We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$161
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cradle Mountain Hotel(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$169
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lake St Clair Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$132
$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$120
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake St. Clair Tourist Park(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Waldheim Cabins(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Pumphouse Point(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,705)
Filter reviews
2,705 results
Traveler rating
1,135
937
402
151
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,135
937
402
151
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspencil pine cabinking billy suitehighland restaurantcradle mountain lodgespa suitewine and cheese tastingnational parkcomplimentary portdove lakewaldheim spatavern foodturn down servicegas fireenchanted walkmain restaurantbuffet breakfastfine dining
Filter
Updating list...
2,558 - 2,563 of 2,705 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge for one evening in a pencil pine cabin. The cabins look very old from the outside but once you enter the living area/bedroom it looks very nice and modern. The room contained a gas fireplace but had a stack of wood next to it, I thought this was unnecessary. The only downside to the cabin was the mouldy bathroom with very dated tiles. The bathroom looked very out of place with the rest of the cabin.

The breakfast buffet in the main lodge was great and this was included in the price of the accommodation.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant in the lodge and we were very impressed; restaurant staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

The staff on check-in were also very helpful, although perhaps overly polished.

The walks around the lodge were very nice and easy to do and the lodge is located a very short distance from Cradle Moutain.

We paid a rate from Wotif of just under $200 (the lodge would not match the price), I would have been very disappointed with the accommodation if I had paid more than this, although for the location the accommodation was what I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge for 2 nights in a Spa Suite Cabin to celebrate our 1 year Wedding Anniversary and it was a fantastic experience. From the moment we walked in the door, the staff's attention to detail was superb from turning down the bed each night, providing fresh canapes each evening and always being cheery and helpful. The cabin was very comfortable, we loved the wood fire (thoughtfully prepared each day for you), the huge spa bath, the port on arrival and the solitude and tranquility. My wife's only complaint was that the robes could have been a bit softer!

CML is a great venue for getting close to Tasmania's native fauna - we had Padamalons (little Tasmanian wallabies) on our back deck each night and we also encountered wombats and possums close up. And it is only a 20 minute drive or so to the walking areas around Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain itself.

The Highland Restaurant serves very good food and reasonably priced, $62 for 3 courses which would match something served in, say, a 15/20 Age Food Guide rated Melbourne restaurant. The wine was a little disappointing, I expected a greater selection and it was very expensive. For example, a basic Tassie Sauvignon Blanc was selling for $50 (the same bottle cost $35 in Strahan at View 42). We also ate in the Tavern but were not too impressed and didn't think it was particularly good value for money (My advice: stick to the restaurant but avoid the wine and instead enjoy a bottle of your own bubbly in your spa)!
An adequate Buffet Breakfast is included in the rack rate which is just as well as CML is expensive.

Undoubtedly the highlight of our trip however was a visit to the Waldheim Spa. The treatments were heavenly, the staff excellent and if you combine your treatment with a complimentary visit to the Sanctuary then it is very good value for money compared to what you might pay in Melbourne or Sydney ($150 for 1.5 hour massage and a hour in the Sanctuary - spa/sauna/plunge pool/steam room).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We recently spent 3 nights at Cradle Mountain Lodge and were very impressed with all this facility had to offer, not to mention the beautiful surrounds of where it is located.
We stayed in a King Billy Suite which was absolutely delightful. The room was extremely spacious, clean and very well equipped. The decor was modern and comfortable, with a king size bed, double-sided woodheater, kitchenette, large bathroom with inside spa, walk in robe and large windows and french doors that lead onto a balcony with a hot tub.
The room was serviced everyday and a different 'treat' was delivered to us each day, being either canapes, cheese & crackers or chocolated dipped strawberries and chocolates.
A large buffet breakfast was served in the Lodge dining room each morning and offered a wide variety to choose from. We also dined in the Restaurant each evening and found the meals to be wonderful.
Overall, our experience at Cradle Mountain Lodge was wonderful and we would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mrandmrsmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the King Billy Suite for our 20th Wedding Anniversary in July. The cabin was very comfortable and luxurious. We loved the outdoor spa in the light snow. The restaurant and bar cellar was fantastic- although we would have liked a broader menu. The tavern also provided wonderful meals. The environment was outstanding- animals ,wildernesss and the colour s were amazing. You can walk to the National parks but a car is advisable as it is 7kms before starting some walks. The walks were spectacular .A must is the Marion's Lookout- start in the morning on a clear day. The service at the lodge was excellent. Whilst we did not have time to do any tours organised from voyagers- there is plenty to keep you occupied.Wet weather gear is essential in case you have snow- get out and enjoy the environment. Even temperatures of 2 degress did not feel like this in our wet weather gear. I will return.Simply magical.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank AlynNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge for five nights. We flew into Devonport airport and was met by Steve who drove us through the mountains to the lodge (about an hour and a half). The road is very twisty and hilly so if you suffer from travel sickness be prepared! Steve pointed out all the sights along the way and stopped at a lookout area to show us some spectacular views.

We arrived at the lodge just on dark, checking in was very easy and Steve drove us right to our door step. We stayed in a Spa Suite room (54). The room was private and very comfortable and although we were a fair walk from the main Lodge we enjoyed being a little more isolated. The fireplace was already stacked up and ready to be lit, and there were canapes in the fridge for us to snack on while we got ourselves comfortable. Each day a new set of treats were bought to our room which was fantastic. Cheese plates, chocolates and strawberries etc.. a lovely touch. My favourite part of the room service though is the turn down service. We came back from dinner at the Highland each night to find our fire burning, the lights dimmed, music playing and scented oil burning and our bed turned down.. so welcoming and romantic!

The lodge itself is lovely as well, warm fires in every room and big leather lounge chairs to lounge around in. Dinner at the HIghland was just fantastic! We ate there every night and enjoyed every meal, very impressive. Be sure to check out the desserts! Delicious! We did not visit the wine cellar in the restaurant but we heard great things about it from other travellers. The service at the restaurant was really great and meals arrived very quickly each night which was a nice surprise.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and the buffet is very good. Healthy options as well as the usual eggs and bacon etc. Lots of fruit and a delicious warm porridge which is just delicious on a cold morning!

Food at the Tavern isn't fantastic but is quite good for a pub style meal. They have a pool table and a roaring fire, and - as with every where in the lodge - fantastic views!

We only did one spa treatment, which was wonderfully relaxing. We did the Mountain Mystique package with is a one hour massage (for two) and a soak in one of the private baths overlooking the wilderness. It was well worth the money spent and I would recommend it highly. Especially the bath which is infused with lovely scents, I suggest a late afternoon booking so you can watch the sun set over the trees.

The lodge itself has some lovely walks on the grounds so you can really see the area without having to go far at all. Walks on the grounds range from 20mins to 1.5 hours and are relatively easy and relaxing. Some fantastic views and well worth it. For the more adventurous the National Park is only a few minutes walk down the road (the lodge is the closest of accommodations to the entrance of the park which was a nice surprise). Entrance on foot is $10 per person. We wanted to the the Overland Walk but unfortunately time got away from us! We can't wait to go back!

We saw plenty of wildlife on our stay. Wallabies, wombats, echidnas. At one stage a wallaby came right up onto our verandah and sat with us! Lovely!

The only negative thing was the rain! The staff especially were friendly and approachable and helpful.. Overall we had a really wonderful time.. so much so that we are planning on having a voyages wedding now!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Nomadic-Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews