We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Burnie”
Review of Ikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ikon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We found this accommodation to be great value. The rooms were very large and had been refurbished and was very modern. The checkin / checkout process worked well. We also had the winter package which included breakfast at run rabbit run, lovely food

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Boze4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

What a great surprise is this hotel... In the heart of Burnie, it's a little subject to road and street noise but not drastic. Very very stylish decor in large well equipped rooms. The enormous French advertising posters add a terrific touch!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank tassiejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent a fortnight in Tasmania and this was the best of the 10 places we stayed. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were lavish and modern having being recently(?) renovated. Only difficulty was finding the place initially, due to restaurant entry and limited parking. Once checked in you have a secure car park available and all hours access with your room card. Would stay there again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ComicSams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Came here for work for a week and was put up in the Ikon Hotel. Best hotel I've stayed in. Being heritage, it had a nice homey feel to it. Room was very large and spacious and furniture and appliances were top notch. Extremely clean and well maintained. Great friendly service with good security. Would recommend to a friend. Next time I'm in Burnie, Ikon it is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Upon entering our room, we were shocked my many things! One, the huge size of the room and large mirror, two the facilities and décor were simply stunning and wonderfully modern, the mini bar prices were most reasonable and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The room was incredibly well facilitated with two flat screen televisions, a full mini bar with microwave, fridge, toaster, etc, full size dining table, luxurious couches and other seating, a large well appointed bathroom and once again I cannot forget the gigantic mirror. Up until we went to bed, this would have been a perfect stay. Due to it being quite a windy night, and the building and hence windows being old, the windows rattled, shook and banged all night, resulting in VERY little sleep, and ruining what would have been a highly recommended hotel experience...

Room Tip: Perhaps request to not have a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Natasha,
Thank you for the time taken to post a review. We welcome guest reviews, and implement changes where possible. We are all saddened to hear of your lack of sleep, which spoiled your otherwise perfect stay. The windows frames are timber, swell in summer and sometimes rattle in winter. We have taken time to fix frames where possible, by either permanently fixing them closed or by affixing sound proofing frames to the outside. This is difficult for the second floor on a street corner, however we are currently planning to have all windows on top floor sound proofed. In the meantime, I will ensure that staff check all windows and fix rattles that may occur during winds. If we have the opportunity to see you again, please make yourself known to me on booking. We would welcome the opportunity to enhance your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

By far, the Ikon is the nicest place I've stayed at Burnie.

The Ikon is located in the centre of Burnie and its easy to walk everywhere in the main CBD area including the beach front.

The rooms at the Ikon are modern and very well appointed. There is plenty of space and the service is very friendly. They have a few options to deal with late arriving travellers and even called me on the day of my arrival just to make sure when I was arriving and to enquire if there was anything they could do to assist with my arrival.

You'll need to book early if want to stay though, they only have a few rooms and it fills up fast.

Room Tip: Great family room which easily doubles as a room for two sharing. Loads and loads of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonPCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is an old, revamped hotel/pub. Lots of atmosphere but is run as two separate businesses (Restaurant and hotel) by different people. The hotel rooms are very large but more has been spent on fashion effect that comfort. The manager was very good and carried our cases to our room and back to the car on leaving. Well worth a stay. On the other hand the town appeared to be "Down At Heel".

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
9.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
342 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikon Hotel

Address: Club Hotel 22 Mount St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range: $120 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IKON Hotel is a boutique hotel providing 12 luxury suites, and located in the heart of Burnie's CBD. The IKON Hotel perfectly combines the history of an iconic landmark building fully restored and filled with sophisticated decor. A short stroll away from Burnie's best restaurants, bars & beach front the IKON Hotel is the perfect location for your stay in Burnie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikon Hotel Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing