We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighting Woeful & Restaurant Closes Early”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake St Clair Lodge
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived at Lake St Clair Lodge at approx 4.30pm to be directed to our cabin with instructions that dinner was at 6.00pm. Not much time to relax before dinner. After much driving around and not exactly sure where to park, we just proped in front of the actual cabin that had the lake view, not ours. We were at the back but could not park there due to construction works and a pile of unsightly rubbish behind our cabin. Nor did we have a lake view! After rushing to be at the Restaurant for dinner by 6.00pm (as instructed), we left our cabin to find absolutely no lights on to guide us on our walk there (which was suggested by the Staff). We left the outside light on, but trying to get to the path resulted in tripping over the huge boulders in the garden, as it was pitch black that side of the cabins. No way was I going to feel my way around in pitch black!!!! We drove the short distance to the restaurant and had a lovely meal and chatted to people who had just finished a trek over 8 days and (as we did), just wanted to kick back and relax with a few drinks. THEY DO NOT SELL TORCHES IN THEIR LITTLE SHOP. Michael was super friendly and attentive and told us to enjoy and take our time. Within half an hour of this, some little fat bearded bloke basically told us all politely to bugger off! Restaurant closed by 8.00pm!
If you actually want to stay at this place, the pillows are fantastic, bed is super and heating great, but take a torch. Returned for breakfast to meet a bloke who was filling in for the Chef but cooked a decent breaky. Little fat bloke with a beard turned up again to set our reserved signs on tables and told us all it was nearly lunch time. Talk about time to move on! If you are an early starter and early to bed, this is the place to go. P.S...If you are a smoker, don't expect to find environmentally friendly ashtrays as there are none. Me, being a smoker was horrified to find no ashtrays around but lots of cigarette butts. Hence, cigarette butts all over the ground which take approx 60 years to dissolve (so I was told by another person at another place who has no ashtrays in place).

Room Tip: Take a torch to find your way around after dark. Don't expect to be able to spend a lot of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We visited in April, a quieter time, with no fwd booking we still found ourselves booked in and having a warm shower within 10mins of arriving. The atmosphere is layback, and establishment clean. We had the double room with external shower, it was still okay and did the job. The room smelt like cigarettes, but it now is a non smoking hotel. All in all the huge wood fire and restaurant attached to the guest accomodation area is very convenient. Closest place to stay to Lake St Clare as an affordable alternative to the other overpriced lodges. Wld recommend it and wld return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sazbocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed at Lake St Clair in March 2012 at a lakeside studio and really enjoyed the experience. It was my honeymoon and the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. Studios are beautiful with great views of the lake. Dined at the restaurant and really enjoyed the steak which was huge and very tasty which went well with the wine suggested. Have told my friends about this place and will be back in winter when it snows.

Room Tip: ask for studio 20 spa best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennydale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stay at this place last week. It was very beautiful. I like the possums, close lake and mountains. No problems. Everything easy. Relax in spa was very nice after walking all day. Recommend to my friends.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jingkun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed for just one night on a powered site but boy was it expensive. Considering we stayed at 3 other national parks and paid a third of the price we were a bit dissappointed.

The toilets and showers are fine, basic but alright, but you are not on the lake front as advertised. There is an area infront of the lake that your not allowed to camp on then the cottagges are dotted around and then the camping area for tents then at the back an area for the campers next to the road leading to the visitor centre. Plus the camping spots are like car parking sport with no space at all. You can hear the people in the camper next to you just talking your that close.

The walks at this location are really nice and well managed but the accommodation is nothing special. I dont get why the cost is so high.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled23feme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the old cabins (number 5) for 2 nights at Easter. We appreciate that accommodation is scarce at this time of year but that is not a reason to hike the prices up disproportionate to the quality of what is on offer. If these are normal prices that makes it even worse. My husband booked this through wotif and thought he was getting a reasonable deal, considering that it was Easter time and based on the photos/description. When it came to paying, our 2 children were added on as an additional $60 (even though he booked a 2brm cabin). The total cost was $300 per night. We took some solace in knowing breakfast was included. It turned out to only be for the 2 adults! I don't know what the $60 for our kids, using existing beds was meant to be for! The breakfast was served in the freezing cold Lodge (it was 8 degrees and they hadn't bothered to light the fire for the 2 days we were there). Strangely, the Visitors Centre next door had a roaring fire going! The food itself was hardly worth describing and the coffee was not very nice.
The standard of accommodation would seem amazing if you had just spent 7 days in the Tassie wilderness walking the Overland Track. It had very basic facilities and space to spread out which would be ideal if you had just been in a tent. There was room to dry wet bushwalking gear. However, we were very disappointed when we arrived to find that what we were paying $300 per night for, was VERY POOR. If it was about $100 a night we wouldn't have cared. We just felt ripped off. I can;t see how anyone would feel happy paying the price we paid for what we got.

GOOD THINGS: view out into the trees; the location next to the lake; the beds were comfortable with nice bed linen.
NEGATIVES: freezing cold. Took at least 5 hours to heat up after coming back from a 5 hour wet bushwalk with children. There is no insulation.
Adults mezzanine bedroom has no privacy and heats up due to the heater flue running through it. This room was like after furnace after trying to get the rest of the place warm, so made it difficult to sleep. Mezzanine bedhead is only about 35cm above the bed so very dangerous with a 8m drop down to the ground floor. Not safe for young children.
Facilities in the kitchen were adequate but very basic. 1 mug to drink coffee was frustrating as was the only knife which was a blunt bread knife for cutting with.
Rickety creaky stairs down to the toilet which were unsafe for kids at night and woke up people sleeping.
Dirty toenail clippings on the loungeroom floor.
The Lodge (next to the Visitors Centre) was very unwelcoming and freezing cold. This is where we went for our "free" breakfast. They did nothing to make it a welcoming place to go and eat. Poor PR for Tasmanian tourism.

We have travelled extensively and have utilised all types of accommodation from camping to 5 star. I feel like this is a very negative review. I had a lovely few days away with my family but this was due to the company and what we did when we were not in the room. The price for the lack of quality was very disappointing.
Go and stay at the Derwent Bridge Hotel where they are friendly and welcoming and rooms are at least half the price and include a full breakfast.

Room Tip: Camp in a tent or stay elsewhere. This is not good value at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckyflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

In March 2012 we booked and paid for a powered site for our very small camper trailer. What we should have done was check the sites prior to paying. The site was barely able to accommodate our van and we were surrounded by four other vans all within a metre of ours.
It was literally impossible to open our car door due to the proximity of other campers.

We conducted a conversation with our neighbours without either party leaving their van!
Obviously the only view was other campers and their vehicles in that beautiful place.
The site was on the expensive side being $38.00 PN and showers extra.
We highly recommend that powered sites be avoided at all costs, as from our conversations during our stay there were no "happy campers" within the powered sites area.
Strongly recommend that alternative arrangements (as given in other comments) be actively pursued.
DISGUSTING EXAMPLE OF SHEER GREED.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
39.5 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,040 reviews
38.2 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,466 reviews
39.3 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
458 reviews
39 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake St Clair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake St Clair Lodge

Address: Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $204 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake St Clair Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Tasmanian World Heritage Reserve. We welcome you to tranquility wrapped in outstanding natural beauty. Located on the shore of Australia's deepest freshwater lake. Our home has a serenity which promotes a connection with this wild and globally significant World Heritage Area. So hold your breath, open your eyes and enter a world away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lake St Clair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake St Clair Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing