We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dusty! Spend more for more comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dusty! Spend more for more comfort.”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Accmodation was reasonably clean but the carpets and curtains throughout were very dusty, causing three of the five of us to get hay fever! very basic facilities, maybe ok for families on a budget but if you can afford it, spend the bit extra and stay somewhere else. The cabin was self-contained, which was a selling factor for us. But this turned out to be worthless as unless you want packet noodles, you need to do your shopping before you get to the mountain. We ate and drank at the cradle mountain lodge, which was cozy and good value for money. If I return to cradle mountain, I would probably not stay overnight but if I did, I'd part with the extra $ for added comf

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliekoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    180
    78
    24
    14
See reviews for
139
156
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
VIC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Had a little trouble booking online as I couldn't book a powered site, but an email sorted that out.

Once we had arrived we were very happy with the site booked, though it wasn't cheap, it was a large site close to the amenities block (a bonus as it was extremely cold!). The kitchen facilities are AMAZING with a fantastic giant wood fire and clean amenities.

The staff were all very friendly and happy to help with amending our stay (we ended up staying another night, though we couldn't get a powered site again due to everyone beaing us to it after the cold weather). They were also happy to help with parks passes, which was great.

I would definitely stay again - the wombats and wallabies wandering around at dusk were quite special too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thingyjiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Well organised campsite, excellent location, good value, good clean facilities (open log burning fires in the kitchen/eating area), campsites semi-private with use of bushes/trees between. One of the best campsites I've stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This holiday park is in the Tasmanian wilderness and deserves respect for that! We stayed in a powered site for 1 night. The facilities were great and the price of $40 was a bargain considering the location & right across from the visitors centre where you catch the shuttle bus to dove lake. The park blends in well with the natural environment. Food prices are expensive ($5 for a loaf of bread) but what do you expect - you are miles away from anywhere. Camp kitchen is huge with good facilities. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Formerly the ‘Cosy Caravan’ park. There are a range of cabins and huts, and pitches on the site. Check in and departure were effortless. Friendly and helpful staff, and a fairly well stocked shop for such a small ‘development’.
The site is just at the entrance to the National Park, a great spot if you want to get up and explore before the crowds (what am I talking about, this is Tasmania, there is no such thing….), Shared a two room double ensuite cabin, which was perfectly comfortable and well equipped if longing for the last millennium a little…. Perfect, night sleep. Only a little disappointed not to see more wildlife on the doorstep (surely they could have trained a chorus line of wallabies?), we visited in early summer when the waratahs we starting to bloom, which more than made up for it. So peaceful it is almost eerie.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJohnBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The service quality was horrible.

We arrived after hours and we had duly communicated this to the reception. We got a confirmation that everything will be written in the paper.

DAMN! They didn't even put a code to cross the car barrier in the paper and we were stranded with our car at their entry point at midnight!!...with no sight for help!

In the morning, when I told them about this - all they could come up with a "Sorry"!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We camped in an unpowered site for $42. Seemed very high but the kitchen was excellent and so was the toilet block. These are the two things that campers need most.
You have to boil the water before drinking - disappointing they have not installed a good filtration system given the hundreds of thousands of visitors to Cradle Mountain each year.
The National Parks office is opposite and a private operator has a cafe there - which is open late and does good hot food. Also, hardly any powerpoints in the camnpsite kitchen - there were hordes of backpackers trying to charge up their items with adaptors and leads.
The worst fat overfed possums we have ever seen! One got in our car when our back was turned and we were packing up, looking for food. It later jumped up to a plastic bag I was carrying and escaped with fruit. That freaked me out even though I am used to them. They will go after any food, and even your shoes and other items, from dusk and therefore everything has to be locked away. We told the camp receptionist and she was amazed about the car incident. DO NOT FEED POSSUMS!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrowagenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
38.8 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
36.5 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain

Property: Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Address: Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing