We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake St Clair Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cradle Mountain Hotel(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)(Great Value!)
$177
$108
Cradle Mountain
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mantra Collins Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$113
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$119
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$109
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$165
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$88
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$128
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$164
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
106
111
62
60
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
111
62
60
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclosing timestudio cabinday hikewine liststayed for one nightgas fireplaceamazing locationskipperwalkswildernesstorchwinterwildlifebushechidnascenerypossums
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 406 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

After wonderful day on Shadow Lake circuit we've arrived back to the starting point at the Lodge. The dinner in Lodge Bar & Restaurant was disappointing as I've ordered the "Chicken Deluxe Burger" which instead turned out to be a burger with fried schnitzel in it...

The staff wasn't really interested in guests but o.k, it was an evening already. Unfortunately when I asked the receptionist whether we could use a shower in their camp site for some fee, the lady said that we can't because they keep those for staying guests only and that we should go Derwent Bridge hotel and ask over there. So unfortunately we wouldn't recommend this to our friends - the walking tracks are really good though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback. We are glad that you found the walking tracks in the nearby area to your liking but we do apologise that some aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations.

Over the recent past we have operated both the cafe and restaurant, primarily to cater for campers. It appears that you have dined in the cafe as opposed to the Lodge Bar and Restaurant. Given this feedback, we are in the process of reconsidering when to close the cafe menu for guests.

The shared amenities on our site are primarily for the use of our guests and it is our responsibility to ensure that they obtain an appropriate level of service, the facilities are clean and well looked after and that their personal safety and security is assured. We understand that PWS intend to build shower amenities for the general public and overland track walkers in the near future, so hopefully this won't be too far away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Lake St Clair Lodge. We loved it. We did the drive up from Hobart to the music night and definitely weren't disappointed. Great food, friendly staff and really warm and inviting environment. Cabins were cosy and warm, and well equipped. Definitely worth the trip. We will be recommending to our friends and can't wait until their next music night so we can get a group of our friends together for a fun time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank swan_anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We are glad that you were able to experience one of our 'Music at the Lodge' nights. Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on it. Please look out for the next calendar of events that can be viewed on our website. And please feel free to bring any instruments with you to join in with a jam at the end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed one night this last summer and would rank it by far the worst camping ground in Tasmania. The grounds were scruffy and neglected with various bits of equipment and hoses lying about. The sites are too small and not level. The amenities have not been properly cleaned for more than a year. The chalets are ugly. The restaurant is pathetic and a rip-off. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the campsite at Lake St Clair. We have checked our booking system and cannot find any record of you having stayed with us. It is possible that you stayed at the alternate campground with is not operated by us.

A number of comments you have made in relation to our property are simply untrue, or vexatious and the motivations for making such comments are curious to us. Due to this there is little merit in addressing each point individually.

However, for the benefit of others, we would like to take the opportunity to explain the lake st clair area better. Further information can also be found on our website and is also included in a brochure that is handed to our campsite guests on arrival.

The scenery of the Lake St Clair area owes much to past glaciation. The lake was formed by the confluence of three tributary glaciers into a single monumental wall of ice and rock known as the Derwent Glacier which scoured the landscape into a deep U-shape valley and upon retreating at the end of the last glacial period left one of the most interesting and precious natural features at Lake St Clair its glacial moraines.

What this means to us at Lake St Clair is that it’s not just the fauna and flora of the area that is protected, but even the very ground we walk on is precious and geologically significant.

For these reasons it was not possible for campsites to have a large footprint, to be levelled, or us to modify the campground environment from its natural state. For most campers seeking to this is a small issue that lends itself to the global significance of this world class area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Pausing at Lake St Claire for a coffee we recalled that 10 years earlier we had enjoyed our time there. This time however, despite many cars in the car park and lots of walkers, the cafe was nearly empty. We found the food display cabinets practically empty; not a cake to be seen and when we ordered our drinks we waited for a long time for no apparent reason. When they finally arrived, despite messy presentation, they were of reasonable standard. This place has the location and the audience to do extremely well but it is obviously lacking the management required.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jerod32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are not in a position to determine the authenticity of this review, but we do find ourselves scratching our heads in relation to it.

People travel to Lake St Clair to walk in the national park, therefore, dependent on the time of day that you visited, it is not unusual for the carpark to be full as people go about their days activities. The carpark is also used by people storing their cars for return from the Overland Track.

As to the cafe and its stock. All display cabinets, shelves and fridges are restocked on a daily basis. Cakes, sandwiches etc are available, but are ordered at the register from the menu, and then served to the guest at their table.

It is unfortunate that you did not find the presentation of the drinks to your liking. Perhaps you can send us an email directly with suggestions on how this can be improved so that we can take it on-board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We we driving back from the west coast and decided to stop at the lake st clair cafe/restaurant for lunch. On arrival the room was full of smoke. The door to the fire was open. Not sure what this was about? There was a line of about four waiting to order. We stood in line, waiting, waiting waiting. The staff seemed to take an order, go and make it and come back! After waiting 20 minutes or so, we made it to the front of the line. Ordered a soup from the menu... "sorry thats not available today".... ordered another item "sorry thats not available today"... We were about to order the $17 burger and $5 orange juice x four but then decided that this place didnt need our business. Service - terrible, ambiance - terrible, value - terrible. This place should be a goldmine. What a disappointment. We headed back up the road to the something wombat cafe and we all had magnificent burgers for about $12.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are genuinely surprised by the comment that you have posted, particularly because the account put forward does not reflect facts. We do not understand the motivation for this misinformation, but we would like to correct this account in a number of aspects:

a) at no time is the cafe / restaurant area full of smoke. The middle fireplace is always secure, unless it is being lit. Both of these fireplaces produce a very small volume of smoke on lighting, which quickly dissipates.

b) during the easter period (including public holidays) there was a minimum of four waiting staff on in the cafe during the period concerned. One took orders, one made coffees, one ran food to customers and one cleared tables and looked after the bar. These were in addition to the two receptionists at front desk. At no point in time was an order taken, made and then the next customer served.

We do recall the service provided and note that when you entered the building, you went straight to the POS counter and were served. There was not a cue in place at that time. You did request the chicken noodle soup, but unfortunately we had already gone through all of those servings for the day, however other soups were available. We have no record of you seeking anything further from the menu. We are proud to advise that we make all items such as soup fresh daily. The consequence of this is that once an item has been run out, it is no longer available.

As with all cafes and restaurants, our pricing is based on costs for production and quality of the meal.

We are however glad that you did manage to find a meal to suit your budget and tastes in the local community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews