We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy on Glenelg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ivy on Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Ivy on Glenelg in October with friends. We stayed in the Turnbull Suite and it was simply divine. The attention to detail was amazing. Everything had been thought of. We felt like royalty! We had the best nights sleep in along time and will certainly be going back and recommending it to all of our friends. David and Irene were two of the most loveliest, genuine, caring people you could meet. True perfection!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here regularly now for some years, this is coming up as my seventh year. I discovered it first as it was convenient to a work commitment I had but since then I have stayed not just on business trips but also for personal relaxation, it is my favourite TAS B & B.
I stay in Dry Cottage and it is truly a delight. Everything one requires is immaculately clean and available even to DVDs Irene think I might enjoy following previous conversations about shows viewed!
The provision of breakfast and the little extras are always plentiful, beautifully presented and extremely tasty. The eggs home produced, the jam home made, the nibbles and extras most likely also. David & Irene always greet me with warmth and go out of their way to ensure that I am comfortable and well looked after. They are delightful hosts who genuinely care and want their guests to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My friends and I have visited Tasmania at least 6 times. In the beginning we would pretty much "wing It" re accomodation. Now its Ivy on Glenelg as our home in Tassie,
Each time Irene and David have done something different to make the stay just that extra bit special. Bedding, appliances, furniture.. all in keeping within a beautiful heritage setting and maintaining an air of luxury and simplicity at the same time. Fantastic ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This would have to be the fifth time that my friends and I have stayed here. mainly staying in the Doctors Wing. Like a good wine, it just keeps getting better and better. On each stay I have found that Irene and David have made subtle improvements so that their guests feel so welcome and feel right at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Campbell Town or surrounding areas as I have truly found my home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We live in Launceston but needed to stay overnight in Campbell Town as a result of business meetings. Imagine our delight at being able to stay in such a beautiful home and setting in a town we usually associate only with good coffee stops. We stayed in the Tuscan Room and found it immaculate, as well as beautifully warm given the cold June night. The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality, as were the furnishings and the decorating touches charming.

Irene and David made us feel so welcome, and we'll do our best to make sure we need to stay overnight again some time. Dinner at the bistro they recommended was excellent, and it was only a short drive to our cosy room. We've travelled extensively in Europe over the years, and this place is equal to the best we've been in. Congratulations!

Room Tip: The property is one street off the main road, so the whole property is quiet. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tucked away in a quiet street in Campbell Town is the most extraordinary B&B, loved and cared for by David and Irene. We chose to book directly and from the first contact with our hosts we were made to feel incredibly special. Ivy Cottage is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and thoughtfully appointed. The attention to detail extends to David and Irene's care for their guests; from the hand-delivered umbrella on a rainy day, the afternoon tea that awaited after a long drive and a continental breakfast that would feed an army! Throw in some fresh country air, a fabulous garden, the Ivy's friendly pets and you'll never want to leave. We will definitely return to this property soon. Thank you David and Irene for an unexpectedly delightful stay!

Room Tip: Be guided by David and Irene's recommendation for the most suitable style of accommodation for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Ivy on Glenelg, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt special (as you deserve to feel). It was lovely to have you and your gorgeous daughter as guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A little pit stop on the last leg of our Honeymoon and what a stay! We were excited to have a few days in the one place, and the location of Ivy was perfect for us to have day trips, or quiet days in! The room was beautifully furnished, with our own tv, stereo (with iPod dock) and a beautiful bottle of wine to boot! David and Irene were very welcoming and gave us some tips of places to explore whilst we were in the area. We did spend some lazy days reading and enjoying the gorgeous spring weather whilst walking around the garden and or the town. Highly recommend this B&B, we will be returning!!!! A big Thanks to David and Irene for a wonderful few days in such a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell Town
7.4 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
76 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
69 reviews
16.6 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
21.5 mi away
Currawong Lakes
Currawong Lakes
#153 of 465 in Tasmania
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy on Glenelg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy on Glenelg

Property: Ivy on Glenelg
Address: 9 Glenelg St, Campbell Town, Tasmania 7210, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Campbell Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Campbell Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy on Glenelg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doctors Wing, sleeping up to six people with two bedrooms, (2 Queen Beds, 2 Singles), full kitchen, sitting/TV room with 94cm flat screen LCD TV, (2nd bedroom has its own TV), wood and electric heating, and private bathroom with heated towel rails. The second (Dry Cottage), comprising of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed), full kitchen, electric heating and en-suite bathroom with heated towel rails with disabled facilities. The third (The Turnbull Suite), consisting of Bed/Sitting room (Queen Bed),electric heating and private bathroom with heated towel rails, all areas having access to large, sun drenched courtyards. The in-house room (Tuscan Room) features Queen Bed, flat screen TV, DVD, CD player, wonderful breakfast room with Wood Heater and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy on Glenelg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy On Glenelg Campbell Town, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing