We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Interesting and Fascinating Attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makers Workshop

Makers Workshop
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Burnie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
413 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An Interesting and Fascinating Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Paper was what made Burnie and this active museum gives a hands on experience coupled with information on the paricular place it has in the development of this town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    122
    52
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rosebery, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cold Concrete Hall of Shame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

How anyone could even dream up to build a concrete bunker and pretend it's a tourist attraction is beyond me! Seemingly the building has won awards from the architect fraternity - yeah, right!! What a waste of space. Instead of being able to enjoy a nice cafe, foodie place or restaurant, this 'pretend' historical & cultural icon wastes visitor's time with too few (boring) exhibits, some semi professional arty objects, and a whole range of wannabe-artist-creations from amateurs who didn't get their breakthrough at Penguin Market!! Ha!!
Inflated prices, unfriendly to disinterested service, limited choice of food .... it's rock bottom.
Whenever a cruise ship is in town, the place is crammed with 'captive tourists' who are bussed directly from ship to Maker's Workshop for their first stop in Burnie. Poor sods.
It's a 'white elephant' who should have been painted colourful, outside the garden should have been dotted with nice benches and shade sails, inside there should be a huge kids play area, open and heaps more interactive exhibits (what, of ONE paper mill???) ... but who are they kidding here? Burnie is great, the paper mill was essential - yes, but of historic/touristic value ? Not really. It's just a money-grab, built & run by the local Council to stroke their over-inflated ego. And maybe that other one too. ;-)
A place to avoid.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A modern day building that does not suit the enviroment. It has very little to see and although a lot of money is spent of promoting it i I was very disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beverleybaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited a while back now. We loved it and visited several times during our stay in Tassie. It has something for everyone. Above average quality food and great coffee reasonably priced. There are exhibits and examples of the makers works throughout the building. The quality of the leatherwork, recycled fabrics, glassware, ceramics, and some of the paintings was high. The location on the shore is breathtaking and there's a boardwalk around the place that is the staging point for an evening walking tour to watch the penguins return to shore, which we did once as very cool with the wind. We did the paper-making workshop with a very friendly emigre from Sydney and in the process found out some interesting history about Tasmania and Australian paper-making. My wife took the plunge on our last visit and bought a painting by one of the local artists - Obie. This is a great place and a really clever idea. If I read it correctly, the artists with support from the local council put this place on the map and it works! Very professional organisation and administration which lets the creators and the environment work its magic. We need something like this in the Blue Mountains where I live.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rather dull but nice cafe scones”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went during a week day so the makers centre was a little quiet and uninteresting. But the homemade scones and info centre adjacent to the workshop displays were excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKT2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makers Workshop also viewed

 

Been to Makers Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing