We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Highland Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the lodge two nights and had dinner in the restaurant both nights. The service and quality of the food was superb, I had the beef fillet BOTH nights because it was soooo good I didn't want to try anything else! Perfectly cooked and perfect accompaniments with it. Great size serving left plenty of room for dessert, for which I am very grateful, as the white chocolate panna cotta was excellent. Food and drink prices are a little on the high side but you get what you pay for and the food/location is quite spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank km005005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    95
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and service enjoyed the evening”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had the 3 course meal for $70 and enjoyed it. The potato gnocchi tortellini was nice with great flavours. The salmon was good and the squid and prawn ravioli was great. The wife really enjoyed the pannacotta for desert and the chocolate fondant was good. A good wine list and attentive service from the staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greensnottyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gourmet Dining in the Wilderness”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked the 3 course gourmet dinner even before landing in Tasmania so we dd not know what to expect. My wife and I had the the prawn spring roll and the quail for the entree. Blending cooking influences from different cultures can a hit and miss affair but in this case both entrees were superb. This was true also of our main course of lamb and venison. But the piece de resistance was the chocolate and peanut butter fondant. It was really one of the best desserts we have ever had. This dish alone may be the inspiration for another trip to Cradle Mountain. Please keep it on the menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious food, enjoyable evening”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We dined here this evening. The food was delicious. We were a little worried because of some bad reviews. All courses were excellent especially the chocolate fondant for dessert. My husband had the beef and I had the venison. For entree we had the pork belly and prawn spring roll. Staff were attentive but it was a bit off putting that breakfast was being organised at the other end of the room. It was very noisy and so we lost a lot of atmosphere for our special evening out. We would return and recommend you give it try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Food ok but overpriced We had 3 courses which were the size of 3 entrees all served and out the door in less than 1 Hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank moates0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Restaurant also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Highland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing