We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Service and Style.”
Review of Ikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ikon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers the rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The king size bed that we had was very comfortable and made of memory foam. The mini bar is excellent, well stocked and reasonably priced. This is a really classy hotel and is situated right in the CBD. Artwork on corridor walls is awesome, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a corner room on the first floor overlooking the street.
Lovely old building, large rooms with high ceilings. Very comfortable, free Wi-Fi, basic cold breakfast (packets of cereal) and a great location. The room was quiet except for a little noise coming up from the restaurant below in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The family and I stayed here whilst we were checking out schools in Bernie for one night. We really enjoyed the space and the furnishings. The art work on the walls in the corridors was great to look at too

Room Tip: The restaurant down stairs is a separate business and we didn't think much of it. We sat down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having been to Burnie on previous client visits, I choose to stay in town this trip. The Ikon is in a very central location within the town and close to most food outlets. It also had a large restaurant downstairs that seemed busy for a Wednesday night. I didn't eat there this trip, but may on next visit.
The rooms were very large and newly decorated. The bed was very comfortable and large. The room has no A/C but a fan was in the room.
The location does mean however that early morning street noise of businesses opening is something to consider.
The stay was pleasant and enjoyable and I will return again next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level means a lot of stairs beware if you have a lot of bags. No lift due to possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The staff were most polite and helpful.
The room was large - modern minimalist - very well appointed, comfortable and more than adequate. Enormous en suite. Continental breakfast.
Outside the apartment we had access to a balcony overlooking the main street.
There are two places to park your car - in a building over the road or the carpark of the bottle shop next door (owned by the the Ikon).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very funky place. Room was huge, bed was huge, wardrobe was huge, mirror was huge. Right in the centre of Burnie. Would have liked the windows to have a greater capacity to keep out light from the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second last stop on a trip around Tassie and we found the hotel itself to be a most pleasant surprise. Nothing has been spared in the renovation of the rooms etc. and it is one of the best places we have stayed in. Reception staff are excellent and we could not get over the size and quality of the room.

However....we dined in Mecca for both lunch and dinner and to say it was disappointing would be an understatement. We both had steak for lunch and it looked and tasted as if it had been cooked in a microwave. Dinner was even a bigger disappointment. I thought Tassie was proud of its seafood produce and the prawn cocktail looked like a handful of frozen prawns thrown on top of some lettuce leaves in a soup bowl.

The lady who took our payment for the meal was quite adamant that the seafood was delivered fresh that morning and objected to the fact that I had sent it back and did not want to pay for it. I had no intention of getting into an argument over $10 so just let it slide. I am QLD born and bred and I know what a fresh bloody prawn looks like!

We would have no problem in fully recommending Ikon tour friends, so long as they eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
9.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
351 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
16.2 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikon Hotel

Address: Club Hotel 22 Mount St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range: $122 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IKON Hotel is a boutique hotel providing 12 luxury suites, and located in the heart of Burnie's CBD. The IKON Hotel perfectly combines the history of an iconic landmark building fully restored and filled with sophisticated decor. A short stroll away from Burnie's best restaurants, bars & beach front the IKON Hotel is the perfect location for your stay in Burnie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikon Hotel Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing