We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It felt brand new”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“It felt brand new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had an overnight stay, the cleanliness of the room was outstanding. The staff member who checked us in was very helpful and accommadating. The only suggestion would be to have more art on the walls as the big rooms kind of need a bit more so they are not to sterile. However, a great stay, and they gave a good recommendation for dinner!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very proud of our hotel, and take all comments on board. Our Guest services team take great care in their duties and this really shows by your comments! The owner has themed the hotel with vintage posters - these are extremely large, and adorn our hallways. This theme fits with our history but will not fit into our rooms! Thank you, we hope to see you on your next visit to Burnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
62
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very comfortable and extremely spacious room. Would stay again. Checking in a little unusual but very personal as the owner checks when you want to arrive then meets you as there is no real reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mgh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Our staff aim to please and our check in is personalised to give that extra 4 star experience. We are secure access, so our staff ask for ETA to ensure someone is on site if arrival is outside hours or over the weekend. We hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston Tas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Couldn't have choosen a better hotel in burnie, everything was first class. Rooms were very well sized, bed was amazing. Other rooms were very well spaced out so you felt like the only people in the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and self check out was nice and easy, 11am check out would of been more preferable. I paid $190 for the one night which was the most expensive for anywhere in burnie for the one night but I doubt anywhere was would of been so enjoyable. Really impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21101984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, Manager at Ikon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, the staff and management take extreme pride in our service and amenities. We value your feedback. If you do require a later check out when next in Burnie, please ask reception on arrival. Samantha, Thalia and Tracy will certainly accommodate your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Huge room, enormous bathroom. Top quality furnishings etc. Really comfortable bed. Only downside was that I had a room overlooking the main street, and it was a little noisy. But there's nothing much happening in Burnie after about 10.00pm, so not much of a problem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there as part of a business trip, all I can say is that you will be pleasantly surprised. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful, showing us all of the rooms features. The rooms are massive, Ultra clean and even more comfortable than you can imagine. The only downside if you can call it that is the lack of a lift. I simply loved this place and can comfortably say you will too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dor15z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My partner and I were extremely impressed with the Ikon hotel, from the service to the room itself. We were greeted by Samantha who gave us a friendly welcome and explained the details of the room to us. After she left we had a chance to explore for ourselves. We found it to be a beautiful open atmosphere complemented by european furniture and a huge mirror which made the room feel even bigger. The size of the room was really quite good for the price. The technology and entertainment systems were high-end and modern (BOSE sound); the only thing we could complain about was the lack of a DVD or Blu-Ray player. However they did have TWO large LG TVs in the room! Bathroom was sleek and modern, and like the rest of the room had plenty of space. My partner and I enjoyed the spa and double shower.

Prior to staying here we’d seen some other reviews about these rooms, and it seems the memory foam is not for everyone- however we enjoyed the feel of the soft mattress and slept comfortably.

Overall we both enjoyed everything the room had to offer, and we’d definitely stay again! Recommended for anyone looking to stay in a quality, reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Burnie.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well what an experience. We checked in late in the afternoon and Steve, who appeared to be the Owner/Manager/Receptionist/ Porter and Valet couldn't do more for us. The service was memorable just like the mattress! The room was enormous and they have covered all the finer details that other hotels miss, like real milk in the fridge for the real tea and coffee they provide, the most comfortable bed ever including matching pillows, high quality furnishings. Even though we didn't use the mini bar a quick check of the prices indicated that the prices were very low which was a surprise given the high quality of the rooms. To top it off we even had a view of the ocean. The only concern some may have is the stairs. Being an old building the is no elevator, so two flights of stairs. But with Steve carrying all our bags this was little effort. Oh, also a free modern laundry on the first floor was very convenient given this was day 9 on the road. Well done Ikon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stylmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
9.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
0.2 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikon Hotel

Property: Ikon Hotel
Address: 22 Mount St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IKON Hotel is a boutique hotel providing 12 luxury suites, and located in the heart of Burnie's CBD. The IKON Hotel perfectly combines the history of an iconic landmark building fully restored and filled with sophisticated decor. A short stroll away from Burnie's best restaurants, bars & beach front the IKON Hotel is the perfect location for your stay in Burnie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikon Hotel Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing