We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok value, cleanliness lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok value, cleanliness lacking”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in a budget family room recently. While the price was reasonable, I think that anyone would expect a room to be properly cleaned after the previous guests have vacated. We spotted rubbish under the bed and the bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

Other have complained about this recently also. It's obvious that management read these reviews, but they seem to do nothing as all they write is "thanks for your feedback", with no commitment to do better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your post. We do value the feedback we receive and we continually strive to improve the products and services we deliver. You can be assured that all comments are followed up with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    182
    80
    24
    15
See reviews for
142
160
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a budget family room. Easy check in despite arriving after the office closed at 6pm. Envelope with code, map, keys etc. Just the 2 of us and just as well since the room, with double bed and 2 bunks, was really quite small. Nowhere for luggage etc. 4 adults would have to take it in turns to stand up! It's a pity they don't offer these rooms with a double bed only for couples on a budget like us. A cabin was beyond our means but we're not into camping (we'd come from the other side of the world and didn't want to pack a tent....). However, once we were settled in it was quite nice. The double bed was really comfy with good linen. Shared facilities - ie kitchens, bathrooms etc were excellent - plentiful and very clean. The park setting is lovely with trees everywhere and abundant wildlife!
Easy 20 min walk to Peppers lodge for Tavern bar and evening meals if required. Shuttle bus to park just across the road. Cradle Mountain itself is stunningly beautiful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mahonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi mahonyl, thanks for your review and for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The room was ok, had a heater. It wasn't very clean though. Something else to keep in mind, the backpackers rooms open to the outside, not onto a hallway. So you will be walking through the rain to shower and toilet. This may sound insignificant, but at cradle mountain it rains 270 days a year, and it is pretty cold, even in summer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

4 room dorm nice clean hut vibe going on, nice bush surroundings, good kitchen and bathroom facilities, good quality showers, no shops and nothing much to do in the evening if on a budget but it is what you should expect if staying overnight anywhere near Cradle Mountain

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zylis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed over for one night last week with the family and found it cosy and good value for money. There aren't many cabins or self-serving apartments in the Cradle Mountains area, so what is made available is not cheap. Our cabin was just shy of $200 for the night, but thought was pretty good value considering the other options nearby. The cabin was good and bunk beds comfy. There was a good electric heater too, came in very handy when the outside was 7-8 degrees in the night. All cabins were built in the middle of the Cradle Mountain wilderness, which was great. The holiday park is 2 mins from the park entrance, and about 20 from the Dove Lake which is the easiest access point to the Cradle Mountains and the starting point of a few walking/hiking trails. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi Yasiru, thanks for sharing your experience - We look forward to seeing you again on future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

On our first night in Tasmania we stayed here in a Budget Family room (as it was all that was available when we booked). The room was small but comfortable. We enjoyed the communal kitchen but unfortunately we hadn't bought supplies before heading up to Cradle Mountain and the Park's store was (understandably) expensive.
Our tip would be to make sure you have bought your food before heading up the Mountain. Also make sure you have warm clothes, even in the middle of summer it was very cold. ... especially the walk to the bathrooms in the cold and rain.
Cradle Mountain itself is truly stunning. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK_Halliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi! thanks for your review and tips for travelling to Cradle Mountain - we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while we explored the area. The camp kitchen was a blessing with the open fires ( even in January!) making it warm and cosy. The bathrooms weren't very clean, and for the 2 nights we were there, it didn't appear that they had been cleaned at all. There was still the same manky soap dissolving in the same shower on the day we left.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ReynoldsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi! Thanks for y our feedback, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
984 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
713 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,293 reviews
38.8 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
356 reviews
36.5 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Property: Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing