We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ikon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong Suburb
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for one night on the way to a business function,. Boutique hotel with only 12 rooms. Rooms very large and top shelf furnishings. Small kitchenette with yoghurt and cereals provided for breakfast. We were a bit concerned about the traffic noise as it was very noisy during the evening but all went quiet at about 10pm. The rooms are all upstairs with no lifts so you have to be prepared to carry your luggage up and down

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back to reduce street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spotcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post such a positive review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do listen to our guests and implement changes to the hotel where possible. For example, we have replaced all glass in the first floor with 7mm laminate, and put external glass panels on the windows to further reduce noise. We are currently waiting on glaziers for the top floor windows to be treated also.
We would LOVE a lift, we applied for a grants to enable us to include a lift and make improvements to the Ikon Hotel experience. As we are heritage listed and can not put one in the front section, unless it is external! The change of government however has ensured that all grants applied for by operators in the tourist industry in regional Australia were scrapped. We are back to the drawing board on that issue, but we will develop other plans as it is an imperative addition. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
59
2
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was in for two nights and this motel is to say the least. Impressive,,, rooms are massive, and clean and comfy, the staff are fantastic, friendly and can never do enough to help you. The views from the room I had was spectacular, looking at the ocean, how good is it :) It is the best accommodation in Burnie, and will continue to use this Hotel until Hell freezes over and I think after that as well :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
WOW, thank you Chris. We are truly humbled by such a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed overnight and was impressed with the Ikon.

The rooms are massive... literally HUGE!! Very clean and well equiped.

The only down side was the lack of elevator, which meant lugging my bags up to the top level.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachhousecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We value your feedback tremendously and implement these where possible. A lift is something we are hoping to install, however being heritage listed means that we cannot simply put one in the centre of the hotel. We also have tenants in the ground floor. So a lift would need to be external. We have been working on this since opening as it is very expensive exercise. Staff are more than willing to assist with luggage, which can be arranged on check in or at the time of booking.
Hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had an overnight stay, the cleanliness of the room was outstanding. The staff member who checked us in was very helpful and accommadating. The only suggestion would be to have more art on the walls as the big rooms kind of need a bit more so they are not to sterile. However, a great stay, and they gave a good recommendation for dinner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very proud of our hotel, and take all comments on board. Our Guest services team take great care in their duties and this really shows by your comments! The owner has themed the hotel with vintage posters - these are extremely large, and adorn our hallways. This theme fits with our history but will not fit into our rooms! Thank you, we hope to see you on your next visit to Burnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very comfortable and extremely spacious room. Would stay again. Checking in a little unusual but very personal as the owner checks when you want to arrive then meets you as there is no real reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mgh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Our staff aim to please and our check in is personalised to give that extra 4 star experience. We are secure access, so our staff ask for ETA to ensure someone is on site if arrival is outside hours or over the weekend. We hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston Tas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Couldn't have choosen a better hotel in burnie, everything was first class. Rooms were very well sized, bed was amazing. Other rooms were very well spaced out so you felt like the only people in the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and self check out was nice and easy, 11am check out would of been more preferable. I paid $190 for the one night which was the most expensive for anywhere in burnie for the one night but I doubt anywhere was would of been so enjoyable. Really impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21101984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, the staff and management take extreme pride in our service and amenities. We value your feedback. If you do require a later check out when next in Burnie, please ask reception on arrival. Samantha, Thalia and Tracy will certainly accommodate your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Huge room, enormous bathroom. Top quality furnishings etc. Really comfortable bed. Only downside was that I had a room overlooking the main street, and it was a little noisy. But there's nothing much happening in Burnie after about 10.00pm, so not much of a problem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
9.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#4 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
2.3 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
0.7 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikon Hotel

Property: Ikon Hotel
Address: 22 Mount St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IKON Hotel is a boutique hotel providing 12 luxury suites, and located in the heart of Burnie's CBD. The IKON Hotel perfectly combines the history of an iconic landmark building fully restored and filled with sophisticated decor. A short stroll away from Burnie's best restaurants, bars & beach front the IKON Hotel is the perfect location for your stay in Burnie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikon Hotel Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing