We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in the Wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relax in the Wilderness”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Discovery Holiday Park at Cradle Mountain has had some fairly ordinary reviews, but when we compared the cost of a cottage at Discovery Parks with the more up-market alternatives in the area, I was prepared to give it a try. (We were planning a three week budget holiday in Tasmania.)
I was so glad we settled for the Discovery Park cottage. It was clean, airy and spacious, we had all the facilities we needed for self catering and the location of the Park was ideal - just a few hundred metres to the Visitor Information Centre where you take the bus to Dove Lake and other walking tracks around the National Park.
The Park is situated in natural bushland and is quiet and secluded. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a look at the camping facilities and chatted to some of the campers and they were more than satisfied with the park. Cannot comment on the family cabins as we did not see inside them.
It's not cheap to stay here but it is a wilderness area and having to pay more at Cradle than you would for a Park in suburbia is to be expected.
We stayed for 3 nights and found that to be a good length of time to visit the attractions in the area, do the less challenging walks, and take some excellent informative walks with the National Parks Ranger.
We bought all our provisions at Deloraine enroute from Launceston including a ten litre drum of Spring water which we used for drinking and cooking. The local water is safe but the bottled water does taste nicer. You can buy provisions locally but the cost is prohibitive. We loved the peace and remoteness of the Cradle Mountain area and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    181
    80
    24
    14
See reviews for
140
159
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A standard cabin capable of sleeping 6people - 1 queen bed , 4bunk beds - would be tight with 4 adults. Bunk beds have shower and toilet in their midst. Full fridge, stove, microwave,. Shower could be used as a small bath for children. Hint - bring bottled drinking water - drinking water on tap but it tastes brackish. Small shop at reception carries food supplies and wine and beer. Location opposite National Park visitor info centre.Shuttle bus from Visitor Information Centre to start of walks.
No wifi. Poor mobile phone reception due to remoteness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

There's not a lot of value choices at Cradle Mountain, its a place you must visit but once you are there you will play dearly for the privilege. Discovery is a perfect example, $160 for a very average cabin that, although clean has seen better days and is really only basic accomodation. Lovely setting compensates somewhat but in the value for money stakes is not up to the mark.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The park is in a great spot within Cradle mountain, and our cabin was in a lovely spot within the park, each individual cabin is set amongst the trees and seemed very secluded. Felt like you were really having a holiday in the mountains. We got a great deal on booking.com but probably would not have been happy to pay the full price as I felt the cabins were a little run down. There was a kitchen and all you needed for a night's stay. Bed comfortable enough. Cabin nice and warm. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Park is in a wonderful location and very close to the shuttle bus station. The cabin we had was clean but needed renovation work. For example, cupboards were chipped, curtains needed some hooks replacing and mattress could do with replacing too.

Although internet is advertised as available via a computer in the office, it was not available while we were there.

Room Tip: This is a place you would choose for its location rather than the quality of accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koo8882, Manager at Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our park. We appreciate the time you have taken to outline the areas for improvement. All feedback from our guests is important to us, should you like to further discuss any particular areas of concern with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed in a two bed roomed cabin and found it to be well equipped and very comfortable as well as quiet. The staff at the park were extremely helpful as are the Tasmanian people. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellgaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in February 2013. We stayed in a cabin which slept up to 6, it had a double in the main room and 4 bunks in the adjoining room. The cabin was fairly basic, but was all we needed for our stay. There was a kitchen, small internal bathroom (with shower only), and the main room had heating and cooling. The cabins were clean and the beds reasonably comfortable.
Location and price were the main selling points for me. The entrance was right opposite the visitors centre and the price per night was considerably cheaper than any of the other hotels nearby. If you have your own car it is a 5-10 minute drive to the Dove Lake carpark (light vehicles only). Otherwise you can walk across the road to the visitors centre to catch the free shuttle bus. In the afternoons/evenings we saw pademelons and wombats roaming the grounds.
There was a shop where you could by food and supplies, but no restaurant. There was however a restaurant at the visitors centre, or it was just a few minutes drive to one of the other hotels which had restaurants. We ate at the Cradle Mountain Lodge both nights which was great.
Although it would have been nice to go back to a spa room at the Lodge after a long day out hiking, I just couldn't justify the price. Therefore if you are looking for a place to stay at a reasonable price in a fantastic location you can't go past the Discovery Holiday Parks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
706 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,248 reviews
36.5 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
403 reviews
10.5 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Property: Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing