We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge 4 times in the last 5 years and have loved it every time.
We have stayed in a spa suite and spa cabin and they are both fantastic. The spa suite is slightly bigger but it doesnt really make any difference as we are always out and about when we are at Cradle Mountain.
The restuarant is amazing and we only eat in there for dinner as the bistro is very crowded and noisy. Ok for lunch though.
We have been in both summer and winter and they both have their pros and cons. Summer is great for hiking and bushwalking while winter is just so beautiful and you usually get snow falls which is such a treat for me being from Brisbane! You cant hike during winter though but you can still do a lot of shorter walks.
My husbane actually proposed on the top of Cradle Mountain in 2010 which makes this place even more special for us now. I cant believe I actually made it to the top but I feel so proud that I did :-) if you are fit and willing I would definitely give it a go.
We have done the wine and cheese tasting twice which was really fun and delicious. Very affordable too at only $35 per person.
The spa is one of my favourite spas I have ever been to and I always make sure I book in a facial, then afterwards spend time in the sanctuary. Absolute bliss.
Cradle Mountain Lodge is definitely the best choice if you are wanting to visit Cradle Mountain. The food is fantastic and the rooms are extremely comfortable and inviting. You do pay for the location but it is well worth the money. We are hoping to go back next year and climb Cradle again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avinaraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,371)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here three nights. We booked a pencil pine cabin and found it clean, spacious and comfortable. With the exception of the Tavern Bar & Bistro, (ate there twice and were underwhelmed), we were satisfied with the Cradle Mountain Lodge, and enjoyed our stay there. But were we impressed?

Well, we really wanted to be. But…

The Lodge lacks ‘sparkle’, the sheen of professionalism and smartness of presentation that you would normally expect when paying at this price level. It’s almost as if, resigned to the fact that many of its guests may only stay here once in their lives, the place doesn’t feel the need to go all-out to create a special atmosphere or magical, memorable experience for its guests and diners.

Several reviewers have commented that the Lodge is over-priced, but we would expect to pay these sort of prices in an establishment of this kind in a semi-remote location. For us, the real issue was that the Lodge under-delivers. Many of its guest areas are clearly in need of refurbishment. The service is friendly, but not what you’d call ‘polished’. (The staff seemed a tad under-trained, and in the Highland Restaurant no evidence of a Maitre D’ or Sommelier or anyone in charge.)

The bottom line is that the Lodge’s promotional blurbs describe what the Lodge no doubt aspires to be, not what it is. It’s still good overall, and we'd happily stay there again. But it's not great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the spa suite cabin for 2 nights in January 2013 and paid $396 per night.
Whilst the room was nice the bathroom was badly in need of repair. The vanity was old and the cabinetry was water logged and warped. The shower was so small and old, plus leaked into the hallway. There was no bubble bath for the spa which I thought would be a basic item. The mini bar prices are outrageous....$9 for a tiny, tiny packet of plunger coffee!!! Our coffee mugs were dirty. Our room was on the walkway so we couldn't get changed in the room as there were no sheer curtains to draw for privacy only the heavy night ones which I thought was silly.
They charged $100 per night on your cc even if you had prepaid for the room and made you have 2 courses at the main restaurant which again I thought was over priced.

The prices of the spa are again outrageous as I would have loved to have gone. The only pool they have is a tiny heated one in the spa area and they charge per hour per person to use it and it very expensive(I can't remember the price).

The positives were that the staff were lovely and the surrounds were very pretty with wild life everywhere. Lots of paddy melons wandering around, echidnas and wombats.

A TV in your room would be nice and internet included (which I know doesn't happen often). There was no where to go to watch TV to catch the news, tennis and cricket other than the one in the bar which has the sound turned down. We were lucky with the weather but if it was bad I would have loved a TV.

So my summary is it is overpriced for what you got. My advice is to look elsewhere to stay!

Room Tip: The pencil pine rooms were better value for money I think. But if we ever stayed in Cradle Mt again...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings you have reported and I will address this with the relevent department managers. In regards to the credit card pre authorization this is standard practice at hotels and resorts and is a hold on the money rather than a charge.

As you have travelled during our peak period our accommodation rates are reflective of this, I highly recommend returning during Winter and you can check our website for specials during this time.

Thank you for the positive comments regarding the staff I shall share these with the team.

I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a King Billy Suite for a birthday weekend. The cabin was secluded and rustic. The room was very large with a double sided fire place separating the bedroom from the living area - which was really fantastic. There were very large windows looking out onto the tranquil gardens and a deck with a private timber hot tub. The bathroom was enormous and also had a spa bath. The cabin was both tastefully decorated and homely. The room had a small kitchenette with all the essentials including a large decanter of Port which was topped up every day. Evening canapes were brought around at about 6 p.m. when the turn down service was attended to including reseting/restocking the fireplace - which is really nice especially if you are from Queensland and not use to setting fire places.

A breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was truly fantastic with items like hearty porridge on the menu. We also had dinner at the lodge's cozy restaurant and the food was absolutely delicious.

We booked in a couples body massage at the lodge's spa which was both relaxing and very indulgent.

One evening we were enjoying a glass of wine in the hot tub when we were shocked and surprised to get an unexpected visitor - a very well fed and friendly possum.

Warning - there is no TV here but there is a sound system - so come prepared with plenty of reading materials and music.

Hint - Make sure that if you do nothing else you take the walk around Dove Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozi1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a pencil pine cabin, which had a beautiful fire place (gas with remote ignition - fantastic!) and comfy beds. BUT for the price we paid, the rooms were tired and in need of an update, starting with the shower screen, which let water leak all over the bathroom floor. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food at the main restaurant way too expensive ($95 per person plus beverages) - we dines at the tavern restaurant every night, which had fantastic food at good prices. There are some great walks which start from the lodge - and if it says DIFFICULT, that's what it means........., The best advice we got from staff at reception was to do the Marion Lookout walk which starts at Ronny creek and end up connecting with the dove lake circuit walk - DO NOT do it the other way around!!!! The best walk ever with fab views and intersting tracks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable experience. In regards to our Restaurant pricing the pricing is actually $59 for a two course dinner, $69 for three course or $95 for our five course degustation option.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

At first glance the cabins seemed somewhat ordinary but on entering our spa cabin we reaffirmed never to judge a book by its cover.
The cabin was excellent; although probably not really a 4.5 star rating. It was comprised of a living/sleeping area containing both a wood heater and an electric heater, large bathroom with double shower and deep double spa, kitchenette and an enty foyer. In addition there was a sizable deck at the rear that allowed us to sit and watch the wildlife that visited us throughtout the day and evening.
The wood heater created a great wilderness atmosphere although even on its lowest setting it heated the room to an almost uncomfortable level.
Canapes were delivered to our door just after we arrived and there were fresh baked cookies compliments of the chef in the kitchenette as well. While we were at dinner the bed was turned down and chocolates left on the pillows.
The cabin was spotless, the complimentary port quite drinkable, linen was clean and fresh as were the bath towels.
The staff were generally young and they certainly made us feel welcome. They all had smiles, seemed to be enjoying their jobs and were keen to answer questions and help us get the most out of our stay.
The guest lounges are a great idea and were well appointed.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was as good as any I have experienced. The chef produced some innovative cuisine and it was cooked and served excellently. A tip, try the quail and also give the chef's fairy floss a try for desert.
There was plenty to do at the resort apart from seeing the amazing National Park. Horse riding, catch & release trout fishing, casting lessons, wine & cheese tasing, even a trivia competition for those so inclined.
My only small annoyance was that "tipping" seemed expected and, while I like to reward great servcice, this American trend grates when Aussie staff are so much better rewarded than trheir U.S. counterparts.
While I menetioned earlier that the cabins were probably short of the 4.5 star rating they claim the resort overall was absolutely deserving of close to that rating.
We now want to (and will) return to experience the resort and the Park in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location right in the National Park could not be better and this hotel is the best available in the area. Great wildlife and walks on your doorstep. Food in the Highlander restaurant at dinner was good and better than we expected and a good choice at buffet breakfast. Pencil pine cabin was a good size with all amenities you would expect in this wilderness location. Why would you want TV and WiFi in this away from it all environment? Whilst cabin had no view being in woodland, as said this is a National Park and hotel will be restricted on what they are allowed to construct (e.g. balconies) or remove (e.g.trees). It was let down by the housekeeping both in the cabin, which should have been cleaner under furniture and in the bathroom for example and the chair coverings in the restaurant were a disgrace being badly soiled by food stain and spills etc. Staff were friendly and helpful and it is a shame that the level of housekeeping let down the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Restaurant, and I completely agree with you in regards to wifi and televisions - enjoy nature at it's best!

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with their team members. Please rest assured our Restaurant chairs are regularly cleaned and steam cleaned however the stains will not come out, thankfully we will have new chairs in the coming months.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,007 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
792 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
441 reviews
40.3 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $147 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing