We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner between Hobart and Launceston!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeps Cafe

Zeps Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great dinner between Hobart and Launceston!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Driving past Campbeltown this is an excellent opportunity to stop and have dinner or lunch. Pizzas extra nice here and very friendly service. Exciting menu in general with fancy options and nice Tasmanian wines too. But even just worth stopping for a meat pie for lunch with a cuppa....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    86
    22
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent takeaways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have had the best fish and chips ever here one Friday evening - and a wonderful calzone. Unfortunately, another Friday evening's fish and chpis wasn't anythnig like as good - hopefully just a bad night in the kitchen. I'd still recommend highly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“ticked the boxes for dinner on the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stopped for a coffee boost on our evening journey to Hobart and were enticed by the menu. Butterflied quail with baby roasted beetroot, panfried brussel sprout halves, potato rosti, wilted spinach and red wine jus looked appetising on the plate and was very satisfying and a good combination of earthy flavours. I don't recall all of the elements of my friend's dish, but three thick slices of pork belly, 3 thick slices of perfectly textured baked pumpkin, some other vegetables and salad were equally enjoyed. Matching the rind of the pork with the rind of the pumpkin worked visually and texturally. A glass of Pooley pinot noir and one of Josef Chromy joined in beautifully. As we had decided, after reading the menu board, that we would eat at Zeps rather than being too late and tired back in Hobart, it was great that the service was so prompt. And it was appropriately friendly, civilised and thoughtful. We had arrived perhaps a little before 6pm and were one of only two tables of diners at that time and enjoyed the coffee whilst awaiting the meal. When we left at about 6.30pm the tables were full.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank forager766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service, never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Meals served tepid . would not do a small serve of a pasta dish - cannot get coffee orders correct - I'm just fed up with third rate service in apparently upmarket expensive cafes like this. Never again. And we are locals.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and refreshments.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

It's not common to find a decent cafe in regional town in Tasmania, and this is why Zeps stands out. They serve good soup, pie, rolls, meals, coffee, tea, you name it they've got it. The best thing about them is they open really early and the price is more affordable than you'd expect. The diner is spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. Even the washroom is spotless. I'd make it a point to give this place a visit whenever I travel the highway.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeps Cafe also viewed

Campbell Town, Tasmania
Campbell Town, Tasmania
 

Been to Zeps Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing