We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss”
Review of Mallee Grill

Mallee Grill
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Burnie
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wynyard, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

can be good but can be a shocker as well
service average
food average
but at least it's open!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank suejay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    17
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A fantastic steak!”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A really good steak had just a week ago, placentas buzzing and the food was fantastic!
Drinks at good prices as well as the meal .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SisterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVONPORT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rude Staff and over priced”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had a works lunch at this restaurant and was served by the rudest waiter I have ever encountered - as if it was all too much trouble to take the order which he got wrong and had 2 memebers of our table waiting for their meal. The menu is ordinary and very overpriced - mediocre on all counts

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BROUGHTYLASS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolute crap”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

agree with dandemum - awful food and the most unattentive waiting staff i have ever met - asked for medium rare steak and got well done - when calling our elusive waitress over she would make eye contact then turn and walk away - had to walk over to the bar area to order drinks - complained about food and recieved a look which said "tell someone who gives a crap". I lived in burnie for 3 months and didnt visit a single restraunt which i would go back to (although didnt try them all) - in answer to dandemum s question about a good place to eat on the NW coast of TAS i would suggest the stanley hotel in stanley

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jakethemuss2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For A Place That Has Steak As A Specialty They Might Want To Learn How To Cook It Properly!”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Were we in a Pub, a Bistro, a Pokies Venue, who knows with this place!
A beautiful Grill is the centre-piece yet the "Cook" (I use that term very loosely) had to literally cut into both our steaks to make sure they were both Medium Rare, terrible! He got them both wrong. Our sauces tasted like packaged crap you'd get on a plane in Cattle Class, mushroom sauce had what I suspected to be canned mushrooms not fresh and my husbands Earthy Fiery Sauce was anything but, it tasted like tomato sauce mixed with some bbq sauce!
Our waitress looked like she'd rather be somewhere else and when we asked her to take both our steaks back since they were both wrongly cooked and cut into it seemed like a major irritation for her, not good enough.
There are photo's of how each steak should look when you cut into it up on the wall by the grill, and both our steaks looked nothing like the pictures, ours were over-done and stringy, dreadful.
The Salad Bar looked like it was stocked with last nights left overs, there were no fresh rolls and no cutlery to be seen. The place looks like it is a relic from the 70s and the chairs and tables were very squeaky. Hearing the pokies coming from the next room is hardly a nice ambience for a "Restaurant"
Not going back and will continue to find a decent place to eat on the North West Coast of Tasmania, is there anything good and fresh out there, we wonder, still.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dandemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallee Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mallee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing