoyed wonderful Tasmanian hospitality everywhere else we've been - but not at Cradle Mountain Lodge. Full marks to Rodney the porter. _ his warmth and friendliness made up for everything else that was lacking! Good website - but reality far different! We have stayed in other Peppers locations before - Wont be recommending this one to anybody!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
984 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
714 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing