We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it. But it was pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We liked it. But it was pricey.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in cabin 30 - family king spa room.

Good: cosy room, well laid out. Just beyond our deck were animals - we had daily visits from a wallaby with a joey, wombats etc. It snowed the first night we were there. Lovely to sit by the fire and see snow falling. Nice touch the port - enjoyed it nightly! Ditto the snacks - crackers and cheese platter! Yums. Kids loved the hot chocolate and I appreciated the good quality coffee in the room. Toiletries were good and lazing in the spa bath was so relaxing!

Bad: not enough heating for a snowy night. Small electric heater in the living room only warmed the living room. Ditto the fireplace. It would have been better if a heater could be placed in the sleeping area or if heated blankets could be provided. An iPod dock would have been nice too since the CD player in the room want working.

It was expensive - $440/night, but I enjoyed the experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    805
    356
    127
    68
See reviews for
405
1,490
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

So it is right next to the park entrance. There are loads of animals around the complex in the evening. We saw wallabies, wombats and possums a few meters from our room. That is where the good points end. The main cabin is like a 50s ski lodge and very dated, particularly the lounge and tavern areas. We had a pine wood cabin, which is part of 4 terraced cabins. No tv and no Internet in the cabins! You could hear every noise through the wall from next door including the toilet flushing. The heating was from a gas fire, which had a fan in it. It would randomly ignite itself in the night if the room temperature dropped low. It constantly woke us up as suddenly having flames appear in the room at night is quite alarming. The bathroom was disgusting, see pics of mould and lime scale in the shower. There was someone else's hair all over the bedside table which had not been wiped in god only knows how long. It was so dirty I actually checked the bed sheets before I got in for bugs!!!! It was a case of either socks or shoes at all times as there was no way I was standing on the floor bare foot!
Internet is only available in the main cabin and you have to pay. Breakfast was a joke a small Buffett area with everything precooked. Eggs were watery and unpleasant. Fresh fruit had often run out. Often found I was being elbowed out of the way by rude Chinese tourists.
Dinner in the tavern was ok, it was quite basic but was cooked to order.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her Team Members.

In regards to our breakfast buffet area being small perhaps you were having breakfast at a time when the Restaurant was extremely busy as the buffet area is in fact quite large.

I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the newly renovated Spa Suites (number 96) which was very nice and spacious. Comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom.
As far as the dining options are concerned the first night we went to the Tavern Bar and the meal was really of a very poor standard, second night we ate in the a la carte restaurant which was good but as other reviewers have said a bit pricey.
The location is what makes the place, amazing to see the wildlife around the resort area so close to the cabins.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonBedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here while we explored Cradle Mountain. The lodge is conveniently located on the very edge of the park entrance just a short walk to the bus that takes you into the park. The cabin rooms were spacious, clean and quiet, a welcome respite after hiking the trails of the park. The most unexpected and pleasant surprise awaited us with dinner at their Highland's Restaurant. The food here has to be the very best meal we've ever encountered at a national park lodge. The salmon cucumber roll was an incredible starter only to be surpassed by the lamb grill with blue cheese and grilled pears. The roaring fire created a cozy, romantic atmosphere. The staff were friendly, helpful and timely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow! Cradle Mountain is one of the most scenic areas in Australia, and the tracks around the Lodge are a must do. That's the good part.

The bad part is what they charge for their tired and beaten up facilities. The cabins while comfortable, are not well laid out and really need refurbishment. The couch in front of the fire is tiny and would be more a child's size unless it's meant that way to be cozy.

The breakfast buffet was as described by some earlier comments - poorly presented and somewhat ordinary. The dinner menu had a good selection and the food was great, it's just that the staff seemed to have been trained by Manuel from Fawlty Towers.

I save my most scathing comment to last. The chairs in the main dining room were grubby and stained - I've seen cleaner put out in the street for rubbish (see the picture).

To the Manager who responds to critical comments. If you were running the place properly there would be more positive comments. Instead of replying to me, go and have a look at the state of the chairs in the dining room.

Room Tip: Yes, rooms about 3 miles back up the road would be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I must admit to being quite shocked by your comments in regards to the breakfast and our staff members as these are both areas where we regularly receive very positive comments as you can see through the majority of our reviews.

Thank you for your comments about the dining room chairs, I am aware of this and these are regularly steam cleaned but unfortunately do have some stains on them which do not come out through the steam cleaning process. We do have a program in place to replace these next year.

I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay and would encourage you in future to ask to speak with someone to raise any concerns.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I went to have a break there and returned within six months with all of our family to get married! Amazing scenery and setting but best of all amazing staff who really went out of their way to make it an amazing day. The accommodation is very good and the King Billy Suite as good as anywhere you would stay around the world. If really connecting with the person you are with, enjoying some of the best wines and cheeses Australia has to offer and seeing the most stunning scenery in the world is what you are after, this cannot be beaten. All the family are planning on returning.

Room Tip: King BIlly Suite cannot be beaten with beautiful hot water spa on deck. Have stayed in Pencil Pine R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved staying for a three day holiday to Cradle Mountain. No TV in the room - which was great since we wanted to get away from it all. Gas log fire, deck overlooking the lodge and the pond. Saw Tasmanian devils, wombats, pandemelons (a type of wallaby/kangaroo) an echidna, and all sort of birdlife. Right at the national park's gate - and several nice walks right from the property. The tavern was pretty decent and the breakfast was above average. Cradle Mountain National Park has to be one of the true under appreciated gems in Australia. Highly recommend a visit there - unlike any other place Down Under.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond - with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double_D_Down_Under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
985 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
714 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing