We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When dreaming of fish and chips...”

The Octopus Fish Shop
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Belconnen, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“When dreaming of fish and chips...”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

.. whenever I am in Tasmania, I have to have fish and chips the way I remember it from my childhood. And that means flake and chips. The Octopus was my choice in Burnie, and it was delicious. The fish was perfect, and there were just enough chips. I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fast food in Burnie!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a gem, all kept simple, but it works!! The best fish and chips i have tasted on the N.W coast!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssbayview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Frozen Food Central”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We came to the Octopus for a mid week dinner of fish and chips.
Chips - cooked from frozen
Fish - cooked from frozen
Prawns - cooked from frozen
Sauces - all commercial style put into little take away tubs.
No lemon with fish and chips.
What a disappointment ,this place should be so much more. Think fresh fish, fresh cut chips, quality on the premise made sauce, that would be a fish and chip shop!!
This was a real disappointment, if you love frozen products deep fried, this is your place, nothing here you can't buy at Woolworths and cook at home yourself.
There appears to be a fresh fish display case, but no fresh fish when we were here at 5.30pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This really is the yummiest place to eat fish & chips, always good, and always fresh.
You can purchase cooked products, as well as a great range of of very fresh fish products.
Support this local business, the owner has had many years in 'The Octopus' and really does just keep getting better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SisterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Best fish and chips in Burnie, but not the North West. They're always busy, due to their friendly service and good food I suppose! We always order before we go down because there can be quite a wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlecupcake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Octopus Fish Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Octopus Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing