We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money on all levels...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great value for money on all levels... I've stayed 6-7 times here on business and never disappoints.... Has the latest LTE reception including free wifi so Internet speed is quicker here than at my own house! Clean rooms, great Irish pub downstairs with live music on weekends.... Maccas over the rd which is 24 hrs and dominos pizza next door..... Beds are comfy and temp control in rooms works fine.... One thing is there hasn't been any movement on the downstairs upgrade to cafe as management has mentioned in recent review responses.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 030884AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Great review - thank you!
The renovations are coming, I promise, we will keep you updated with our progress upon each visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

2 nights spent here with my family, service was brilliant, always friendly and a smile. Rooms were very very clean, and fresh and modern, 1 of the nights we ate dinner at the restaurant down stairs, meals were beautiful with very generous servings, and at a very affordable price, took a bit of time getting them out seeing as they weren't busy at all but definitely worth the wait.
The only problem we found was the bar underneath and behind us on the 2nd night. Loud music to early hours of the morning, drunk people coming past yelling, and swearing and carrying on, we didn't get much sleep at all!! Had this of been mentioned when I booked, I don't think we would have booked here. Great hotel in an ideal location, with fantastic and compentent staff, but unfortunately the fact my children couldn't sleep due to the music etc really ruined the whole experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay weekends when bar has live music, and ask for a room on the port side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to provide the great feedback on our property and staff.
I can only apologise for the disruption to your sleep on your second night. I am aware of the night you are referring to. We do have a band in our bar until midnight Friday and Saturday nights, however generally do not have an issue with noise as we place guests on high floors. The band on this night, which I agree was extremely loud, was coming from the neighbouring Green’s Hotel whom had a band in their new beer garden. I had been informed by one of their staff that this was to cease at 10.30pm which did not happen. On this night I did call the police due to many complaints from our guests and also from residents of Burnie believing it to be us as well, it was very disappointing.
Apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a work trip. Very close to where I was working, very friendly staff, tidy room, reasonably priced and good hearty meals down stairs. An Irish pub next door with Guinness on tap and live music on the Saturday night which I enjoyed thoroughly. Pillows were a bit uncomfortable but I'd recommend it nonetheless.
A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Wonderful to hear what we aim to achieve is pleasing, see you on your next visit to Burnie :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The room was great. Service was polite. But 1 sneeky phone call for my address saw me with $150 charge.
Smoking room was occupied during 2 stays and the room state was the same both times. But was claimed was left in a bad state. Amount was refunded but has left a bad taste after the great experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lef12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, General Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Very sorry to see this review, there is more to this comment and I'd be happy to discuss it again with you at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Husband was booked here for a night during a buisness trip, he found the bed hard, shower over bath with poor water preasure and a shower curtain (very old school) there was no foxtel and no breakfast served, you could however get a "breakfast pack" for $10.50 which was 2 kiddy packs of cereal and other stuff...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Hi
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated.
We purchased the property in January of this year and have made considerable improvements including, new linens, reverse cycle air conditioning and updated mini bar – we are currently investigating the addition of shower screens to replace the curtains. For future visits however please feel free to let your husband know he is able to request a room with a shower only which he may find more comfortable.
We have fox 1, 2 and news so I am unsure why your husband was unable to access this. If he is having trouble on his next visit reception will be more than happy to accommodate.
I am surprised about the bed as we have numerous compliments from guests on how good our beds are, if you would be kind enough to let me know the room number I will have a look at this and have it replaced if necessary.
We have the popular “Travelfare” breakfast packs in our rooms, they contain a cereal, milk, juice, fruit and a danish. I'm sorry this wasn't of your expectation. This is an interim measure whilst we redevelop our ground floor cafe and bar. When this is complete we will have an a comprehensive breakfast menu available in the cafe.
Once again thank you.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. The room & bathroom were clean, but there was a hand towel that looked like someone had blown their nose in it, that quickly went on the floor!! We were placed on the 3rd floor 2 doors from the elevator, I should have known right then!! After checking in we were greeted with some kind of power tool being used in the room above us from 2pm until they ceased work at 5pm. At last I thought we would get some peace but the damn elevator never ceased opening & shutting until about 11pm. The elevator is so old it bangs & clatters upon opening & closing & then hums all the way up or down!! It probably doesn't help when the hotel door has no sound proofing at all. When anyone went in or out of their room they all slam their doors, not so considerate on other patrons, which is not the hotels fault but maybe they should look at some solution to the doors being able to be slammed shut. Lastly we got a good 5 hours sleep before the 6am rush of workers staying in the hotel, hence the beginning of the elevator & door slamming. Even better was the return of the workmen above our room started to use their power tools at 8:10am & whilst it only happened a handful of times we were out of bed & left. The street noise ceases late at night but also begins nice & early in the morning, I'm guessing the Burnie local Police aren't too interested in extremely offensively loud exhaust systems.

If the hotel sorted out the elevator & sound proofing their room doors it would go a long way to a much more pleasant stay. Also reverse cycle heating/cooling & not an old oil heater which made the room like a sauna would also be a great idea.

I would advise anyone booking a room to ask to be located bayside & to be nowhere near the elevator. I'm sure this would help greatly in making your stay a lot more pleasurable.

Room Tip: Request a room on the bayside & make sure to be away from the elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your feed back, I have addressed the linen issue with our team and our supplier to ensure this once off is never repeated.
We now have reverse cycle air con and flat screen tvs in each room.
We will also have a new lift early next year - but please let us know when you book and we can allocate you a room away from the lift.
I have been looking for sometime for a solution to the banging doors and hope to have this fixed in the coming month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here because we were on a business trip and the location made it easy as our clients were just down the road. This is the first time we have stayed here. The room was very stuffy and if you open the window up to get some fresh air the traffic road noise is ridiculous you can't even hear the TV. To top things off our room was close to the elevator and all night all you can hear is the elevator doors opening and banging shut as people go in and out. When you have a shower the whole bathroom steams up and everything gets wet as there is no ceiling fan or vents. There was no Tee towel to dry your coffee cup I had to use a towel. Plus when we came into our room it had some sort of smell so we had to open up the window just to clear that out. The MaC Donald's is straight across the road so as you could imagine you could hear young people with their hot cars going in and out till late. Didn't help that when we arrived early afternoon as we had finished our clients early, and when we got to our room there were work man in the roof drilling and making noise like you wouldn't believe so we couldn't even relax after having been up traveling since 4am that morning. Oh and one of the hand towels had fresh stains on it so there is no reason that should have been replace by the cleaners.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room far away from the elevator. you can hear it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comforthotelburnie, Manager at Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Apologies for the workmen noise, this must have been a temporary side effect of us installing the reverse cycle air conditioning which is now in each room.
I have taken onboard your tea towel suggestion and we will impliment that in the coming weeks.
We are also tackling the outside noise continously with the local police.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
0.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
148 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
15.6 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
3.7 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel

Address: 139 Wilson St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia (Formerly Comfort Hotel Burnie)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range: $87 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel is situated only two blocks from the city centre and is a short stroll to the beach and waterfront. Located in the heart of Burnie, the recently refurbished Hotel is the perfect base for business or pleasure. Burnie is located on the coastline of Tasmania’s central North West Coast and is an ideal base from which to explore surrounding towns and major tourist destinations. Guests can choose from 55 comfortable rooms with 3.5 star rating and lift access to all floors. All rooms are air conditioned with a private ensuite, digital TV, Foxtel channels, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, microwave’s are available on request. Free wi-fi and access to our onsite gym available for all guests. Breakfast is served daily and guests can enjoy a drink, a meal or a flutter in the Townhouse Bar, Restaurant, Lounge and Gaming room. If you are looking for Burnie accommodation and function facilities, look no further than the Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing