We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely surroundings and facilities. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Initially we were surprised that there was no television in the room but we quickly got over that as there are lots of activities both outdoor and indoor. We thoroughly enjoyed our guided tour of Dove Lake. We were highly impressed with the quality of food and service at the Highland restaurant. It's also good value at $79 for 3 courses. Being pregnant, I wasn't able to drink but still accompanied my husband to the wine and cheese tasting. The staff went out of their way to provide me with a selection of non-alcoholic drinks from Tasmania. Now that's truly exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

we found everybody extremely helpful, the staff work very hard at making your stay fantastic, great views from our cabin with the occasional vist from some wildlife. it was also a good place to be based from for the Cradle Mountain Walks. i must say it was difficult to find any serious fault with the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had been looking forward to our anniversary weekend since booking and we were not disappointed. The King Billy Suite was our treat for the occasion and we loved it. It was clean and spacious with a very large spa and double sided wood fire, which we appreciated when it snowed from the Friday night through until the Sunday morning! The suite was very cosy and waking to our picture window and a snow covered wonderland outside was absolutely perfect!! My husband braved the snow and enjoyed the hot tub on the deck, flakes swirling around his head. Has to be experienced, as does the Sanctuary Spa.
We opted for a 1.25 hour private package with champagne and choc dipped strawberries. An absolute highlight of our weekend. Sitting in the spa, overlooking the snowcovered bush and Pencil Pine River at sunset.......beautiful!! Definitely recommended.
The buffet breakfasts provided a nice variety of hot and cold choices and the staff in the restaurant were attentive and friendly. We chose to eat in the Tavern for our other meals and couldn't fault it. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere was further enhanced by the 360 fireplace. It is a lovely rustic space that was quite popular. We watched the AFL Grand final there as well, a unique experience that we will always remember. The food was nice and we were able to get a takeaway after our spa experience to take back to our room.
The staff were all great!! Nothing was too much trouble. They didn't even mind dropping the temperature on the hot tub on our deck by a couple of degrees so that I could tolerate it in the cold conditions.
We loved our weekend at Cradle Mountain Lodge, would recommend the experience to anyone and plan to return again.

Room Tip: The King Billy Suite is fantastic for a couples getaway. The Tavern will do takeaway meals as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved this place. Perfectly located right at the entry to the National Park. Several gorgeous walking tracks starting right at the lodge, no driving required. Friendly reception, knowledgeable guide ( some guided walks included). The lodge itself is 1970's style & very rustic but clean, comfortable & warm, with open fires, lots of lounge areas, all in all so much character. The cabins all appear rustic but walk inside & it's sleek, stylish, modern & with a lit fire, warm & welcoming. We were in a Pencil Pine cabin, it had a picture perfect View of the otherworldly rainforest, it was like looking at a painting. We had a Pademelon grazing in our 'picture' too.The fire was a gas fire that looked & felt like the real thing but with thermostat control, no need to feed it, stoke it & no smoke, it was wonderful. ( we own a fireplace~I want one of these) The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. We were a little disappointed that one child had to sleep on a 'camp' bed but it had a decent mattress. I wasn't impressed that one of the kids white doonas had a sizeable stain on it & staff had attempted to hide it with a strategically placed towel. My kids are 7 & 9 so it is a very long time since they've wet the bed, so the plastic wasn't appreciated. The room was provided with high quality toiletries & yet they skimped on the number of towels. But that is nitpicking, we loved the cabin. We had lots of rain so that meant we had to drive from cabin to lodge but usually the walk would be fine. The Lodge offers a good range of activities, some included, some extra. We were a little shocked at the charge to use the spa. We had a tasty dinner in the bistro, crowded but great atmosphere. The restaurant gorgeous, we had an excellent buffet breakfast there, decided against dinner because the menù had no prices listed, not a great sign. I was shocked everwhere we went, including here, at the prices of local wines, rather a shame. This place is what an Alpine Lodge should be, I would thoroughly recommend it. However if ultra new & modern is your thing maybe you should go elsewhere. You can't get a better location with regards to Park access.

Room Tip: Sorry please delete the pool rating, there wasn't a pool, my IPad wont let me delete it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, and was utterly impressed. With snow and sunshine, the scenic walks to and from the lodge made our stay that much more amazing. Great wildlife and a broad range of activities close by and within walking distance. Accommodation and service is as good as it gets and with easy (and free) access to laundry facilites you could stay for weeks! An easy place for relaxation weather its after a big day out experiencing the wonderful landscapes, or sitting back by your very own fireplace. A truly magical place, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Mia__123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Yes it was Mainland school holidays so perhaps the prices were high, but $370 for one night for 2 x adults and 1 x child incl breakfast was a bit steep. However we were at Cradle Mountain and thought we would splurge for one night on our Tasmanian adventure.
The check in was confusing and on arrival into our room found it wasn't prepared for our child with no bedding anywhere to be found. Before we set out on a walk, we dropped into the reception where she advised that we didn't book for a child and would be charged. Hold on! Yes we did book our child in and no we're no paying any extra. Did she think I was one of those travellers who doesn't take a print out of the booking with her for proof?! We have travelled before!
On arrival back from our lovely walks the extra bed was made up, the fire crackling, but no pillows or towel for the child. At $370 a night, sorry I think a pillow and towel for junior is expected. Back up for dinner at the bistro (we now thought the hotel and therefore restaurant was full of it's own self importance so we did the bistro!) and we enquired as to the pillow and towel and bath gel perhaps for the spa bath? (We only had shampoo and conditioner). We could take it with us after dinner if they got it ready at reception? No need - the staff were out with their deliveries and would deliver it to our room. OK, lovely, things are looking up.
The dinner at the Bistro was good, albeit slow, but it was busy.
Back at the room, no towel, pillow or bath gel. Grrr. On the phone, reception told us that we were going to collect it after dinner. No, we were told it was being delivered to our room! Another little argument and now it's getting frustrating.
Bath time but the spa didn't work ...
Off to bed - comfortable, slept well until in the middle of the night, that lovely fire place started to ping loudly, quickly, non-stop! It sounded like the pilot light was re-lighting but anyway, got up to turn it off and after a while it died down and stopped.
In summary, stay elsewhere as it's not value for money. Unless you want to say you stayed at Peppers. Then people will think you have too much money or are a snob!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tysontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issues you raised have been addressed with the respective department managers and additional training implemented accordingly.

This is not up to our usual standard and I apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this amazing natural wonder.

Family of 3 (2 adults and a 2 year old)

Checking was seamless, staff pleasant. Room warm and inviting on entry with thermostat heater running and a fire packed ready to be lit.

Extra bedroom almost a must for us now with our little one, and she slept fine. One phone all and extra sheets and blankets arrived in 4 min when asked.

We had to swap cabins mid stay (booked out) and the transition was seamless. We picked up the new key at 12 and went from one room to other with no annoying period waiting for new room to be cleaned.

Breakfasts amazing. Diner in both tavern and restaurant acceptable.

Only two minor gripes were towel railing in first room was pulling plasterboard out of wall (obviously damages) and some mould in 2nd shower (not massive amount but noticeable easily)

All in all great time, great location, pleasant staff and would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zain U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,017 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
734 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $180 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification logo means that you are guaranteed an experience that helps to care for the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing