We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a cabin with one queen and four bunk beds. The bunk beds were perfectly adequate for an average female. The heating was fantastic. It was already warm when we got there and we had to turn it down after a while, even though it was a very cold day. We showed up early, but were allowed to check in anyway. The beds were comfortable. There was a small living area. There was tea, coffee and milk. The drinking water tasted fine to me. We couldn't pick up any channels on the TV, and the shop was a little expensive and closed at 6. We booked through wotif, so it was $118 for a night and we were very happy to pay that for someone warm to sleep and relax for the small amount of time that we were actually indoors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Discovery Holiday Park at Cradle Mountain has had some fairly ordinary reviews, but when we compared the cost of a cottage at Discovery Parks with the more up-market alternatives in the area, I was prepared to give it a try. (We were planning a three week budget holiday in Tasmania.)
I was so glad we settled for the Discovery Park cottage. It was clean, airy and spacious, we had all the facilities we needed for self catering and the location of the Park was ideal - just a few hundred metres to the Visitor Information Centre where you take the bus to Dove Lake and other walking tracks around the National Park.
The Park is situated in natural bushland and is quiet and secluded. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a look at the camping facilities and chatted to some of the campers and they were more than satisfied with the park. Cannot comment on the family cabins as we did not see inside them.
It's not cheap to stay here but it is a wilderness area and having to pay more at Cradle than you would for a Park in suburbia is to be expected.
We stayed for 3 nights and found that to be a good length of time to visit the attractions in the area, do the less challenging walks, and take some excellent informative walks with the National Parks Ranger.
We bought all our provisions at Deloraine enroute from Launceston including a ten litre drum of Spring water which we used for drinking and cooking. The local water is safe but the bottled water does taste nicer. You can buy provisions locally but the cost is prohibitive. We loved the peace and remoteness of the Cradle Mountain area and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A standard cabin capable of sleeping 6people - 1 queen bed , 4bunk beds - would be tight with 4 adults. Bunk beds have shower and toilet in their midst. Full fridge, stove, microwave,. Shower could be used as a small bath for children. Hint - bring bottled drinking water - drinking water on tap but it tastes brackish. Small shop at reception carries food supplies and wine and beer. Location opposite National Park visitor info centre.Shuttle bus from Visitor Information Centre to start of walks.
No wifi. Poor mobile phone reception due to remoteness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There's not a lot of value choices at Cradle Mountain, its a place you must visit but once you are there you will play dearly for the privilege. Discovery is a perfect example, $160 for a very average cabin that, although clean has seen better days and is really only basic accomodation. Lovely setting compensates somewhat but in the value for money stakes is not up to the mark.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The park is in a great spot within Cradle mountain, and our cabin was in a lovely spot within the park, each individual cabin is set amongst the trees and seemed very secluded. Felt like you were really having a holiday in the mountains. We got a great deal on booking.com but probably would not have been happy to pay the full price as I felt the cabins were a little run down. There was a kitchen and all you needed for a night's stay. Bed comfortable enough. Cabin nice and warm. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Park is in a wonderful location and very close to the shuttle bus station. The cabin we had was clean but needed renovation work. For example, cupboards were chipped, curtains needed some hooks replacing and mattress could do with replacing too.

Although internet is advertised as available via a computer in the office, it was not available while we were there.

Room Tip: This is a place you would choose for its location rather than the quality of accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our park. We appreciate the time you have taken to outline the areas for improvement. All feedback from our guests is important to us, should you like to further discuss any particular areas of concern with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed in a two bed roomed cabin and found it to be well equipped and very comfortable as well as quiet. The staff at the park were extremely helpful as are the Tasmanian people. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dellgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,063 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
833 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
760 reviews
36.7 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $80 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need to see it to believe it - Cradle Mountain is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Discovery Parks – Cradle Mountain is set on the edge of world-heritage listed Cradle Mountain Lake St. Clair National Park, so a true wilderness experience is on the doorstep of your cabin or caravan. The famous Overland Track starts here, covering 161,000 hectares. There are guided and non-guided walks for all fitness levels, canoe tours, horseback trail rides and helicopter flights. Meet resident Tasmanian Devils. Sheffield, Burnie, Latrobe and Deloraine are about an hour away - and with another Discovery Park in nearby Devonport, Tassie is touring holiday heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing