We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic place in Tasmania.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The most romantic place in Tasmania.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

No TV. No mobile reception. This was my idea of hell before I spent 3 nights at the lodge. I never thought 3 days without these item could be so damn good. For 3 days, I had the most memorable time of our tasmania road trip.
We stayed in the spa suite, which was beautiful. It had a beautiful wood fire and two person spa, and was extremely spacious and clean. There was a small balcony with two chairs on it, which the possums sat on and waited for us to feed them at night. We spent a day walking around Dove Lake (do NOT go to cradle mountain and miss this), we went horseriding, and then spent our last day at the spa retreat. The Spa retreat that they have here is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had in my life. Think views of cradle mountain and the surrounding bush, from a hot tub, which is on the top level and not inclosed. Amazing. And if you are to spend time in the spa area, without getting a treatment, it is only $25 for an hour, which I thought was a pretty good price considering the prices of everything else.
The restaurant was good, however the bistro/pub section only OK. I must admit the rooms that were under the standard of ours, the pencil pin cabins, did not look too crash hot. I would definitely pay the extra to upgrade to either the spa suite or if you have ample funds, the King Billy Suite. The staff varied as well. There are hundreds of them. And some are great. But some were quite rude and unhelpful.
Cradle Mountain Lodge was every bit the peaceful, relaxing, amazing retreat we had hoped for, and I enjoyed it this much even though it rained for the full three days we were there.
I would highly recommend staying at the lodge and I'd say ithout visiting the stunning area of cradle mountain, you havn't see Tasmania.

Room Tip: The Spa suites are mid range pricing, and are in a much quiter, more private area of the property th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJay_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    787
    353
    127
    64
See reviews for
391
1,459
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in a pencil pine cabin which was nice and comfortable but the lodge is looking a bit dated and daggy. So over heated and stuffy for February, why the fires going?. The bistro food is pretty ordinary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Quiet, warm retreat in cradle mountain. Basic wooden cabin with every thing you need to cook meals, Great wood fire and location. The walks are brilliant and the visitor centre very useful.

Room Tip: we had a basic cabin which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Nothing like the photographs on the internet. Cabin was worn out and dirty with soiled carpet and filty white sofa. If you pay for one of the top two suites you get signature cookies that truly could be written on since they taste like cardboard and an openned bottle of Port with a one glass allowance. Room rates change by the day so you are best off booking last minute the day before to get the best rate. There was a $70 difference between my room charge and my friends because I booked two days before him and management does not want to hear any complaints. Dining room food was excellent but the dirty carpet, soiled chairs and dingy drapes along with poor service did not make up for the good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRUISINGTHEWORLD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The rooms have recently been renovated so the décor is modern and clean. I love the big windows in the rooms with the views.

The lodge has a great location- many of the beautiful short walks leave from right by the hotel. The amount of animals that were right in the lawn around the hotel was amazing- wallabys and wombats!

The lodge also organizes lot of activities- we enjoyed the wine & cheese tasting.

Breakfasts are good- the yogurt was excellent.

The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars is because the dinner at the restaurant was just ok... It was expensive and not worth. Lunches in the pub were ok- the salmon was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in the basic 2 bedroomed cabin. The main bedroom was huge and served as the living area too. The other bedroom was fine, but a bit cold with the door shut. The bathroom was off the main bedroom , so the other person (my mother in this instance) had to walk through our room to use the bathroom - not ideal. We had a flame effect gas fire in the main room, which was very pleasant.

The lodge is in a fabulous location with the Enchanted Walk running through the grounds. We were also lucky enough to spot a platyypus in the fishing lake by the main lodge - apparently quite a rare event.

We ate in the expensive restaurant - the food was lovely and the service excellent. The breakfast there the next day was superb - lots of choice and great quality. The staff were very helpul and friendly.

We thought the whole experience was expensive, but worthwhile as there really isn't much choice out there.

This is nothing to do with the lodge but, just note that the courtesy bus that runs from the nearby ranger station only goes back to the visitors centre, where you have to change to get a bus al the way back into the park. We ended up taking our car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iberian_Lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
708 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Property: Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing